So You Think You Can Dance Season 12: Top 10 Perform + 2 Eliminated

Posted: August 18, 2015 in So You Think You Can Dance, TV
Tags: , , , , ,

This is it, guys. This is where everyone’s game steps up. This is where stars start to emerge from the pack. This is Top 10, ya’ll, with ALL STARS and I can’t wait to see some fantastic and memorable routines.

SO YOU THINK YOU CAN DANCE: Season 12
Top 10 Perform

This has Sonja written all over it, it’s weird, it’s funky, it’s creepy, it’s rhythmic. The men are dress in weird skirt things which she loves. The song as a great beat, but I felt like the dancers could have definitely hit it harder. There’s room for improvement here folks. WOW ME Top 10! (Song: “Earth Intruder” by Bjork)

Cat tells us Team Street won today 51% to 49%. That was probably all my fault, the majority of my votes went to Ja Ja and Neptune. JJ is missing from the introductions because she hurt her ribs automatically putting her in the bottom. That’s a bummer. I like her. But she hasn’t been doing well so this doesn’t bode well for her.

All the solos tonight are danced to the songs from Empire. I’ve only seen the pilot to this series, but I haven’t watched the entire series. I know, I know I’m missing out, but there is So. Much. Good. TV to watch! Anyway, I’m very excited about the solos. I love seeing the dancers dance in their street styles. I’m especially excited to see the Street Dancers dance.

THE PERFORMANCES

SOLO #1
Who: Virgil – Team Street
Song: Conqueror” by Empire Cast feat. Estelle & Jussie Smollett
Performance: It’s very b-boy-esque but there is actually a lot of substance to it. He shows a lot of range in his moves and it’s not just the same trick over and over again. It’s leaps and jumps and spins and floor work. It’s pretty fly. Rating: 7/10


_W5A8593_hires1

ROUTINE #1
Who: Hailee (Team Stage) and Brandon (All-Star)
Style: Jazz
Choreographer: Warren Carlyle
Song: “It Don’t Mean A Thing” by Tony Bennett & Lady Gaga
Performance: First of all, Brandon looks so trim! He looks like he lost a lot of meat on those bones. Not that he fat or anything, he was just a meaty guy. He looks slim here. Must be that Britney Spears Tour Diet!  Second, these two were so in sync and so in step with each other it was just crazy! They both had the same energy level, same movements, they just worked so well together. And Hailee really stood out and it’s not just because of the shiny dress and shoes. She was really giving it her all in this piece. I enjoyed it. Plus if you can make your choreographer jump up and down then you know you’ve done good. Grade: A-
Judges: Hailee is great! I don’t remember what else they said, but it probably wasn’t important.


SOLO #2
Who: Neptune – Team Street
Song:Power Of The Empire” by Empire Cast feat. Yazz
Performance: I love the emotion Neptune gives on his face. And I love how he does his “bone-breaking” stuff. This routine has a lot of impact, style and personality. Rating: 7/10


_W5A8709_hires1ROUTINE #2
Who: Derek (Team Stage) and Kayla (All-Star)
Style: Jazz
Choreographer: RJ Durell & Nick Florez
Song: “Got It” by Marion Hill
Performance: There was some killer killer choreography in this piece. I mean I loved everything that happened in it. There were intricate tricks and moves and Kayla was giving us smoldering looks and fierce hair whips. Derek, however, felt more like a prop, a way for Kayla to get from A to B. I’m not saying the steps he did weren’t right. I just didn’t feel any passion or emotion or sex appeal…ANYTHING from him. I didn’t really feel like he was into this routine at all. Derek is a great dancer, but he doesn’t connect, and this routine was his chance to do that because it had everything going for it. Grade: B
Judges: Paula his technique is flawless but he needs to convey passion. He was a different man today, and Kayla had a lot to do with that, but he needs to show more passion and performance.


SOLO #3
Who: Gaby – Team Stage
Song:Can’t Truss ‘Em” by Empire Cast feat. Yazz
Performance: I like how she uses different parts of her shows and different way in creating the beat. It’s a weird song to tap to like she admitted in the beginning of the show, but she did it well and showed off her personality. Rating: 7/10


ROUTINE #3
Who: Virgil (Team Street) and Comfort (All Star)
Style: Hip Hop
Choreographer: Christopher Scott
Song: “Just My Imagination” by The Temptations
Performance: This performance reminded me a lot of “Misty Blue” with Sasha and Twitch a few seasons back. It has a story, the song has a good grove, and so on. The dancing was great, Virgil has such personality and he was able to bring out a side of Comfort I’ve never seen before. I’ll say it again, I like Comfort so much better now than I did when she was on the show. I think they could have been a little sexier (there were a few parts that really showed off their chemistry) because at times it felt almost TOO CHEESY. But the dancing was incredible, I don’t know how Virgil was able to be on his knees so long and I just loved the way they used the stage and the props. Fun routine. Grade: B+/A-
Judges: Judges give it a standing O. Jason says the routine wasn’t over the top and Virgil is the one to beat. Nigel says though it appeared to be simple there were a lot of difficult intricacies. Paula talks a little crazy, so we will just move on now…


SOLO #4
Who: Ja Ja – Team Street
Song: Keep It Movin’” Empire Cast feat. Serayah McNeill & Yazz
Performance: That backwards hat is out people, you know what that means. Ja Ja came to kill it. And she does. Her performance is powerful, hard hitting, with some flirty looks in between. She’s fierce and I love seeing her dance in her style. Rating: 9/10


_W5A8938_hires1ROUTINE #4
Who: Megz (Team Street) and Marko (All Star)
Style: Jazz
Choreographer: Ray Leeper
Song: “Canned Heat” by Jamiroquai
Performance: Megz was so into this routine man. It was a really cool routine. It had a lot of energy and it was just fun to watch. You could tell Megz was having a BLAST. I love it when dancers just throw their all into a routine and that’s what she did. Those synchronized flips at the end were CRAZY! I just love the whole vibe of the routine. They had such a great vibe about them. Grade: A-
Judges: Nigel says Megz sticks out, Paula says she made her want to get up there and dance with her, Jason says she’s catapulted herself into being a true contender.


SOLO #5
Who: Jim – Team Stage
Song:You’re So Beautiful” by Empire Cast feat. Jussie Smollett & Yazz
Performance: Jim has crazy legs. I just love the way he dances, he has such amazing feet and technique. The song is a happy song, which is perfect for him. Rating: 7/10


_W5A9086_hires1ROUTINE #5
Who: Edson (Team Stage) and Jaimie (All-Star)
Style: Contemporary
Choreographer: Travis Wall
Song: “Your Day Will Come” by Son Lux
Performance: Ugh, Travis Wall, you are just the worst. And I mean that in the best way possible. I can’t even with you. You are so frickin’ talented. I’m pretty sure I was holding my breath this entire piece. Everything about this piece was breathtaking, the lighting, the camerawork, the song, and the dancers just fell into the role completely connecting with each other and letting the rest of the world slip away. There was only one moment where they weren’t touching each other, but every other moment they were linked, flowing in and out of different body shapes. Edson was strong. There were a lot of crazy things happening in this piece and he never wavered. And that SCREAM man, it was like something just woke up in Edson. He appeared. He won me over in this piece. And Jaimie is just beautiful. Those legs man. The dancers really threw themselves into this piece adding electricity into every moment, even when they weren’t moving. Love love loved it. Grade: A
Judges: Nigel thought it was powerful and the best Edson has every performed. Paula loved his transitions and lifts and loved how he was there for Jaimie. She calls them magical. Jason calls it a breakout performance.


SOLO #6
Who: Hailee – Team Stage
Song:  “Nothing To Lose” by Empire Cast feat. Jussie Smollett
Performance: This routine was just explosive with energy and she even threw in a couple of hip hop moves. Rating: 8/10


_W5A9204_hires1ROUTINE #6
Who: Neptune (Team Street) and Jasmine (All-Star)
Style: Hip Hop w/ krump
Choreographer: Pharside and Phoenix
Song: “Milk Was A Bad Choice” by Yultron
Performance: This was actually a pretty crazy routine. I don’t know if it was the costumes or not but it didn’t feel clean. The movements were kind of a mess. That being said some cool things did happen in the routine despite it not being the sharpest or the cleanest. I loved the back crawl, I loved the tutting with the arms, I loved the krumping section and I loved just the overall theme and how much Neptune got into character. It could have been better, but it was fun. Grade: B
Judges: Jason thought the routine was crazy. Nigel loved the theatricality of the routine. He thought Neptune was “dope.” Paula thought he and Jasmine were a great couple.


SOLO #7
Who: Derek – Team Stage
Song:Drip Drop” by Empire Cast feat. Yazz & Serayah McNeill
Performance: He did a lot of tricks that had a lot of height to it. It was powerful movements, but was a bit off-putting with that smile at the end. He’s not my favorite but he gets a high score because of the powerful tricks. Rating: 8/10


_W5A9250_hires1ROUTINE #7
Who: Jim (Team Stage) and Jessica (All-Star)
Style: Contemporary
Choreographer: Dee Caspary
Song: “Heal” by Tom Odell
Performance: I don’t know if Jessica and Jim had very good chemistry. Something was definitely missing from this piece. That being said despite a wobble here, they both danced it really well. Jim was strong and emotional and I felt like he was really connecting to what he was doing, but not necessarily to Jessica. I guess all that really matters is how Jim was doing but I wasn’t really able to connect to this piece. He danced it well…but yeah…you know? Grade: B
Judges: Nigel says there is nothing wrong with Jim’s technique, but needs to work with his chemistry. They all want Jim to focus on the story and Jason felt like he wasn’t enjoying it as much as he should have. Wow, again, I agree with Jason.


SOLO #8
Who: Megz – Team Street
Song:No Apologies” by Empire Cast feat. Jussie Smollett and Yazz
Performance: It was so short! Is that right? Whatever it was it was hardcore and passionate, just like Megz. Rating: 8/10


_W5A9362_hires1

ROUTINE #8
Who: Ja Ja (Team Street) and Alex (All-Star)
Style: Bollywood
Choreographer: Nakul Dev Mahajan
Song: “Naacho Re” from Jai Ho (Soundtrack)
Performance: I love Alex “Freakin” Wong, I really do. He’s probably one of my favorite dancers ever along with Allison Holker and Travis Wall, that being said…I could not take my eyes off of Ja Ja. Girl had me scared from the package but she KILLED IT. Those knee glides around the gazebo was CRAZY. They were so smooth. And her facial expressions were killer. She just looked like she was having a lot of fun. This routine was probably one of Nakul’s best. It had high energy, lifts, stunts, tutting, and fantastic floor work. Great routine, great performance by Ja Ja. And this is not me being biased even though I am. Rating: A
Judges: Paula says Ja Ja can do it all. She’s so charming. Nigel says whoopi. In reference to Whoopi Goldberg. Who’s in the audience. Can you say random? He is amazed by Ja Ja’s ability to transform.


SOLO #9
Who: Edson (Team Stage)
Song:I Wanna Love You” by Empire Cast feat. Jussie Smollett
Performance: I’m a sucker for a good jacket and right now Edson has on a great jacket. He has some good tricks in there thrown in with some crazy sexy dance moves that’s fitting with the song and the jacket. He would have had an 8, but he needed just a bit more smolder. Rating: 7/10


_W5A9428_hires1

ROUTINE #9
Who: Gaby (Team Stage) with Joshua (All-Star)
Style: Hip Hop
Choreographers: Pharside and Phoenix
Song: “I’m Really Hot” by Missy Elliott
Performance: This routine was really dirty! In a good way. There was so much to love about it, even if the routine subject was super stereotypical. I love the fact that Gaby is in this dainty and sweet little geisha outfit with boots and she’s dancing all hardcore. I just love that juxtaposition. I loved Josh jumping over her legs, or them tutting with Gaby’s legs around Josh’s waist as she’s parallel to the floor. There were so many intricate things happening in this routine. It was surprising and fun and I love just how much Gaby committed to the entire thing. She is awesome. I loved her little “drop the mic” point she did to the audience after “breaking” Josh’s neck and bowing politely to the audience. Bad. Ass. Rating: A
Judges: Jason calls it amazing and didn’t know Gaby had it in her. Nigel says Gaby and JaJa are his favorites from both teams. Paula says she proves every week just how good she is at everything.

BOTTOM FOUR

  • Derek – Team Stage
  • JJ – Team Street
  • Megz – Team Street
  • Edson – Team Stage

MY THOUGHTS
I think his performance tonight may have just saved Edson. Derek is going home. As for Megz and JJ, I’m sorry to say she may be going home. I love the girl but she hasn’t had that breakout moment and the judges love Megz. Plus her performance tonight was really good.

ELIMINATION TIME
I totally forgot there was no Twitter vote! That blows. Cat tells us that Edson and JJ are going home.

MY THOUGHTS
That’s a big bummer for Edson. He did so well today. And seriously, who are all these people saving Derek?? Cat reminds us, JJ is “delicate” because of her injury and that’s a double bummer to go home when you’re injured and didn’t even have a chance to dance for the last time. So long JJ and Edson, you will be missed.

RANDOM THOUGHTS AND QUOTES

  • Cat: “I love it when Nigel talks street.”
    Cat to Gaby: I,” couldn’t love you more right now with every bit of my being.”
  • I always felt a special connection to JJ because she’s Asian and cute and has such great style – that dress she’s wearing tonight is amazing. I’ll miss her. Asians gotta represent! Has there ever been a female Asian Dancer on SYTYCD since Season 1 Melanie?
  • Love the dancers coming in for delicate hugs for JJ. Especially Marco, so sweet.
  • End goodbye: From that angle it looked like Nigel was trying to open mouth kiss JJ.

TOP 5 ROUTINES
(The top three are miles and miles ahead of 4 and 5)

  1. Gaby and Josh – Hip Hop
  2. Edson and Jaimie – Contemporary
  3. JaJa and Alex – Bollywood
  4. Virgil and Comfort – Hip Hop
  5. Hailee and Brandon – Jazz

RANKING THE DANCERS
(In terms of my preference, not necessarily skill or performance)

  1. Ja Ja
  2. Gaby
  3. Virgil
  4. Neptune
  5. Megz
  6. Jim
  7. Edson
  8. JJ
  9. Hailee
  10. Derek

FINAL THOUGHTS
The dancers and the choreographers really stepped it up this episode. There were so many good routines and the show was just a lot of fun. As the numbers dwindle down I’m only going to get sadder and sadder. I think Derek will find himself in the bottom again. As well as Jim, unfortunately. As for who else could be in the bottom? I have no freakin’ clue. All I know is I’m voting for Ja Ja and Gaby right now!!

Riddle me this...