2014 ROCP Award Nominations

Posted: December 31, 2014 in A Look Back, award season, movies, ROCP Awards

It’s been a few months since I’ve posted anything on my site. Time just seemed to get away from me, but to make up for it, it’s time for….

photo (1)

 

Yes, the 4th Annual ROCP Award Nominations!!

When reading these nominations, keep in mind there are some movies I have yet to see: Theory of Everything, Still Alice, Unbroken, and Big Eyes are still on my list. Also keep in mind, this was a very weird year for movies. There are only a few movies that are deemed worthy of STAND OUTS for me. I don’t even know if I can fully make a Top 10 list. There were good movies, perhaps even great movies, but only a 2 or 3 made me feel all those tingly, excited, have-to-tell-everyone-you-know-to-watch-it feels, you know, those feelings you have when you know you’ve seen greatness. But I digress…

This year I’ve decided to switch things up to keep things fresh, totally not because I’m lazy or because I can’t get my act together (*cough* yes it is *cough*), but because it makes sense to present my nominations for the best of the best or worst of the worst of 2014…at the end of 2014 (instead of my usual revealing the winner on New Years). I will reveal the winners sometime in the first two weeks of January to also give me a few more weeks to see the movies I’ve missed in case I wan’t to make any changes. Feel free to tell me what I’ve missed or what I got wrong.

 

The 4th ANNUAL ROCP Award Nominations are…

 

Best Movie of The Year
Snowpiercer
Birdman
Whiplash
Gone Girl
Guardians of the Galaxy

 

Biggest Surprise Of The Year
(Meaning I didn’t know how much I’d LOVE it)
The Guardians of the Galaxy
This is Where I Leave You
Edge of Tomorrow
Birdman
Whiplash

 

Worst Movie of The Year
The Best of Me
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles
Transformers: Age of Extinction
Transcendence
Men, Women and Children

 

Biggest Let Down of The Year
(the movie I had been looking forward too only for it to flop)
Maleficent
Divergent
The Maze Runner
Dawn of the Planet of the Apes
Life After Beth

 

Best Actor
Matthew McConaughey, Interstellar
Jake Gyllenhaal, Interstellar
J.K. Simmons, Whiplash
Michael Keaton, Birdman
Channing Tatum, Foxcatcher
Steve Carrell, Foxcatcher
Bradley Cooper, American Sniper

 

Best Actress
Rosamund Pike, Gone Girl
Reese Witherspoon, Wild
Meryl Streep, Into The Woods
Emily Blunt, Into The Woods
Emma Stone, Birdman
Tilda Swinton, Snowpiercer

 

Worst Actor/Actress
Surprisingly, no nominations. There’s no performance that sticks out as being so terrible.

 

Best Visual Effects
Interstellar
Captain America: The Winter Soldier
The Maze Runner
Guardians of the Galaxy
Mockingjay

 

Best Cinematography
Birdman
Interstellar
Into The Woods
Mockingjay
Gone Girl

Best Romantic Movie or Rom-Com Of The Year
The Other Woman
That Awkward Moment
This is Where I Leave You
The Fault In Our Stars
Walk of Shame
Best Action/Thriller Movie Of The Year
Edge of Tomorrow
Snowpiercer
Mockingjay
Captain America: The Winter Soldier
Godzilla

 

Best Cheesy, Campy, Goodness Film
This is Where I Leave You
The Other Woman
The Grand Budapest Hotel
Big Hero 6
Guardians of the Galaxy

 

Most Depressing Movie
Foxcatcher
The Judge
American Sniper
Life After Beth
Snowpiercer

 

Best Tearjearker
There’s really only one winner…to be revealed. No other movies I saw can I consider “tear jerkers” worthy to be in this category.

 

Best Indie Movie
No Nominations. There were some good ones, but none worthy of the “BEST” title.

The Movie That Had All The Makings To Be Great, But Wasn’t
Divergent
The Maze Runner
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles
The Best of Me

 

Miscast Actors
James Cordon as the Baker in Into The Woods
Neil Patrick Harris as Desi Collins, in Gone Girl
Chloe Grace Moretz as Mia, If I Stay
Jamie Blacklet as Adam, If I Stay
Ed Harris as Wilford in  Snowpiercer

 

Performance That Made Me a Fan (when I was otherwise neutral)
Miles Teller, Whiplash
Bill Hader, Skeleton Twins
Chris Pratt, Guardians of the Galaxy
Rosamund Pike, Gone Girl

 

Breakout Performance
Ansel Egort, The Fault In Our Stars
Dave Bautista, Guardians of the Galaxy
Brenton Thwaites, The Giver
Lilla Crawford, Into The Woods

 

Most Memorable Performance (*new category)
Alison Pill’s crazy, demented, pregnant school teacher, in Snowpiercer
Jake Gyllenhaal’s psycho, twisted, creepy paparazzi, in Nightcrawler
Anna Kendrick neurotic, beautifully voiced Cinderella, in Into The Woods
BAYMAX! The lovable adorable inflatable medical robot, in Big Hero 6
Groot, because did Vin Diesel really do anything?, in Guardian’s of the Galaxy

 

Performance that Saved an Otherwise Luke Warm Movie (*new category)
Jake Gyllenhaal, Night Crawler
Angelina Jolie, Maleficient
Bill Hader, Skeleton Twins
Dylan O’Brien, The Maze Runner

 

Most Overrated (Why are people raving about this movie) Movie (*new category*)
The LEGO Movie
St. Vincent
The Judge
Boyhood

 



 

SPOILER ALERT AWARDS

photo (1)

 

**warning do not read if you don’t want to know what happens in a certain movie!!**

SPOILER ALERT AWARDS!!

 

 


 

Most Disturbing Image, I’ll Never Get Out Of My Head

  • Pretty much the entire Nightcrawler movie.
  • Amy (Rosamund Pike) killing Desi Collings, oh, the blood! Gone Girl
  • Biggles (the handsome Jake McDorman) getting shot in the face, American Sniper
  • Those alien, human looking, monstrous, ugly turtles, in Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles
  • The passengers at the back of the train eating each other/babies in order to survive, Snowpiercer
  • Senator Stern (Garry Shandling) whispering “Hail Hyrdra” into Agent Sitwell’s ear, Captain America: The Winter Soldier

 

The Moment That Ruined An Otherwise Good Movie

  • The weird, toned down, out-of-place ending scene to, Snowpiercer
  • Mark King (Nikolaj Coster-Waldau) crashing through the glass window after escaping his meeting with his wife (Leslie Mann), girlfriend (Cameron Diaz), and mistress (Kate Upton), in The Other Woman
  • (Though there were other things wrong with it, I could get past everything but) Daniel Huttlestone’s accent as Jack. Giants in the Sky is probably my favorite song from any musical and his accent didn’t do the song justice!, in Into The Woods.
  • The trippy existential, Cooper (Matthew McConaughey) made it happen not the aliens or some other worldly being, plot line from Interstellar, can’t it just be Aliens?

 

The Moment That Saved An Otherwise Bad Movie

No Nominations

 

The Best Laugh-Out-Loud moment

  • Jenko (Channing Tatum) realizing Schmidt (Jonah Hill) has been dating the bosses (Ice Cube’s) daughter, complete with the timer going off and him running around the squad room in pure glee, 22 Jump Street
  • Chris Pine and Bill Magnussen ripping their shirts open, Into The Woods
  • Hiro showing Baymax how to fist bump, Big Hero 6.
  • Groot’s smile after knocking out all those bad guys, Guardians of the Galaxy.

 

Most Tearful Moment

  • When Augustus (Ansel Egort) dies, but also pretty much the entire movie of The Fault In Our Stars.
  • Chris Kyle calling his wife amidst all the chaos telling her he’s ready to come home, American Sniper.
  • The “Monuments Men” listening to “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” especially Bill Murray bursting into tears, The Monuments Men.
  • Baymax sacrificing himself to save Hiro, Big Hero 6.
  • Adian (Zach Braff) saying goodbye to his estranged father (Mandy Patinkin), Wish I Was Here

 

Best Movie Moment

  • The last 10 minutes when Andrew (Miles Teller) finally stands up to his domineering drum instructor (J.K. Simmons), Whiplash
  • Meryl Streep singing “Last Midnight”, I mean come on! Into the Woods
  • Anna Kendrick singing, “On The Steps of the Palace”, Into The Woods
  • All the “Guardian’s” coming together in a big emotional moment, standing next to each other in a circle and Rocket saying, “Well now I’m standing. Happy? We’re all standing now. Bunch of jackasses, standing in a circle,” Guardians of the Galaxy.
  • The entire Nick Fury car chase ending with the reveal of The Winter Soldier, badass! Captain America: The Winter Soldier.

 

What are you thoughts on my nominations? Did I miss anything? Check back in a couple of weeks for the winners!

 

 

 

Riddle me this...

