So You Think You Can Dance, Season 14: Top 8 Perform

Posted: September 2, 2017 in So You Think You Can Dance, TV

Tonight the dancers are dancing together. That should be fun! I’m excited for it. Lets get on with the show and press play…

 

SO YOU THINK YOU CAN DANCE

SEASON 14

TOP 8 PERFORM

It might be wrong how much I loved the opening number performed by all the All-Stars and our Top 8. While part of me wonders what Nigel thinks of this performance (come on, you know why) the other part of me – the larger part of me – loves that a piece like this is allowed to exist. From Robert’s opening solo, to Jasmine being dragged across the floor on a stained glass piece of fabric while Allison throws purple petals behind her, I loved everything about this piece. This is a piece that can rival Ramalama Bang Bang. This is a routine to get excited about! This is a routine to remember. Werk. (Song: “Call Me Mother” by Ru Paul / Choreographer: Mark Kanemura)

Image result for so you think you can dance taylor and robert hip hop 

Opening Random Thoughts

  • I didn’t think I could love the opening number any MORE, until I found out it was choreographed by Mark Kanemura. Perfection. Absolute perfection.
  • I’m excited that the dancers are dancing together this episode.
  • Vanessa is blonde. I can’t tell if it’s a wig or not. She’s got the black roots, but it has absolutely no movement to it. It’s so stiff. Too much hairspray perhaps?
  • Mary looks fabulous today.

 

Image result for koine and marko so you think you can dance

Duet Performance #1: Koine and All-Star Marko

Style: Jazz / Choreographer: Mandy Moore
Song: “HandClap” by Fitz & The Tantrums
Performance Thoughts: I’m trying to figure out what’s going on with the styling, I think I like it? I’m not sure if I like it? The heels with the bare legs is interesting for this number. She’s wearing shorts, but then a long vest that moves like a dress. And what is Marko wearing? But anyway, this number is fun and easy breezy and they just look like they are having a good time dancing. Koine’s facial expressions are a little cheesy and I don’t think we really get to know her at all this piece. But it was a fun routine. The dancing was great, they were in sync and connected. I love that Mary acknowledges Koine’s spirit. The days have been long and hard for them and she made it look easy, which is true. Performance Grade: B

Image result for so you think you can dance taylor and robert hip hop

Duet Performance #2: Taylor and All-Star Robert

Style: Hip Hop / Choreographer: Luther Brown
Song: “Bodak Yellow” by Cardi B
Performance Thoughts: Honestly, and I love him so much, but I totally forgot Robert was even in this piece and that’s a good thing. At first I was totally distracted by her hair. It was everywhere, in her face, in Robert’s face, in Robert’s costume, just everywhere, but girl didn’t let it phase it. It was like it was PART. OF. HER. Honestly, she crushed this routine. She was feeling it in her body and her bones. And she was hot hot hot. When Robert takes off her jacket? Whew! I almost didn’t even recognize her. Luther Brown always has these super cool vibes that are evident in all his routines and she embodied it to a T. Fantastic performance. Performance Grade: A-

Image result for so you think you can dance taylor and robert hip hop

Duet Performance #3: Lex and All-Star Gaby

Style: Contemporary / Choreographer: Mandy Moore
Song: “Work Song” by Luke Wade
Performance Thoughts: I did not want this performance to end. You could totally tell this was completely and utterly in Lex’s wheelhouse. He was so confident and strong. Every single movement he made was pure strength. There was this move in the middle of the routine where Gaby picked him up by one arm off his back, limbs in the air, it was really fantastic. Or where he balanced on one hand then brown his body down like a broken doll. The routine was fantastic and Gaby really showed her strength as a dancer at one time supporting his body weight with her legs. So beautiful. Performance Grade: A

Duet Performance #4: Kaylee and All-Star Cyrus

Style: Cha Cha / Choreographer: Val Chmerkovskiy
Song: “Respect” by Aretha Franklin
Performance Thoughts:  I have to say, when I heard she get the Cha Cha, I was like man, this girl cannot cut a break with good routines, but I have to say she pulled it off. This was not your conventional ballroom routine. It had a story, modern clothes, modern song. Kaylee was moving her hips and really attacking the ballroom steps well at least in my limited knowledge of ballroom. I thought she did a great job and sold it in her performance and this hips! The routine gets the seal of approval from Mary the Ballroom queen! I’m glad she loved it. Performance Grade: B

Image result for so you think you can dance taylor and robert hip hop

Duet Performance #5: Mark and All-Star Comfort

Style: Broadway / Choreographer: Spencer Liff
Song“Criminal” by Scott Bradlee’s Postmoder Jukebox, feat. Ariana Savalas
Performance Thoughts: I feel like some of Mark’s personality was flattened with his hair. It was a fun routine but something was a bit off in their chemistry this week. That being said Mark danced it really well, he definitely brought the Broadway out, but there was something missing from his performance. He didn’t bring is own uniqueness into it. Performance Grade: B-

Image result for so you think you can dance taylor and robert hip hop

Duet Performance #6: Kiki and All- Star Jenna

Style: Jazz / Choreographer: Travis Wall
Song: “Pop Hd” by AtomTM
Performance Thoughts: I’m not sure how I felt about this routine. It was choreographed really well, I mean come on Travis Wall, the production design, styling, hair and make up, it all worked. It just did. But there was something off, something missing. Travis always has a lot of partnering work and while I thought Jenna did a great job. She can do weird really well, it reminds me of her other futuristic performance. But  I’m just not sure about Kiki. I think he was trying to be weird but instead he was kinda stiff and awkward. He actually reminded of Ross from Friends.  He needed to be a little weirder. Performance Grade: B-

Image result for so you think you can dance dassy and fik-shun

Duet Performance #7: Dassy and All-Star Fik-Shun

Style: Contemporary  / Choreography: Jaci Royal
Song: “Breathe” by Son Lux
Performance Thoughts: The moment I saw Dassy in that all-red costume I thought of American Horror Story. I thought Dassy killed it in this routine, she was so flexible and mesmerizing. In fact that whole routine was enchanting, I was almost holding my breath just trying to take in everything that was happening. When Fik-shun lifts her up like she’s completely weightless and she curves her body back, when she curls around him, that cool lift they did that’s reminiscent of the ice skating move from Cutting Edge…I really loved this routine, it was different, it was quiet, but what they did out there was HARD and they did it effortlessly and brilliantly. Also Dassy’s lipstick is mesmerizing. I think it’s the dark corners to the lipstick. Performance Grade: A-

Image result for so you think you can dance taylor and robert hip hop

Duet #8: Logan and All-Star Allison

Style: Hip Hop / Choreographer: Christopher Scott
Song: “Say You Wont Let Go” by Boyce Avenue
Performance Thoughts: It was a really sweet routine. It’s so cool to see Allison doing hip hop, I don’t think I’ve ever seen that before. She had some killer moves out there (Thanks Twitch). But Logan was also doing some amazing B-Boy moves. This routine definitely had me smiling at the end, did I buy them as a married couple, maybe not till the end. Logan still looks like a kid but there’s nothing you can do about that. But it was a sweet routine with little touches that left me feeling warm and fuzzy, and their chemistry was incredible here, so I’ll take it! Performance Grade: A-

Image result for so you think you can dance taylor and robert hip hop

Group Performance #2 – All Stars

Thoughts: This routine was super cool, them dancing with the plexi glass. Whenever there’s a sense of danger added to a routine I think it makes the performance more intoxicating. I loved how the dancers used the moments to create unique shapes, have cool movements across the floor and do some insane lifts. (Song: “Truth” by Balmorhea  / Choreographer: Jaci Royal) Performance Grade: A-

Image result for so you think you can dance kiki and koine

Duet #9: Lex and Taylor

Style: Classical Jazz / Choreographer: Spencer Liff
Song: “An American In Paris” by James Levin & Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Performance Thoughts: Man these dancers are killing in tonight. That was another sweet routine. I mean really it was just stunning. I know it was classical jazz, but it felt more like Broadway. And then near the end when they are about to part but the music swells and he lifts her up in the AIRRRR! Seriously major swooning happening there. I think with a little more time their chemistry could have been on fire, but I did get chills when the music swelled and I had another round of warm fuzzies. Taylor looked absolutely stunning and Lex did some amazing bird aerials. Performance Grade: A-

Image result for so you think you can dance kiki and koine

Duet Performance #10: Kiki and Koine

Style: Salsa / Choreographer: Val Chmerkovskiy
Song: “Danca Molengo” by Bonde do Role feat Rizzle Kicks
Performance Thoughts: First, can I just say how adorable Koine and Kiki are in their intro package. It’s like she brought out his goofy geeky side. He’s usually so serious. I love it. They’re adorbs.  Second, I love how this awesome lift that ends with Koine’s arms around his neck is accentuated with the singer saying “Yes.” That is just fabulous. Second, wow, this routine was pretty hot. While I could have done with a few more sultry looks and a little less smile smile, I thought it was a sassy, fun, routine with a major spark at the end. That girl wanted her kiss! Performance Grade: B+/A-

Image result for so you think you can dance mark and dassy

Duet Performance #11: Logan and Kaylee

Style: Contemporary / Choreographer: Travis Wall
Song: “Shadows” by Woodkid
Performance Thoughts: Whoa, this piece was really intense! I loved the concept of the shadow and I really think they pulled it off, it was a fantastic effect and Kaylee being all covered and in dark make-up just made it all the more sinister. Logan’s moves are sooo amazing I just love how he moves, but Kaylee had the weirder, funkier, almost squished versions of his moves that was so cool. I really loved this piece. So intense. Performance  Grade: A-

Image result for so you think you can dance mark and dassy umbrella

Duet Performance #12: Mark and Dassy

Style: Hip Hop / Choreographer: Christopher Scott
Song: “Tilted” by Christine and The Queens
Performance Thoughts: Someone out there was yelling “Hey” every time they did something cool with the umbrella and didn’t drop it. Was that Christopher Scott? I mean the didn’t drop the umbrella at all, but they did some super trick moves with it. This routine was light and fun and I think Dassy really brought out her personality. She was definitely more of a stand-out than Mark was. It was just a fun, cute routine. Performance Grade: B

Cat Announces the Bottom Three: ( I’m not ready for this…)  Kaylee, Dassy, Koine

My Thoughts on This: WHAT? How is Koine in the bottom three? I mean seriously. She’s fantastic! Okay so maybe her piece last week wasn’t the BEST, but still. If I had to vote for a bottom three merely by preference,  It would be Kaylee, Mark and Kiki, with Kaylee going home.  I won’t want to see anyone else go home today but Kaylee. Even thought she had a great day today I just love Dassy and Koine more than her.

Who’s Going Home:

 

My Thoughts: Ugh, I can’t believe they sent home Dassy. No….just No.

No.

 

My Other Thoughts: WHO? WHAT? WHERE? WHY? HOW? HOOOOOWWWWWW! NO! Did they not see her amazing contemporary routine? I mean COME ON! Ugh! How was this decision unanimous? Ugh. I hate you all judges!

Image result for so you think you can dance top 7

RANDOM THOUGHTS:
  • Cat (in response to Taylor’s Hip Hop Routine with Robert): “I think everyone needs this facet of their personality to come out once in a while.” Preach!
  • Vanessa used the creepy word “lit” correctly and it wasn’t weird. Is that what that word is supposed to sound like?
  • Cat to Robert: “I also admire your six-pack work.” God, I love that woman.
  • Hey is that JaJa behind Jaci Royal?
  • There are a lot of kisses happening on this show today.
  • Kaylee to Logan: “So Travis Wall.” Logan: “Let me just melt real quick.” LOVE LOVE LOVE!
  • All of the routines were so great today.
  • Nigel: Mary you need never worry about anyone hearing you, darling.
  • Marko hugging Fik-shun when Koine is safe is everything. And then he grabs her and hugs her? His face. OMG.

 

Top 5 Performances (Because there were so many good ones)
  1. “Call Me Mother” Opening Group Number
  2. Lex and Allison – Contemporary
  3. Robert and Taylor – Hip Hop
  4. Dassy and Fik-Shun – Contemoirary
  5. Lex and Taylor – Jazz
My Ranking of the Dancers (50% Preference 50% Performance)
  1. Taylor
  2. Lex
  3. Koine
  4. Logan
  5. Mark
  6. Kiki
  7. Kaylee

(NOTE: If Dassy were still here she would be #5.)

Image result for so you think you can dance rupaul group routine

 

Final Thoughts: Nigel…I am soooooo mad at you. While this episode was filled with great routine after great routine and my heart still swells for that bird routine, all this is dulled by the sending home of Dassy. I just can’t believe it!

 

Until next episode my friends….

Riddle me this...