So You Think You Can Dance Season 14: It’s Baaaackkkkk!

Posted: June 14, 2017 in Uncategorized

So You Think You Can Dance is BAAAAACCCCKKKK!

And I couldn’t be happier. The show I love is back and better. Even better, it’s back to its teenage/young adult contestants. And even betterer (yes, I said betterer), Mary Murphy is back. So You Think You Can Dance is not SYTYCD without Mary Murphy. I’m ready for dancing, for Cat Deely’s amazing outfits, for Mary Murphy’s screams, for Nigel’s inappropriate comments, for the kind of dancing that makes you sob, for the kind of dancing that makes you press rewind over and over and over.

I’m ready, guys? Are you ready?

https://heavyeditorial.files.wordpress.com/2017/06/ffsytycd_auditions-ny_0240_hires1.jpg?quality=65&strip=all&w=780&strip=all

SO YOU THINK YOU CAN DANCE

Season 14

Los Angeles Auditions

 

Top 3 Favorite Performances

Darius Hickman
Contemporary
Everyone has a story, good, bad, we all have one. And while SYTYCD gave us Darius’ story, we almost didn’t need it. You could see it and feel it in his dancing. His moves had life; he wasn’t just going through the motions. It was powerful and breathtaking.

Mark Villaver
Break Dancer/Contemporary
I love the mix between styles. This kid was full of personality and his performance was original. It was also emotional, dynamic, and a lot of fun to watch.

Robert Green
Pop/Locker
You can always tell when a dancer loves what he is doing and Robert loves what he’s doing. He is funny, he is exciting, and he is overall just a delight to watch. He reminds me a lot of Fik-Shun and I really hope he can go all the way.

 

Runner Up:

Kristina & Vasily
Ballroom
I’ll be honest, I’m not a big fan of ballroom dancing, most of the time I think it’s kind of boring, but that’s probably because I just don’t understand the story. This routine had a story and the dancers had the chemistry to sell it. Kristina is a phenomenal dancer, emoting throughout her entire body. It was literally impossible not to watch her.

 

Random Thoughts

  • I love Vanessa Hudgens eye make-up.
  • Can Vanessa Hudgens say anything else but Yassss?
  • I can’t believe there were only like 8 performances, I know the show is only an hour long, but can we get more dancing and less montages?

 

 

Next week more dancing, but let’s be honest – we’re really just holding on until Vegas Week, which is now called “The Academy” for some reason.

 

 

Riddle me this...

