So You Think You Can Dance Season 11: Top 4 Revealed

Posted: August 21, 2014 in So You Think You Can Dance, TV

So You Think You Can Dance
Season 11
Top 4 Revealed

 

Top 6 Perform
Choreographer: Nick Demoura
Song: “Hide”/NASA feat Aynzil Jones
The Top 6 perform a cool and funky hip hop routine with crazy horror movie-like masks on their faces. It’s actually a pretty cool routine. It uses the music well, and I can spot Casey out of the group. He has such a distinct vibe about him I could spot his dancing anywhere.

 

Sparkly disco ball Cat comes out to introduce the guest judge, three-peat Christina and she tells us each dancer will be performing 3 times. Once with each other, once with an All-Star, and once to solo. And also Rixton is performing…So my major question is…who the hell is Rixton?

 

Routine #1: Ricky and Valerie
Choreographer/Style: Spencer Liff/Broadway
Song: “I’ve Got The World On A Strong”/Frank Sinatra
Performance: The happy-go-lucky pair is back together again and the routine is frickin’ adorable. It’s “twin-girls-holding-cotton-candy-running-down-a-hill-chasing-puppies” frickin’ adorable. That’s how adorable it is. They both really get into character. The swing is a super cute idea and there were some cool moments in it. I love the first time Ricky jumps over the moving swing through the ropes. I love when Valerie throws herself into Ricky’s arms. It’s just a feel-good, happy routine. And Ricky’s shoes are insanely distracting. He’s SO matchy matchy.
Judges: Nigel thought they captured the romantic mood. Christina thought she was pure elegance and grace and Ricky is an enigma. Mary found it light and breezy with honesty chemistry.  Grade: A-

 

Routine #2: Jessica and Casey
Choreographer/Style: Doriana Sanchez/Disco
Song: “Dim All The Lights”/Donna Summer
Performance: I gotta say, it’s been a long time since I’ve seen a Disco routine that’s been this good. Usually it’s a lot of glitz and glamor and flips and spins and lifts and frantic chaos. And while this routine had the first 5 things, there was this cool sense of ease about it. Like they didn’t have a care in the world. It was so much fun. It started out with Casey spinning Jessica around super-fast – I mean seriously faster than normal and it was just uphill from there. I loved seeing the cool disco moves with them dancing side by side. The lifts felt easy and simple (even though they were not) and it looked like they were having a lot of fun out there. I also loved the seemingly abrupt ending. It was just a super fun routine.
Judges: Cat got chills for disco. Mary thought Jessica’s legs were amazing and she loved how classic disco Casey was. Nigel thought it was a lot of fun and he knew how difficult the routine was. Grade: A

 

Routine #3: Jacque and Zack
Choreographer/Style: Jean Marc Genereux/Fox Trot
Song: “Anything Goes”/Tony Bennett and Lady Gaga
Performance: I’m not really that big of a fan of Jacque, so my eyes were drawn to Zack. I thought they performed really well but the dancing overall was just okay. That being said I thought Zack’s actions were bigger and better than Jacque’s but overall I wasn’t impressed with the routine.
Judges: Mary didn’t think it was smooth enough and Nigel wasn’t thrilled with the performance. Christina didn’t feel like their faces came from a genuine place. Grade: C

 

 

Routine #4: Valerie and All-Star Twitch
Choreographer/Style: Wildabeast/Hip Hop
Song: “Yeah”/Usher feat Lil’ Jon & Ludacris
Performance: This song always makes me think of Hitch, but aside from that and Valerie’s distracting costume. I thought this routine was really cute. I love the mixture of classic wedding dances (did she do a little moon walk there on the table?) and I love that she kept her bubbly personality while still getting down and having fun. It looked like they were having a blast out there. I love when the routine was over you could see Valerie checking with Twitch to make sure she did a good job. I thought she did great and I actually watched her a bit more than I did Twitch. That’s a tall order!
Judges: Nigel thought the routine was a lot of fun. He thinks Valerie is a great performer. Christina thought she was amazing. Mary thought Wildabeast brought the beast out in Valerie. Grade: B+

 

 

Routine #5: Jacque and All-Star Will
Choreographer/Style: Sean Cheeseman/Contemporary
Song: “99 Red Balloons”/Sleeping At Last
Performance: It’s a really pretty routine. I love the use of the red yoga ball in the beginning. It really created some beautiful images. It looked so simple yet difficult at the same time. I thought it was really pretty and they both looked good together.  I didn’t 100% buy their love story, but the dancing was spectacular.
Judging: Mary loved the beginning and she thought the routine was gorgeous. Nigel thought she was brilliant. Grade: B

 

 

Routine #6: Jessica and All-Star Ade
Choreographer/Style: Ray Leeper/Jazz
Song: “Boneless”/Steve Aoki, Chris Lake & Tujamo
Performance: The routine looked like it was a lot of fun. It was crazy and it felt almost japanime-like in some instances. Unfortunately I think costume and styling did Jessica a real hindrance. What were those hideous neon green Sasquatch leg warmers on her legs about? I wish she could have just taken those things OFF. And her hair in her faces was definitely distracting. It looked like they were having a lot of fun though and they were into what they were doing. I just wish she was wearing…something else!
Judges: Mary thought the routine was fun, she steals my thing about Sasquatch…Nigel thought the routine was just okay, he didn’t really connect with the routine and Jessica. He also knocks her solo…I know it wasn’t strong but WHAT? Why call her out like that Nigel, seriously. Grade: B-

 

Routine #7: Ricky and All-Star Anya
Choreographer/Style: Jean Marc Genereux/Cha-Cha
Song: “Dare (La La La)”/Shakira
Performance: Seriously, Anya cannot and will not be denied. Girl is gorgeous…and just brilliant to watch. She oozes sexy, and like Ricky says she’s a lot of woman. While she definitely steals the show, I think Ricky held his own. If Mary were to say anything about him, I feel like he needed to get down a little more. Overall the routine was sexy and sultry and eye catching.
Judging: Nigel thought Ricky looked like he had been dancing that style for years. Christina thought Ricky was sensational. Mary thought he was a good lead and took some good control. Grade: A-

 

Routine #8: Casey and All-Star Mackenzie
Choreographer/Style: Stacey Tookey/Contemporary
Song: “Over You”/Ingrid Michaelson feat. A Great Big World
Performance: I actually thought it was quite beautiful. I loved that it was so passionate. Each movement the dancers made had intention and had purpose. I thought the story Casey and Mackenzie told was incredible and I wanted to know more. I really loved Stacey’s choreography in this. There were just some simple subtle dance movements that really caught my eye, Casey running his hand across her outstretched arm, Casey’s turns almost kicking Mackenzie away, the way Casey pushed Mackenzie away. It was very striking and very emotional.
Judges:  Mary thought the movement melted and blended into each other and he had a performance of a lifetime. Nigel loved the story and thought the whole thing made sense. Grade: A

 

Routine #9: Zack and All-Star Fik-Shun
Choreographer/Style: Phillip Chebeeb/Hip Hop
Song: “Sail (Unlimited Gravity Remix)”/AWOLnation
Performance: This routine was like unlike anything I’d every seen on the show. It was really really cool. The movement was so intricate and it was all about the shapes they were making. It was funny, it was exciting, and it was mesmerizing just how cool everything was. Fik-Shun definitely has a happy go lucky vibe about him, and while Zack was more on the serious side (I think he was really thinking about nailing it), I really loved the routine. It made me excited.
Judges: Mary loved it and calls Zack a surprise of the season. (You can see the relief on Zack’s face). Nigel subconsciously insults Zack then realizes what he’s done and takes it back. Christina thinks Zack is a great performer. Cat loves that Zack did his own thing and didn’t try to emulate Fik-Shun. Grade: A-

 

SOLOS

Solo #1: Ricky
Song: “My Tears Are Becoming A Sea”/M83
Performance: Lemme start of by saying, I love it when SYTYCD makes me cry. And seeing Ricky’s Grandma cry over him definitely made the room seem extra dusty at the moment.  Ricky’s solo made me say DAMN. To say it was EPIC would be a severe understatement. Those back kick leaps are freakin’ incredible. I loved his solo and will watch it again. In fact, I’m rewinding my DVR as I write this. Rating: 10/10

Solo #2: Jessica
Song: “I Was Here”/ Beyonce
Jessica’s solo’s are always so full of passion. This solo was a little tamer than others, but she also looked like she was on the verge of tears after her family’s tearful intro package. Though she’s definitely solo’d better, I’m still a fan. Rating: 7/10

Solo #3: Casey
Song: “Lay Me Down”/Sam Smith.
Okay, so first I’m distracted by the fact that Casey’s mother looks Asian. Which means he’s part Asian and it all makes sense now. No wonder I like him. Haha. I just love Casey’s solos. They show so much passion and you can tell he really loves to dance. There’s a lot to see and his song choice is excellent.  Rating: 9/10

Solo #4: Valerie
Song: “What I Like About You”/The Romantics
The blue dress with the black tights, absolutely killer combo. Valerie dazzles in her solo. It’s just so much fun, and goofy, and mesmerizing. I could watch her tap all day. Rating: 8/10

Solo #5: Zack
Song: “Butterfly”/Jason Mraz
I love Zack’s slides. I notice he does them a lot and in a lot of his routines. They’re so fun and cute and they add variety to his performances. The spin at the end of his solo was fantastic. Rating: 7/10

Solo #6: Jacque
Song: “Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy”/The Andrews Sisters
Her solo was kind of…well…not very special. It was just strange. It didn’t show any personality…and I’m not impressed. If Nigel didn’t like Jessica’s…then he sure as hell didn’t like this. Rating: 4/10

 

My Prediction:
My prediction is that it will be Zack and Jacque going home. No contest the final four should be Ricky, Casey, Jessica and Valerie.

 

Elimination Time:
Casey and Jacque are going home. And WOW that is a shocker I have to say. I mean Casey-wise. I thought for sure he had secured his way into the finals as each performance he has been showing more personality and more skill and dancing his way into my heart.

My Thoughts:
Honestly I think the battle for the winner will be between Jessica and Ricky with Ricky taking it home. He’s been solid all season.

 

Top 5 Performances

  1. Jessica and Casey – Disco
  2. Casey and Mackenzie – Contemporary
  3. Zack and Fik-Shun
  4. Ricky and Anya – Samba
  5. Ricky and Valerie – Broadway

 

Random Thoughts

  • I LOVE the fact that Cat showed a rehearsal clip of Ricky and Valerie’s Broadway routine where her dress gets caught in the swing. It’s adorable and also hilarious.
  • Jessica’s hair in the disco routine is INSANE.
  • Rixton performs. No clue who they are until they start singing. Oh, that song. I actually like it. I guess I won’t fast forward like I usually do during these sorts of performances.
  • I thought the red balloons falling down during Jacque and Will’s routine was a little too cheesy…does that make me dead inside?
  • Anyone else think Christina Applegate is off her judging game this week? She’s not saying much at all.

Final Thoughts
I put in 15 votes for Ricky and 5 for Jessica, though I have to say if Casey were in I would have split it evenly between Casey and Ricky. Next week is going to be so exciting and I can’t wait to see some of my favorite routines. Especially the Jessica/Casey/Travis Wall routine from a few weeks ago. How do you feel about the final four? Do you think it should be Casey instead of Zack? I think the guys were really strong this season but the right two girls are going to the final. Most definitely. As for who will take home the gold? Ricky…I mean come on, it’s Ricky.

 

 

 

 

Riddle me this...

