10 Movies I’m Looking Forward to This Summer

Posted: April 30, 2014 in just because I can, movies

Summer is Upon Us (That’s my version of Winter Is Coming) and you know what that means…sun, BBQ’s, and summer blockbusters. Here are the Top 10 movies I’m looking forward to this Summer (May-August).

 

10 Movies I’m Looking Forward to This Summer

 

Runners up: Chef, The Neighbors, and Maleficent

 

10. If I Stay

chloe-moretz-If-I-Stay-movie-screencaps-6
Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2agNeovUjr0
Based off of a book by Gayle Forman, this movie has a lot of potential. I’m interested to see how they tackle the tricky concept without it seeming hokey. The book was great, it is very dramatic and Mia is complicated and not always likeable. I’m interested to see if Chloe Grace Moetz can pull her off, especially because I pictured Mia looking older.

 

9. Jupiter Ascending

jupiter-ascending-posters-channing-tatum-mila-kunis-dl
Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fOvITFK98gg
I have no idea what this movie is about. Channing Tatum with terrible blonde eye brows has to save Mila Kunis who’s name is Jupiter. That’s all I got. HOWEVER…the movie looks intriguing, weird, exciting, and sci fi. It has a Fifth Element vibe which could be a good thing…

 

8. Edge of Tomorrow

hr_Edge_of_Tomorrow_8
Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yUmSVcttXnI
I’m a Tom Cruise fan, okay? He just does action SO WELL even if he is crazy. The concept reminds me of a much grander scale / more sci-fi version of Ground Hog Day and Source Code, which isn’t a bad thing as I loved them both.

 

7. A Million Ways to Die in the West

A-Million-Ways-to-Die-in-the-West-1393578915
Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CXxqG4aqwY4
I don’t know what it is about Seth McFarlane, but I can’t resist him. This movie just looks like fun and that’s what I like in a movie. You don’t need to take it seriously, you just see a movie like this for some good and dirty fun.

 

6. The Dawn of the Planet of the Apes

Dawn-of-the-Planet-of-the-Apes
Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v0wP5ZkaUGg
Forget the fact that the trailer looks amazing, forget the fact that the first movie was fantastic, this movie is going to be GOOD. The stakes are higher in this movie. It’s not aliens attacking, it’s not monsters, it’s not Transformers, it’s Apes, trying to take over the world. I love it.

 

5. The Fault In Our Stars

fault-in-our-stars-landscape-poster
Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lIjVrin7FUQ
This book may be in one of my Top 5 Books of all time (Also on that list: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows and It by Stephen King). The casting choices and the first trailer made me skeptical, but with this new trailer I think I’m sold. This is a movie you watch by yourself, in an ultra dark theater, so you can sob in peace. It’s going to be BRUTAL and I can’t wait.

 

4. X-Men: Days of Future Past

X-Men-Days-of-Future-Past-banner
Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gsjtg7m1MMM
How I feel about this movie would probably be similar to how I’d feel about an Avengers and Spiderman Vs. X-Men Movie. (Okay, that’s a lie, I’d be speechless if this actually happened with the current cast.) That being said, Bryan Singers plan to meld the “past” X-Men with the “present” or I guess “future” X-Men is PURE genius. Only because the original cast is so fantastic. As great as James McAvoy is…Patrick Stewart is Professor X. I mean really. (I just hope James Marsden somehow makes an appearance in this, though it’s not likely.)

 

3. The Amazing Spider-Man 2

The-Amazing-Spider-Man-2
Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nbp3Ra3Yp74
This is the movie where Andrew Garfield gets to break out of Tobey Maguire’s shadow. The first movie was too similar to the first/original Spiderman. So in this movie we get some new characters, some new plots, and some new action scenes (minus the whole Harry Osborne thing.) I’m excited to see Jamie Foxx as a villain and I’m excited to see more depth in our characters. Plus, I love Emma Stone.

 

2. The Guardians of the Galaxy


guardians_poster_via_marvel

Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ptUu7_j0JFE
One of the things I’ve always loved about Marvel Movies (vs. DC movies) is that they take a lighter approach when telling their stories. Sure the characters can be dark, and have dark paths, and make dark choices, but there are also comical even hilarious moments to lighten the mood and make it fun instead of well…dark. The first trailer to TGOTG demonstrates this. It’s frickin’ hilarious. I can’t wait to see how they incorporate strange characters into the MCU.

 

1. Godzilla

Godzilla 2014 Teaser Trailer Poster New Godzilla Poster: Welcome to Monster City

Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=64c6VLNJQiE
Ok, so I know this is a strange choice for #1, but as I’ve said before I am a SUCKER for alien/monster/disaster movies. Cloverfield, Pacific Rim, Independence Day, War Of The Words, Battle: Los Angeles…I eat this stuff up. And I don’t know if it’s the marketing or the way they laid out the trailer but it looks terrifying. And I love it. Words cannot express excited I am to see this film and I hope they do it right.

 

 

What films are you looking forward to this summer?

 

 

Riddle me this...

