A Look Back: Veronica Mars, Season 2

Posted: March 12, 2014 in A Look Back, TV
Tags:

You’ve read my most memorable episodes of Season One, now here are some favorites from Season 2. Season two definitely had more powerful and emotional episodes but also had great moments within each episode that I think about from time to time. Check them out, yo!

“Nobody Puts Baby In A Corner”, Season 2
Personally I think this may be one of the best episodes of the season. Veronica and Duncan discover Meg was keeping a secret about a kid she babysits possibly being abused. They go on a hunt for the kid. Each kid has their own sets of issues but the worst by far is Meg’s sister who gets locked in a small closet. The best moment of the show, when Lamb actually shows his goodness by revealing he too has been a victim of abuse. He lets Veronica and Duncan go, then parks outsides Meg’s parent’s. The music combined with the chilling shot of the cop car keeping an eye on the house is nothing short of fantastic.

“Donut Run,” Season 2
This is the episode where Duncan escapes with his daughter. The thing that sticks most with me about this episode is a review I read (it may have been in Entertainment Weekly) stating that while Veronica left her father in the dark about her actions, she also left that audience in the dark. And as a narrator it was a little inconsistent. No matter that it also had some great moments: their staged break-up at school, Lamb going head to head with the FBI (Lucy Lawless!), Veronica’s dad covering her, the reveal of how Duncan got away. It was all so compellingly fantastic.

“Ain’t No Magic Mountain High Enough,” Season 2
The school has a festival, Jackie is a pariah, and Veronica tracks down who stole the festival money. The best part of the episode is when the true criminal is reveal. The interaction between Veronica, Jackie, her teacher, Madison, and the principal is nothing short of freakin’ hilarious.

“Look Who’s Stalking,” Season 2
A lot happened in this episode, especially with the whole Veronica hunting for the person who’s stalking Gia’s family, but this episode is truly all about the alterna-prom. Having our favorite cast members, who of course all hate each other crammed into a small elevator is so perfect I can’t even tell you. Top that off with a truly “epic” moment between Veronica and Logan this episode is such a keeper. Also epic?  That moment Veronica shows a rare glimpse of vulnerability in front of Logan.

“Not Pictured,” Season 2 Finale
This one should have been called Leave it to Beaver…The most memorable part was the ending, where Beaver, I mean Cassidy tortures Veronica. That moment where Veronica believes she watched Cassidy kill her father is truly heartbreaking. But nothing will prepare you for what Cassidy does once he realizes he has nothing left to lose. Also, LoVe Forever.

Memorable Season 2 Quotes

Keith: What’s up, honey?
Veronica: Wallace is having a little trouble giving me a urine sample.
Keith: Can’t you talk on the phone and paint your nails like other girls?

Weevil: Look, should I be expecting a visit from Lamb? If I know I’m being brought in, I’ll put on my good underwear, you know?
Veronica: You should really do that anyway.

Ms. Hauser: What wonderful mountains, Madison!
Madison: Thank you, Mrs. Hauser!
Veronica: Oh, Madison, you have a little… [Rubs her own nose]
Madison: What? Brown? Because I’m a brown-noser? [Sarcastically]
Veronica: No. Glitter. Because you’re a fairy princess!

Veronica: Okay, I’m Veronica. I’m from Neptune. And I once shot a man in Reno just to watch him die.
Dean: Oh, how’d that go?
Veronica: It was a bit of a letdown.

Logan: Ah, you have that ‘I’d-rather-be-making-out-with-a-broken-bottle’ look. Which if history serves, means you’re about to say something awkward.
Veronica: This? This is my ‘I’d-rather-be-spelunking’ look. It’s like you don’t know me at all.

Logan: I thought our story was epic, you know? You and me.

Mac: Don’t distract me, I’m plotting how to kill you and make it look like an accident.

Keith: Did you watch House of Wax again? You know that Hilton girl gives you nightmares.

Gia: Wow, how Mission Impossible! I feel like at any moment, Tom Cruise is going to dangle from the ceiling on cables.
Veronica: Great. Now I won’t be able to sleep. I hope he doesn’t try to marry me.

Veronica: “A PONY!?”

 

 

Riddle me this...

