A Look Back: Veronica Mars, Season 1

Posted: March 9, 2014 in A Look Back
Tags:

Veronica Mars the movie opens this Friday and frankly I can’t wait. I loved the TV Series, even if Veronica the College Years wasn’t as interesting as Season 1 and 2. When I heard Veronica Mars was being funded on Kickstarter I knew the movie was going to be epic. I mean if the creators and writers are this excited to make a movie than it has to be good right? So before it comes out I’ve been playing catch up on the series. Here are my favorite episodes, quotes, and random thoughts for Season One.

Most Memorable Episodes

“Like A Virgin”, Season One
Nothing says high school more than filling out a purity quiz then having it released to the entire school. My high school had a slam book. Once that got out, well let’s just say it wasn’t pretty. But that’s probably why I liked this episode so much, it felt real. Veronica went on the search to clear up her friend Meg’s good name with no real regard for her own reputation.

“Ruskie Business”, Season One
The actual plot to this episode was particularly memorable for me. How creepy is it that someone would use a private detective service to find someone in witness protection program so they can kill them. I mean it must happen all the time but it’s creepy and it also showed just how reckless Veronica can be. Sometimes father does know best, honey.

“Weapons of Class Destruction”, Season One
Most memorable thing about it? Hello Jonathan Taylor Thomas. Any girl between the ages of 25-35 should know who JTT is. It doesn’t even matter that he doesn’t make for a believable FBI agent, he’s JTT he can be whoever he wants to be. He even trumped the 2nd most memorable thing about this episode. That hot hot HOT kiss between rivals Veronica and Logan. There’s something about the “turn-away-then-pull-them-back” move that’s just SUPER hot.

“A Trip To The Dentist”, Season One
While this is the episode where Logan’s friends find out he’s dating Veronica and she digs further into finding out who raped her that’s not what I remember most about this episode. What I remember most is Veronica parking outside Wallace’s house even though they’ve been fighting.  When he approaches her outside, she bursts into tears a rare form of vulnerability. Then she finally lets him inside her head…and into the Lily Kane murder evidence she’s been collecting since her friend’s death.

“Leave It To Beaver”, Season One Finale
This finale was super stressful, but also probably one of the best episodes of the entire series. It both thrilling and creepy at the same time, especially that ending. Aaron Echols hides in the back of Veronica’s car and she in turn chooses to crash her car into a tree rather than be taken hostage or even killed by Aaron’s hand. What ensues after the crash is nothing short of crazy. And it’s Just. So. Good.

 

vmars

Memorable Quotes from Season One

Wallace: I suddenly feel like I’m in a scene from The Outsiders.
Veronica: Be cool, Sodapop.

Veronica: I printed out the entire browser history from Logan Echolls’s computer in his fourth period computer lab class.
Wallace: So is he guilty?
Veronica: Well, of wanting desperately to see pictures of Alyssa Milano naked, yes.

Veronica: The hero is the one that stays and the villain is the one that splits.

Veronica:[to Troy, about Logan] Uh, your monkey’s gonna have to ride in the back.
Logan: Ha ha. Nice car. God, it must’ve been a huge cereal box.

Clemmons: Mr. Echolls, I was wondering if I could have a word?
Logan: “Anthropomorphic.” All yours, big guy.
Clemmons: Oh. [fake laugh] Your father has generously offered to donate a pair of boots for our school fundraising auction.
Logan: Not the ones made for walking? God, I love those boots.

Veronica: Am I naked? Because in my nightmares, I’m usually naked.

Veronica: Can you do me a weird favor without asking any questions?
Wallace: Isn’t that the bedrock upon which our friendship was founded?

 

What are some of your favorite moments and quotes from VMars Season 1? Favorites and Memorables from Season 2 to come.

 

 

Riddle me this...

