I wasn’t really excited to see I, Frankenstein. It just didn’t appeal to me. Turns out my instincts were right. The movie wasn’t terrible, but then again it’s not that great.

 

I, Frankenstein
Directed By: Stuart Beattie
Starring: Aaron Eckhart, Bill Nighy, Yvonne Strahovski, Miranda Otto, Jai Courtney, Socratis Otto, Caitlin Stasey

Premise: Based on a graphic novel, Frankenstein’s creation, Adam, finds himself in the middle of a war between vigilante gargoyles and power hungry demons who want to use Adam to create an army to take over the world. As Adam struggles to uncover his backstory, his very existence jeopardizes everything the gargoyles have been fighting to protect the earth from.

 

What I didn’t like about I, Frankenstein

There was a lot of exposition: I mean A LOT: Long winded speeches, explaining plot points, and explaining past mythology. It was too much to take in, my mind started to wander. Why did the only female gargoyle have to die? Why does Adam look like he’s about to go work out or go for a long jog? How long did Aaron Eckhart have to spend in make-up each day? Speaking of which…

The Make Up: Maybe it was because I JUST watched an episode of Face Off before I watched the movie, but the gargoyles and demons were looked terrible. It was either too much CGI, or to many prosthetics that looked like face masks. Maybe terrible isn’t the right word. Just distracting. Also distracting?

Aaron Eckhart: I’m just not a fan of him. He likes to growl out his lines and he’s not at all intimidating. He was the WRONG person to play Frankenstein’s monster, Adam. He’s a good action star, I guess, but he had one expression the whole time. And I wish he looked more like this (also named Adam), rather than just a guy with some major scars. I understand what they were going for, but I like gritty and instead…

The movie was too glamorous: The director missed a great opportunity to go a creepier route. Instead, I feel like they were trying to go the “shiny object route.” Look how cool we are. Look how good looking and muscly our male actors are. Look how clever we are with the “ascending” and “descending”. Look how the gargoyles morph into humans, look how well Eckhart can fight, look how pretty yet down to earth Yvonne Strahovski is. It was more about tricks and gimmicks rather than…

Character development: There was none. I didn’t feel a connection to any of the characters, I can’t even tell you any of their names but Adam’s.

 

I like brainless fun movies (see Transformers, Fast and Furious Series, etc), and while the movie was entertaining, it was a step below brainless fun. I definitely didn’t need to pay to see this movie it was something that could be seen at home. There was just no substance.

Rating: C- 

Comments
  1. I like the way you divide up your review. I disliked this movie for mostly the same reasons as you did.

  2. Gene says:

    My knee-jerk reaction to this was Underworld meets Constantine. I liked both of those, but this one just seems like too much and nothing new. Sounds like I’ll wait for a redbox rental 🙂 Thanks for the insights.

Riddle me this...

