2014 SAG AWARDS: My Thoughts

Posted: January 18, 2014 in award season, just because I can, movies, TV

My Random Ranty Stream Of Consciousness Thoughts
(in show order)

  • Sandra Bullock’s dress is gorgeous
  • I love the waiter asking Rob Lowe for something just as he’s supposed to give his opening line “I’m an actor”
  • I’m totally confused by Kaley Cuoco’s make up. Looks black upon first glance. Then blue when she blinks and it doesn’t match her outfit.
  • Mariah Carey is having a good time.
  • James Marsden is ridiculously good-looking.
  • Lupita Nyong’o won! (for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Motion Picture) That’s a shocker. I thought for sure J. Law would win. That being said she that dress looks amazing against her skin.
  • I love the color of Amy Adams’ dress. It’s so rich!
  • Jared Leto’s speech (for winning Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Motion Picture) has gotten so much better from the Golden Globes. Plus thanking your Mom is always classy.
  • Julie Bowen’s earrings are fabulous. Where can I get them?
  • Julia Louis-Dreyfus (Outstanding Actress in a Comedy Series) always gives such entertaining (and hilarious) “speeches”. Didn’t last year Tony Hale came up with her holding her purse?
  • Helen Mirren (winning for Outstanding Actress in a TV movie or Mini-Series) is so classy and gracious and gives Elizabeth Moss a round of applause. Then she says this: “I don’t feel at all SAG-gy, I feel quite perky.” She’s amazing.
  • Emma Thompson (about the jazzy music that plays when people walk out on stage): “Is this music avaible on CD at all?” Love her.
  • What is going on with Ewan McGregor’s hair? I don’t like it.
  • I love Michael Douglas’ love for Matt Damon, “I am not here without Matt Damon.”
  • Love the entire crowd being so still and quite while Rita Moreno was singing. LOVE Julia Robert’s eyes tearing up.
  • Nice action shot of those seat fillers at work. How can I get one of those jobs? And where do you go if there are no empty seats? And how much do you get paid?
  • Matthew McConaughey (winning for Outstanding Actor in a Leading Role) really makes me believe that he really loves to act. He’s just so excited. Working in the entertainment business and seeing the gritty side to the work, I sometimes forget that there are actors out there who really do love to act.
  • And MM is now off on a tangent, what is he talking about? I’m lost…and I’ve stopped paying attention.
  • I’m can’t believe that Amy Adams wasn’t given a Best Actress nomination.
  • First of all, what is Cate Blanchett (winning for Outstanding Actress in a Leading Role) wearing? Secondly, how come there’s no love for Sandra Bullock? Third, LOVE LOVE Cate calling Matthew McConaughey out on his long, and rambling speech. “25 seconds? Matthew McConaughey talked about Neptune, I can have 5 seconds.”
  • Cate also just stroked her naked man trophy provocatively and I don’t think she realized she was doing it, but the audience sure got a kick out of it.
  • Cate: “Sally I’m very lonely up here without you. This award is half yours. The penis part.” Maybe she did know she was stroking it…
  • American Hustle wins for best acting ensemble for a motion picture. I have to say there were some fantastic performances in this movie. Terrible movie – ok, not terrible just not very good – but the performances were hands down outstanding.
  • Cuba Gooding Jr bum rushing the stage (and Ben Affleck) yelling “Happy MLK!” was super super awkward.

 

That’s all folks!

Did you watch the SAG Awards? What did you think?

 

 

Riddle me this...

