I was pleasantly surprised by a lot of the Golden Globe wins. Most of my favorites won, which is always exciting.  Below are the winners and my thoughts about their win. Check back later for my favorite moments from the Golden Globes. There were SO. MANY.

 

2014 GOLDEN GLOBES: WINNERS & MY THOUGHTS

MOTION PICTURES

Best Drama
Winner: 12 Years A Slave
Other Nominees: Captain Phillips | Gravity | Philomena | Rush
My Thoughts: Though to me, 12 Years A Slave as the winner over Gravity is a surprise, I shouldn’t be surprised. It’s a great film, I just liked Gravity better.

 

Best Musical/Comedy
Winner: American Hustle
Other Nominees: Her | Inside Lleweyn Davis | Nebraska | The Wolf of Wall Street
My Thoughts: This is a strange, strange category calling all these movies a musical or a comedy is a stretch. Since the majority of their actors cleaned up the win so at this point it was a given. While all the actors merit a win. The movie as a whole…not so sure. Also, what was up with that speech?

 
Best Director
Winner: Alfonso Cuaron, Gravity
Other Nominees: Paul Greengrass, Captain Phillips | Steve McQueen, 12 Years A Slave | Alexander Payne, Nebraska | David O. Russell, American Hustle
My Thoughts:  I’m so glad Alfonso Cuaron won. His speech was delightful, and it’s a deserved in.

 

Best Actress in a Drama
Winner: Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine
Other Nominees: Sandra Bullock, Gravity | Judi Dench, Philomena | Emma Thompson, Saving Mr. Banks | Kate Winslet, Labor Day
My Thoughts: I have to say I was really surprised about Cate’s win. Again, I was SO sure that Sandy would win. Blue Jasmine is not a good film. Cate gave a fantastic performance, but the character itself was SO one note it didn’t give her much depth to work with. Let’s hope the Oscars give Sandy some love.

 

Best Actor in a Drama
Winner: Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyer’s Club
Other Nominees: Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave | Idris Elba, Mandella: Long Walk to Freedom | Tom Hanks, Captain Phillips |  Robert Redford, All is Lost
My Thoughts: I’m so glad Matthew McConaughey’s work is finally being recognized and I hope the academy does it too. He was fantastic as Ron Woodward in The Dallas Buyers Club. And come on, ever since How To Lose A Guy in 10 Days you know he holds a special place in all our hearts.

 

Best Actor in a Musical or Comedy
Winner: Leonardo DiCaprio, The Wolf of Wall Street
Other Nominees: Christian Bale, American Hustle | Bruce Dern, Nebraska | Oscar Isaac, Inside Llewyn Davis | Joaquin Phoenix, Her
My Thoughts: FINALLY LEO! I am so happy about this. Okay, so I know I said I wanted Joaquin Phoenix to win, but seeing Leo FINALLY WIN (He should have won for Django) was just so, so satisfying. Him winning anything is a A LONG time coming. He so deserves it as well. His past few movies have been incredible. Yay!

 

Best Actress in a Musical or Comedy
The Winner: Amy Adams, American Hustle
Other Nominees: Judy Delpy, Before Midnight | Greta Gerwig, Frances Ha | Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Enough Said | Meryl Streep,  August: Osage County
My Thoughts: Another YAY for Amy Adams. I’m so glad she won. She’s so classy and she was great in American Hustle.

 

Best Supporting Actress
The Winner: Jennifer Lawrence, American Hustle
Other Nominees: Sally Hawkins, Blue Jasmine | Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years A Slave, | Julia Roberts, August: Osage County | June Squibb, Nebraska
My Thoughts: I don’t know why I was so surprised by Jennifer’s win as she was electric in American Hustle (and I wanted her to win too!) I just assumed Julia Roberts would take it. That being said Jen’s speech was actually totally composed and she still managed to be herself and make us all laugh. I also LOVE LOVE seeing Nick Hoult there.

 

Best Supporting Actor
The Winner: Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club
Other Nominees: Barkhad Abdi, Captain Phillips | Daniel Bruhl, Rush | Bradley Cooper, American Hustle | Michael Fassbender, 12 Years a Slave
My Thoughts: Jordan Catalano for the win! Glad he won even if he’s definitely an odd-ball. Rayon is fabulous and what he did to morph into her is absolutely incredible.

 

Best Screenplay
The Winner: Spike Jonze, Her
Other Nominees: Bob Nelson, Nebraska | Jeff Pope/Steve Coogan, Philomena | John Ridley, 12 Years A Slave | Eric Warren Singer & David O. Russell, American Hustle
My Thoughts: This was the right call. Her was superbly, delicately written. Yes, a lot of that had to do with Joaquin as well. But before great acting, you need great writing.

 

Best Animated Feature
The Winner: Frozen
Other Nominees: The Croods | Despicable Me | Frozen
My Thoughts: While I’m not in the same boat as my friends as this being one of the best Disney movies since Lion King (not including Pixar stuff), Frozen was the best out of all these choices. And a good movie to boot! While it didn’t blow me away, it does deserve the Golden Globe for that “Let It Go” song ALONE.

 



TELEVISION

Best TV Comedy or Musical
Winner: Brooklyn Nine-Nine
Other Nominees: Girls | Modern Family | Parks and Recreation | The Big Bang Theory
My Thoughts: Brooklyn Nine Nine is a TOTAL shocker. I didn’t think that many people watched the show. (I stopped watching a while ago, not because it wasn’t funny, it just didn’t hook me.) That being said it’s always fun when a freshman series wins because they all look so excited and genuinely happy to be there.

 

Best TV Drama
Winner: Breaking Bad
Other Nominees: Downton Abbey | The Good Wife | House of Cards | Masters of Sex
My Thoughts: I SO called Breaking Bad. They had a great year. I should probably watch this show. Ha!

 

 

Best Actress in a TV Drama
Winner: Robin Wright, House of Cards
Other Nominees: Julianna Marguiles, The Good Wife | Tatiana Maslany, Orphan Black | Taylor Schilling, Orange Is the New Black | Kerry Washington, Scandal
My Thoughts: I haven’t seen House of Cards, but I want to. Congrats to soon-to-be Mrs. Ben Foster for her win.

 

Best Actress in a TV Comedy
Winner: Amy Poehler, Parks and Recreation
Other Nominees: Zooey Deschanel, New Girl | Lena Dunham, Girls | Edie Falco, Nurse Jackie | Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Veep
My Thoughts: It’s always fun to see an actor win while hosting, but Amy has set the bar high. First, by getting a boxing-like massage while nomination is read, then MAKING OUT with Bono when her win is announced . Amazing. And she was so surprised. Most of the time, I love it when they are surprised because their speeches are so interesting.

 

Best Actor in a TV Drama
Winner: Bryan Cranston, Breaking Bad
Other Nominees: Liev Schrieber, Ray Donovan | Michael Sheen, Masters of Sex | Kevin Spacey, House of Cards | James Spader, The Blacklist
My Thoughts: Never having seen an episode of Breaking Bad, I have to say…Bryan Cranston, love that guy.

 

 

Best Actor in a TV Comedy
Winner: Andy Samberg, Brooklyn Nine-Nine
Other Nominees: Jason Bateman, Arrested Development | Don Cheadle, House of Lies | Michael J. Fox, The Michael J. Fox Show | Jim Parsons, The Big Bang Theory
My Thoughts: Again, Andy Samberg, SHOCKER. That being said his speech, while unplanned was adorable. Love him putting “my team” in air quotes. Also loved seeing Seth and Amy so nerdily happy for his nomination and win. I always love seeing actors who genuinely like each other tease each other.

 

For a full list of the nominees and winners click here. Were you surprised by anything? Check soon for my Top Moments from the Golden Globes.

 

 

Riddle me this...

