2014 Golden Globes: My Thoughts

Posted: January 13, 2014 in award season, Movie Reviews 2013, movies

The 2014 Golden Globes were probably some of the funniest in a long time. Everyone was in a happy mood and there were some genuine surprises. Below are my Top 5 moments, screen caps, favorite quotes, and random thoughts. Enjoy!

 

golden_globes_logo
Top 5 Noteworthy Moments of the 2014 Golden Globes

* Tina and Amy: They were on their game tonight. First, Tina looked GOREGOUS. Seriously, I’m pretty sure Tina Fey is getting younger. Second, there were so many great zingers. (See below) So many great quotes. This led too…

* The Crowd: Which overall was happy, and playful, and quirky. More so then I remember from any ceremony in a while. The joked with each other, they ran to the stage to get their awards (mainly because it was such a hike). They all just seemed happy to be there, or incredibly incredibly sloshed. Maybe it’s the latter. While it led to some great screen caps (more on that later). This also made for some…

* Crazy and Weird Speeches: Seriously there were so many crazy speeches this year. It seems as if everyone got SLOSHED early. The craziest two were definitely Alex Ebert’s (Best Original Score, All is Lost) and Jacqueline Bisset (Best Supporting Actress in a series, mini-series or TV movie for “Dancing on the Edge”) Seriously, I still have no idea what she was trying to say. It was…awkward…and uncomfortable…But for every crazy speech, there was also…

* Great Presentations: For instance, Emma Thompson. She comes to the stage heels off, martini straight up, just fantastic. “Where’s the envelope!” Thank goodness she held on to that martini (I would have thrown the shoes too.) And the thing about this is planned or unplanned (it was planned), it just made for some great TV. Also great TV? When…

* My Favorites take the Win: Jennifer Lawrence, Amy Adams, Jordan Catalano Jared Leto, Leonardo DiCaprio all took home awards. And I was surprised that so many people I wanted to win, did so. At least in the movies category. There were some shockers and some disappointments, but overall the HFP got a lot right.

My 8 Favorite Quotes:

8. Emma Thompson: (Holding up her shoes) “I just want you to know…this red…is my blood…Where’s the envelope?”

7. Tina: “This was the beautiful mess we hoped it would be.” Amy: “And I got to make out with Bono.”

6. Tina: “Although I hear Amy’s a little difficult to work with.” Amy: “Oh yeah she’s a straight up bitch.”

5. Jim Carey: “Dying is easy, Comedy is hard. I believe it was Shia LaBoeuf who said that.”

4. “Matt , on any other night in another room, you would be a big deal. But tonight, and don’t take this the wrong way, you’re basically a garbage person.”

3. “The Wolf of Wall Street is a big nominee tonight. I really love the film but some of it was too graphic. I mean if I wanted to see Jonah Hill masturbate at a pool party, I’d go to one of Jonah Hills Pool parties.”

2.  “And now, like a supermodel’s vagina, let’s all give a warm welcome to Leonardo DiCaprio.”

And my favorite quote:

“Gravity is nominated for best film. It’s the story of how George Clooney would rather float away into space and die then spend one more minute with a woman his own age.”

 

Favorite Screen Grabs

IMG_5005

Probably one of my favorite interactions of the night. Well played Julia. Well played.

IMG_5006

She obviously had no idea what was going on, which makes this gag even funnier.

IMG_5008

Drink in one hand, award in the other. That’s mind kind of girl. Plus, I want her jewelry.

IMG_5011

So funny. And Mr. Weinstien was a good sport.

IMG_5012

This picture speaks a thousand words, but I have just three: Best. Picture. Ever.

IMG_5014

Sure, if you want to make out with Bono, being announced a Golden Glob winner is the time to do it. You go, Amy!


IMG_5015

Martin Scorcese really loved that Leonardo Dicaprio joke.

Other Random Ranty Thoughts:
  • What was Paula Patton wearing?
  • Where was Woody Allen?
  • Why the heck was Taylor Swift there?
  • I’m glad Leo was a good sport.
  • What is wrong with Monica Potter’s face?
  • Did Jared Leto just say “bubble butt” in his acceptance speech?
  • Martin Scorcese is really happy to be there.
  • Is this the most random exchange ever? Upon accepting his award, Alex Ebert had this exchange with P-Diddy.
    Alex: (to P-Diddy) “Do you remember me?”
    P-Diddy: “Yeah…(to the crowd) He was on a boat with me partying in St. Barthes.”
    Alex: “He came up from behind me and unbuttoned my jacket and said let it flow!”

 

What were some of your favorite moments of this years awards? Who was robbed? What didn’t you like about the awards? Check out my thoughts on the winners

 

 

 

Comments
  1. linda lu says:

    loved this… weren’t Amy and Tina awesome?!! Taylor Swift was there because she wrote a song that was nominated. But why was P. Diddy there? He keeps trying to stay relevant… at least he provided some comic relief!

Riddle me this...

