2014 Golden Globes: My Predictions

Posted: January 10, 2014 in award season, movies, TV
Tags:

Award season is upon us and first up is the Golden Globes, okay, so technically was the  People’s Choice Awards, but come on, you know you’re waiting for Tina Fey and Amy Poehler to rock it. Who will win? Who will be robbed? How will the ladies perform? How come the Golden Globe statue isn’t an actual golden globe? Hopefully most of these questions will be answered on January 12. Until then, here are the nominations and my predictions and also my thoughts on who’d I’d like to win:

golden_globes_logo

MOTION PICTURES NOMINATIONS

Best Drama
12 Years A Slave | Captain Phillips | Gravity | Philomena | Rush

My Prediction: Gravity. Hands. Down. Gravity. In my opinion it blows all these other movies out of the water and will also win the Oscar. Compelling story, fantastic visuals, incredible acting. I want it to win, it should win, and it will win.

Best Musical/Comedy
American Hustle | Her | Inside Lleweyn Davis | Nebraska | The Wolf of Wall Street

My Prediction: American Hustle – Ok, so I haven’t seen Inside Lleweyn Davis or Nebraska, but the way it seems to be the critical darling, it will win. Though the story isn’t fantastic the acting is great.

Best Director
Alfonso Cuaron, Gravity | Paul Greengrass, Captain Phillips | Steve McQueen, 12 Years A Slave | Alexander Payne, Nebraska | David O. Russell, American Hustle

My Prediction: I want Gravity to win. In seeing behind the scenes footage the visual and technical triumphs they accomplished to get this movie done is nothing short of brilliant. I’m not 100% it will win. I think it’ll be between Alfonso Cuaron and Steve McQueen.

Best Actress in a Drama
Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine | Sandra Bullock, Gravity | Judi Dench, Philomena | Emma Thompson, Saving Mr. Banks | Kate Winslet, Labor Day

My Prediction: Um, hello. Sandy, for the win!

Best Actor in a Drama
Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave | Idris Elba, Mandella: Long Walk to Freedom | Tom Hanks, Captain Phillips | Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyer’s Club | Robert Redford, All is Lost

My Prediction: I can’t decide between Chiwetel Ejiofor and Matthew McConaughey. Okay so I haven’t seen Dallas Buyer’s Club yet…soon. But MM has been doing some fantastic work and it’s time he gets a win. Plus I heard DBC is fantastic. That being said Ejiofor was subtle and powerful in 12 Years a Slave and deserves to be recognized for it.

Best Actor in a Musical or Comedy
Christian Bale, American Hustle | Bruce Dern, Nebraska | Leonardo Di Caprio, The Wolf of Wall Street | Oscar Isaac, Inside Llewyn Davis | Joaquin Phoenix, Her

My Prediction: I would like Joaquin Phoenix to win. Though I think his performance was better in The Master due to the kind of content, his performance in Her was extremely layered and movie, that being said, I think Christian Bale will win.

Best Actress in a Musical or Comedy
Amy Adams, American Hustle | Judy Delpy, Before Midnight | Greta Gerwig, Frances Ha | Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Enough Said | Meryl Streep, August: Osage County

My Prediction: I want Amy Adams to win and she should win, but the award types love Meryl so she could easily snatch it up from Adams grasp. Not that Meryl wouldn’t deserve it because she was the best thing to come out of August: Osage County.

Best Supporting Actress
Sally Hawkins, Blue Jasmine | Jennifer Lawrence, American Hustle, | Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years A Slave, | Julia Roberts, August: Osage County | June Squibb, Nebraska

My Prediction: I want Jennifer Lawrence to win, but Julia Roberts has been cleaning it up in the media. It could go either way for the win.

Best Supporting Actor
Barkhad Abdi, Captain Phillips | Daniel Bruhl, Rush | Bradley Cooper, American Hustle | Michael Fassbender, 12 Years a Slave | Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club

My Prediction: Again, I haven’t seen Dallas Buyers Club, but I’ve been hearing great things about Jared Leto. Newcomer Barkhad Abdi’s performance in Captain Phillips was definitely a performance to watch, but I feel like he doesn’t have much support behind him.

Best Screenplay
Spike Jonze, Her | Bob Nelson, Nebraska | Jeff Pope/Steve Coogan, Philomena | John Ridley, 12 Years A Slave | Eric Warren Singer & David O. Russell, American Hustle

My Prediction: Spike Jonze for Her. It’s a fantastic Script. Original. Has all the makings for an Academy win. American Hustle and Philomena were poorly written and 12 Years A Slave was adapted.

Best Animated Feature
The Croods | Despicable Me | Frozen

My Prediction: Frozen, out of the three choices, Frozen is clearly the best.

 



TELEVISION NOMINATIONS

Best TV Comedy or Musical
Girls | Modern Family | Parks and Recreation | The Big Bang Theory | Brooklyn Nine-Nine

My Prediction: Modern Family will win. Yawn. Okay, so I haven’t actually seen the show, but it’s won every other time, so might as well continue to win. I’d love to see Big Bang Theory win.

Best TV Drama
Breaking Bad | Downton Abbey | The Good Wife | House of Cards | Masters of Sex

My Prediction: Breaking Bad. Even though the only show I watch on this list is Masters of Sex, I can’t go to any site without hearing about how great the finale of Breaking Bad was. That being said, where is the nomination for Game of Thrones?

Best Actress in a TV Drama
Julianna Marguiles, The Good Wife | Tatiana Maslany, Orphan Black | Taylor Schilling, Orange Is the New Black | Kerry Washington, Scandal | Robin Wright, House of Cards

My Prediction: I’m partial to Kerry Washington or Tatiana Maslany (I love Orphan Black!) so I’d be happy if either of them win. That being said, I think Kerry will take it.

Best Actress in a TV Comedy
Zooey Deschanel, New Girl | Lena Dunham, Girls | Edie Falco, Nurse Jackie | Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Veep | Amy Poehler, Parks and Recreation

My Prediction: I haven’t seen any of these shows except for New Girl, but I have a feeling Julia Louis-Dreyfus is going to take home the Golden Globe.

Best Actor in a TV Drama
Bryan Cranston, Breaking Bad | Liev Schrieber, Ray Donovan | Michael Sheen, Masters of Sex | Kevin Spacey, House of Cards | James Spader, The Blacklist

My Prediction: While all of these guys are great contenders, I’d love to see James Spader win. He’s just so good in The Blacklist, however I have a feeling it’ll be one of the cable guys. Maybe Liev…

Best Actor in a TV Comedy
Jason Bateman, Arrested Development | Don Cheadle, House of Lies | Michael J. Fox, The Michael J. Fox Show | Jim Parsons, The Big Bang Theory | Andy Samberg, Brooklyn Nine-Nine

My Prediction: Jim Parsons has been cleaning it up the past seasons and he does some great work. I think he’ll take it and should take it. But Michael J. Fox could be a dark horse.

 

For a full list of the nominations click here. The above are just my predictions on the categories I know the most about and care the most about. Check back on Sunday or Monday for my review of the Golden Globes and the winners.

 

 

 

Riddle me this...

