With the New Year comes a new round of films to love or hate but most definitely judge. There are many, many sequels and superhero movies coming out, a ton of action movies, and many movies based on YA novels. Frankly, I’m excited for them all.

Check out the 11 films I’m most looking forward to..11 because I couldn’t pick just 10.
(In No Particular Order)

 

Veronica Mars
Veronica Mars is one of those cult favorites. A show people always reference, or go back to when talking about great shows. It was snarky, clever, funny, and compelling at the same time. Unfortunately it ended on a cliffhanger at the end of its 3rd season leaving all of us hanging. I was so pleased to hear that the film was getting funded off of Kickstarter and that much of the original cast is coming back. I’m excited to see what Veronica has been up to. Plus, the teen girl inside me says Veronica + Logan forever.

 

Into-the-Woods-Movie-Meryl-Streep-as-the-Witch

Into The Woods
Into The Woods is my FAVORITE musical. I have the Original Broadway Production on DVD with Bernadette Peters playing the PERFECT Witch. But if anyone had to take her place, I’m glad that person is Meryl Streep, because seriously Meryl can do no wrong. Add in Anna Kendrick as Cinderella, Johnny Depp as The Wolf, Chris Pine as Charming, and Emily Blunt as the Baker’s Wife? Hurry up and get here MOVIE. Let’s just hope they do my favorite song from the movie justice: “Giants In The Sky”

 

The_Maze_Runner_13734231234328

Maze Runner
The first Maze Runner book is outstanding. So I’m excited to see how the film adaptation will go. Dylan O’Brien has been perfectly cast as Thomas and I’m glad majority of the cast is not that well known. (I know most of the cast only because I watch EVERYTHING). This could also be good because it doesn’t have a love triangle or even romance in the first movie, so that’s always promising.

 

Divergent
Another YA Novel adapted into a movie. This one is a little more complicated and could potentially be a disaster, especially since the romance plays a bigger role than it doesn’t in Maze Runner, or even The Hunger Games. That being said Tobias (Theo James) is perfectly cast, and Shailene Woodley isn’t so shabby either. Toss in Kate Winslet and I’m SOLD.

 

Captain America: The Winter Soldier
I know many people didn’t like the first film, but I did. Putting Steve Rodgers (Chris Evans) in the present time makes for a good film, especially since with S.H.I.E.L.D. I’m more immersed in that world than ever. It’ll be interesting to see Steve battle his best friend, S.H.I.E.L.D, and living in a whole new world. Oh…and then there’s this.

 

robopocalypse

Robopocalypse
I am working on reading the book, but so far, it’s really great. It’s creepy, violent, exciting, scary, and crazy and these are a few of my favorite things. I imagine this movie to be a better, scarier, I, Robot. And I liked I, Robot.

 

GOTG

Guardians of the Galaxy
The ending to Thor gave us a glimpse into the “Galaxy” and Benicio Del Toro looks absolutely insane. If the rest of this movie can be that insane and that creative with the Marvel touches of humor, action, and emotion this movie will be fantastic. And these pictures look promising.

 

X-Men Days of Future Past
I liked the original cast of the X-Men. Patrick Stewart, Ian McKellan, Shawn Ashmore, Anna Paquin, James Marsden, and so on….I also enjoy this new cast. Michael Fassbender and James McAvoy are great, so it’ll be exciting to see these two worlds converge. Even if I hear James Marsden won’t be making an appearance, I know Cyclops died in the trilogy, but technically so did Professor X.

 

OR_The-Fault-in-Our-Stars-2014-movie-Wallpaper-1280x800-1000x625

Fault In Our Stars
Another YA book I’m in love with. I know there’s no way they will do this movie justice. I felt the same way about Ender’s Game and of course it was true. This book is truly one of the greats and Hazel and Augustus are two of my favorite book characters. Personally I think Shailene Woodley is the wrong choice for Hazel. She’s too old and to over exposed for a movie like this. Especially being in Divergent. Plus this picture is all kinds of wrong. All wrong I tell you! That being said, still looking forward to seeing one of my favorite books come to life.

 

Mockingjay

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1
Catching Fire had the perfect blend action, emotion, and humor without being too dark and gloomy as the first one. Though the third book of the series is by far my least favorite, hopefully Francis Lawrence will make enough changes to make it a better movie (like he did with Catching Fire). And with the “cliffhanger” the second movie left us on, I can barely wait till November for the premiere.

 

Godzilla
Who doesn’t like Godzilla? I’m a sucker for alien movies and a sucker for disaster movies, so alien disaster movies are just good times. The trailers make it look like a mix between Cloverfield, Battle: Los Angeles, and Independence Day. I am SO in.

 

Other Movies That Excite Me: Labor Day, That Awkward Moment, Jack Ryan, RoboCop, Muppets Most Wanted, The Amazing Spiderman 2, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (Even though I hate Michael Bay, I LOVE TMNT), Maleficent, Edge of Tomorrow, Dawn Of The Planet OF The Apes, Transformers: Age of Extinction, Tomorrowland, Jupiter Ascending, Interstellar

What movies are you most looking forward to next year?

 

 

 

Riddle me this...

