People Choice Awards 2014: Random Thoughts

Posted: January 8, 2014 in award season, TV
Tags: , , , , , ,

Before there was Twitter, it was called “stream of consciousness” (And I thought I’d never use anything from my college lit class, thank you Joseph Conrad and Heart of Darkness). Since I am not a Twitter person. Here are my random thoughts, my stream of consciousness, written here about last night’s 2014 People Choice Awards in show order.

 

My Random Thoughts

  • Teens screamed for Ian Ziering. Do they even know who he is? Oh yeah, I forgot about Sharknado. Unless it was 30 year old women screaming for him, and that’s just scary.
  • So glad Kat Dennings and Beth Behrs did not come out in their waitress outfits.
  • Justin Timberlake is not impressed.
  • Kat Dennings looks gorgeous in that blue dress.
  • Kat: “As you can tell by now, she’s the Hathaway, I’m the Franco” – Perfect. Hilarious.
  • Sean Hayes: “And the winner for favorite movie actress…Oh thank god, this would have been such an awkward ride him, my wife…Sandra Bullock.” Adorable.
  • Sandra Bullock: “On Gravity, the nicest people would string me up and then leave me there, and I still had the nicest time.”
  • I love Jessica Albas lipstick color.
  • Pretty sure Brad Paisley was giving Justin “hater eyes.”
  • What was Bradley Cooper eating in that red cup? It looked like ice cream.
  • I can’t tell if Anna Faris’ outfit is super cute or sparkly pajamas.
  • This made me laugh. Blake: “The question people most as me is, ‘Where’s Miranda?’” Some Guy: “What do you tell them?” Blake: “Well, I usually just tell them where she is.”
  • Sara Bareilles. Ouch.
  • Drew Barrymore’s dress looks awful on her.
  • Is it weird that I can’t listen and watch Drew Barrymore without thinking of this.
  • Julianna Margulies looks amazing.
  • Can you really call Intelligence the “#1 New Show On Television” when it just premiered a day ago?
  • So…Shermar Moore (Criminal Minds) heavily flirting with a super uncomfortable Malin Akerman (who I believe is married right?) was super awkward. Even more awkward? It totally wasn’t scripted it was for real and I feel so embarrassed for him throwing himself at her. Or maybe it WAS scripted and I was just uncomfortable? “I don’t see no rings on your finger.” “Oh there’s rings.”
  • I can’t believe that was Britney Spears’ first PCA. How has she not won more? Especially with her first album? I love that the audience is giving her a standing ovation. Love hottie Stephen Amell helping her up to the stage.
  • I don’t understand Robert Downey Jr.’s wardrobe. Brown pants with a black jacket and sneakers? What?
  • I have to say I approve of all of Kat Dennings and Beth Behrs costumes changes. Classy but fun at the same time.
  • I can’t believe that Sarah Michelle Geller has never won a PCA award either! I LOVE LOVE that she mentioned Buffy The Vampire Slayer in her acceptance speech. (I still watch that show in reruns on FX).
  • And Big Bang Theory for the show win. I love BBT, but I love How I Met Your Mother more. They don’t get enough love out there.

 

Kat and Beth didn’t do that bad of a job hosting. We’ll forget the twerking. Can we just not twerk any more people ever. Awkward. Plus, she’s too old for that. But Kat had some great one liners, the girls looked fabulous and they didn’t wear out their welcome. The show as a whole was an obvious…show up and win situation, but good brainless, fastfoward during the embarrassing parts fun…if that’s the right word for it… What did you think about the PCA’s? How did Kat and Beth do as hosts? For the list of the winners: click here.

 

 

 

 

 

Riddle me this...

