The Sound Of Music, Live! Drinking Game

Posted: December 2, 2013 in TV
Tags: , ,

Okay, I admit it, I’m curious. As much as I HATE the fact they are televising a live production of this with Carrie Underwood as the lead, I am curious to see how it’s all going to play out. I love this musical. It is definitely one of my favorites and the movie is unbeatable. Julie Andrews is a marvel and every single actor, child, person in the movie knocks it out of the park. But while I get that this is a theater version, I get that this is a live, one time performance, thing, and I get that it’s not a reboot, or remake, or even a movie…but still it’s starring Carrie Underwood, seriously? Girl can be as good as a singer as anyone but that doesn’t mean she can act. You can be a fantastic singer and a lousy actor (I’m looking at you Justin Timberlake) and the fact is Sound of Music is just as much about the story and the feeling as it is the singing.

So if I’m going to hate-watch The Sound Of Music, Live! (Never forget the exclamation point), then I’m going to combine it with three of my favorite things: Alcohol, Whiskey, and Alcohol.

Thus, here is my version of:

 

The Sound Of Music, Live! Drinking Game

Take a drink…
(I suggest a sip, not a shot, or you won’t remember the next few days)

  1. Every time Carrie Underwood does something that defines “bad acting.”
  2. Every time there is a moment of over acting, or a bad line reading,
  3. Every time Carrie’s country roots come out.
  4. Every time one of the cast members destroys your memory of your favorite line. You know what I mean, “I’m incorrigible!” or “Oh, no, sir. I’m sorry, sir. I could never answer to a whistle. Whistles are for dogs and cats and other animals, but not for children and definitely not for me. It would be too… humiliating.”
  5. Anytime something over-the-top cheesy happens.
  6. Anytime a mistake happens. Line flub, camera mistake, voice crack. (Evil, but you know we all love those moments in Live! productions.)
  7. Anytime you cringe at something that has happened

Unfortunately I won’t be able to catch the show until the weekend, HOWEVER, seeing I will probably be heavily, heavily intoxicated due to this list, that’s probably a good thing. Drink along with me and let me know what you think! Check back a few days after the my random, ranty thoughts!

SOM

You can check out a Making Of here. It’s actually pretty interesting.  The Sound Of Music, Live! Premieres Thursday, Dec. 5 on NBC.

 

 

 

Riddle me this...

