Movie Review: G R A V I T Y

Posted: November 27, 2013 in movie reviews, Movie Reviews 2013, movies
Tags: , ,

[***Editor Note: This is a repost because previous files got corrupted. But if you’re like me, you can’t get enough of Sandy so enjoy! And thanks for bearing with me!]

 

G R A V I T Y
Directed By: Alfonso Cuaron
Starring: Sandra Bullock and George Clooney

gravity_ver4_xlg

I am not a fan of 3D movies. The glasses give me a headache and it is virtually impossible to watch if your hung over (I saw Monsters vs. Aliens in 3D hungover and felt so sick!), plus many movies do the obligatory “look here’s something flying at your face, we are super cool.” But I knew I needed to see this movie in 3D IMAX. A friend convinced me to see it at the new IMAX theater built in the Grauman’s Chinese Theater (now the TCL Chinese Theater) for a hefty $19 price tag. I have to say, even with a length of only 90 minutes, Gravity was worth every penny, the 3D IMAX only serving to heighten the experience instead of distract. Gravity is absolutely terrifying, completely exhilarating, and extremely stressful. Definitely one of the best movies of the year.

Premise: Medical engineer Dr. Ryan Stone has been sent to work on a space shuttle with veteran astronaut Matt Kolwasky, who is taking has last walk in space. They bounce and glide gracefully miles and miles above Earth. Stone shows inexperience through her nervousness and motion sickness, but manages to keep calm with Kolwasky’s help. That is until Houston alerts them to debris from an exploded Russian satellite coming their way and catastrophic speeds. Their shuttle is destroyed leaving Stone and Kolwasky to fend for themselves in the vast and never ending space.

 

My Review: Alfonso Cuaron is known for his long camera takes that intricately weave through seemingly impossible spaces. With Gravity, Cuaron takes this style to another level. With the help of CGI, his camera is able to do things you can’t even imagine and the result is absolutely stunning. Its movement captures the actors and the environment perfectly making each scene look like a well-choreographed dance. And with striking camera work and direction comes striking emotional work from his actors George Clooney, and the spellbinding Sandra Bullock. I am a huge fan of Sandy – yes, I can call her that because she will probably never read this – and this movie only seals that fact in my mind. Her performance in Gravity is Oscar worthy. If she isn’t nominated for an Oscar it would be a crime. She plays Stone with a good balance of candor and strength and watching her fight to survive in an insurmountable situation is completely mesmerizing.

Gravity is a film that lives up to its hype and more. You’ll find yourself dizzy from holding your breath, and your muscles sore from holding on so tight. It is a film that should not be missed and one to watch during Oscar time. Go see it already!

Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

 

Sandra-Bullock-in-film-Gravity

***WARNING  THE FOLLOWING CONTAINS SPOILERS ***

 

SPOILERS AHEAD!

 

YOU’VE BEEN WARNED!

 

Random Things I Loved About Gravity

  • I loved the shot when Stone finally makes it to the first space station. Closes the door and shimmy’s out of her astronaut gear. Then she takes a glorious breath, leans her head back and kicks her legs out serenely. Slowly her body moves into the fetal position. It’s just a gorgeous, gorgeous shot.
  • I loved all the attention to detail. There’s a moment where the camera is following her throughout a shuttle and it passes through a drop of water that is floating through the air. I love the sound the drop makes as it hits the camera and dangles from the lens. It really was beautiful.
  • Sometimes movies that center on a single character or two (like Castaway) have a tendency to become long-winded but I didn’t feel this way with this movie. It kept my attention and the sense of danger the entire time.
  • When the shrapnel came flying at the screen. I seriously thought my life was in danger and ducked. Luckily everyone around me was doing the same thing.
  • When the movie cut to black, the music kept building and building through the beginning of the end credits. Then when the title G R A V I T Y appeared the music crescendoed and cut to silence and I swear the audience collectively let out a sigh of relief and everyone said “WOW.”
  • Also, check out the other side of her conversation here. It’s really sad and apparently Oscar Worthy.

 

 

Riddle me this...

