Movie Review: The Call

Posted: March 17, 2013 in movie reviews, movies
Tags: , , , , ,

The Call was a heart racing, tense, and suspenseful movie. It was gory and brutal and smartly thought out. At times, movie was on the brink of being ridiculous but never crossed that line, that is, until the final minutes.

The Call

Starring: Halle Berry, Abigail Breslin, Michael Ecklund, Michael Imperioli, Morris Chestnut, Roma Maffia

The Call Movie Poster 2013

Premise:  A girl is murdered as a result of a 911 operator’s poor judgment and months later the event still haunts her. When she answers the call of a 16-year girl who’s is in the trunk of a movie car after being kidnapped from a local mall, she realizes there are certain demons she’ll have to face if she wants to move on.

My Review: This movie was smart. If I ever get kidnapped and locked in a trunk I now know what to do (and what not to do). It also gave me insight into the world of 911 callers a job I can without a doubt say I never, ever, want. It was also extremely traumatic and bloody, which is surprising for a film like this. I was expecting something fairly popcorny flick ala Cellular, but ventured on the thriller/horror genre ala Red Eye. It was exciting and intense and the bad guy (Michael Ecklund) genuinely gave be the heebie jeebies.

Granted the last 10 minutes weren’t very plausible as well, but I was willing to suspend my disbelief. I was willing to accept the choices some of the characters were making were completely unbelievable because it wasn’t completely outrageous (not completely).

I was thinking to myself, I could be satisfied with this ending. But then, it kept going. It was like the Lord Of The Rings: The Return of the King (only that had 4 endings). Forget that this movie was crazy intense in a good way. Forget that Halle Berry and Abigail Spencer did an incredible job. I mean the movie is freakin’ intense but physically and mentally. But forget all that, because what could have been a decent movie was completely negated by 2 minutes of stupidity.

Sometimes I don’t understand who lets mistakes like these go through. Who approved that ending?!

 

Rating: 2 ½ stars.
(1/2 star deducted for that crappy ending)

 

 

 

Comments
  1. This is the second time I’ve heard someone say that the last few minutes were ridiculous…it’s got me curious. I feel like I have to watch this now or I’ll be left in the dark.

  2. I could not agree more! Exactly my problem with this movie! I went in expecting little from it, got all excited only to be COMPLETELY let down and walked out disappointed. It was an emotional roller coaster. I’m going to watch The Three Amigos to cleanse my movie palate.

Riddle me this...

