Oscar 2013 Nominations: My Reaction

Posted: January 10, 2013 in award season, movies

Oscar Nominations were announced this morning and there are some snubs (No Oscar Nomination for Leo?) and some shockers (no Ben Affleck for Best Director?). These are my reactions to the nominations. Some good, some back, some confused…

 

 

Best Picture Nominations: Amour, Argo, Beasts Of the Southern Wild, Django Unchained, Les Miserables, Life of Pi, Lincoln, Silver Linings Playbook, Zero Dark Thirty.

My Reaction: How did The Impossible not get a Best Picture Nod! Hello! I feel like of these choices it was probably in between Beasts of the Southern Wild and The Impossible and they are very similar. Also, The Impossible is a disaster movie and the Academy doesn’t really like those. That being said, The Impossible totally got robbed. Take out Zero Dark Thirty or Beasts (because I would never watch either of those movies again) and put in The Impossible!

 

Best Actor Nominations: Bradley Cooper, Daniel Day Lewis, Hugh Jackman, Joaquin Phoenix, Denzel Washington

My Reaction: I know Daniel Day-Lewis will probably win, but I’m very glad that Bradley Cooper was nominated for his performance in Silver Linings Playbook. There were no real surprises in this category. Everyone is here who should be here.

 

Best Actress Nominations: Jessica Chastain, Jennifer Lawrence, Emmanuelle Riva, Quvenzhane Wallis, Naomi Watts

My Reaction: Again, like the best actor category, everyone who should be here is here. I have yet to see Amour, but I will take everyone’s word for it. That being said, I hope Naomi Watts wins or Jennifer Lawrence.

 

Best Supporting Actor Nominations: Alan Arkin, Robert De Niro, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Tommy Lee Jones, Christoph Waltz.

My Reaction: I like everyone in this category, but I’m disappointed Leonard DiCaprio didn’t get a nomination for Django Unchained. That being said…who would I take out of this category? Probably Alan Arkin…and that’s real hard for me to say. But Leo totally got snubbed. Glad to see Christoph got another nomination.

 

Best Supporting Actress Nominations: Amy Adams, Sally Field, Anne Hathaway, Helen Hunt, Jacki Weaver

My Reaction: Anne Hathaway will win. Nothing else really matters.

 

Best Director Nominations: Michael Haneke, Amour, Ang Lee, Life of Pi, David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook, Steven Spielberg, Lincoln, Benh Zeitlin, Beasts of the Southern Wild.

My Reaction: No Ben Affleck? Really? That’s a shocker. A big shocker! And No Tom Hooper? Another shocker. At least Ben should be up there, most definitely.

 

Best Cinematography Nominations: Seamus McGarvey, Anna Karenina, Robert Richardson, Django Unchained, Claudio Miranda, Life of Pi, Janusz Kaminski, Lincoln, Roger Deakins, Skyfall

My Reaction: I’m really happy that Robert Richardson and Roger Deakins are being recognized for their work, but Life of Pi was absolutely beautiful. I’m just saying. I thought the look of Lincoln was a little too dark and that Les Miz DP, Danny Cohen, or The Impossible DP Oscar Faura should be up there instead.

 

For a list of the rest of the nominations click here.

 

What do you think? Did the academy get it right?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
  1. knottzi says:

    I actually think that the nominations this year are the best in a long time. I’m dumb-founded that you didn’t like Beasts of the Southern Wild, but everyone has their tastes. I voted that has the best movie of the year, so I was glad that it received major nominations.

    Best Picture:
    I would take out Silver Linings Playbook and Les Miserables, and replace them with Cloud Atlas, End of Watch and Skyfall. SLP started out great, but the ending was so contrived and conventional. And the singing in Les Mis wasn’t as strong as it needed to be, weakening its effect. As for The Impossible, I agree with you that it’s one of the best movies of the year, without question. But hey, at least it didn’t go empty handed like Cloud Atlas and End of Watch.

    Best Actor:
    This is the category I have the most issues with. I would take out Hugh Jackman, Joaquin Phoenix and Bradley Cooper, who were all misdirected in my opinion. I would instead choose Suraj Sharman for Life of Pi, Michael Pena for End of Watch, and Richard Gere for Arbitrage, who all stole the show and stepped out of their element.

    Best Actress:
    The Academy got this one exactly right. These are the best actresses of the year. I will root for Riva, Wallis, or Watts.

    Best Supporting Actor:
    All of these guys are talented, but I would take out De Niro and Seymour Hoffman, who both had weak presences. Instead, I would choose Dwight Henry for Beasts and Samuel L. Jackson for Django. Jackson is being overlooked by nearly everyone talking about the Oscars, but his performance was the most daring and bravest out of everyone.

    Best Supporting Actress:
    I agree with everyone except for Amy Adams for The Master. She had zero chemistry on the screen, and only received the nomination because of her history. I would’ve rather seen Judi Dench for Skyfall or Susan Surandon for Arbitrage.

    Best Director:
    I agree that Affleck got snubbed, that is a fact. But I’m glad that Zeitlin and Haneke were recognized. If it were up to me, and it isn’t, I would trade O. Russell for Affleck. Or Tarantino.

    • I didn’t NOT like Beasts of the Southern Wild. It was good. And emotional. And gritty, but it’s not a movie I feel the need to ever really see again. I would never watch it over and over again. I also agree with what you said about SLJ. The performances were outstanding, but the script and movie as a whole was a bit of a mess.

  2. I’ll be renting The Impossible on your recommendation!
    Just out of curiosity, why wouldn’t you see Zero Dark Thirty again?

    • I think saying I wouldn’t see ZDT again is a little harsh. I actually want to watch it again mostly because the first time I watched it was as a screener with a stop and go watch time. I didn’t watch it all the way through in one sitting (and it was late at night so I fell asleep during and watched it again when I woke up). I’ll watch it again and give it another go.

Riddle me this...

