My Top 10 Movies of 2012

Posted: January 3, 2013 in award season, movie reviews, movies

The time has come to grade the movie offerings of 2012. I’ve seen 65 movies that were released this year and I think I did a pretty good job at seeing a variety of movies and seeing many (if not most) of the Oscar Contenders. My Top 10 has a variety of movies and genre and I’m sure plenty of people will disagree. Critical Zero Dark Thirty did not crack my Top 10. I don’t even know if I’d put it in my Top 15. I unfortunately have not seen The Sessions or Rust and Bone which have both recognition from the award circuit. But, I highly doubt either of these two could have cracked the Top 10.

 

10.   Moonrise Kingdom
I can’t say I’m typically a huge Wes Anderson fan, but Moonrise Kingdom is quirky, sweet, weird, and overall just interesting both cinematically and story wise. My Full Review

 

9.   Les Miserables
Despite the film being much too long, the movie contained memorable performances and great directing choices that put it on my Top 10 List. And no one can deny that Anne Hathaway gave the performance of her career so far. That alone is worth the price of admission. My Full Review

 

8.   Silver Linings Playbook
Though this movie was a bit messy, but there was something about it that was so endearing. Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence were fresh. Their performances were funny, and sweet, and well, outstanding. They both played against type, it wasn’t about looks or even feelings. It was just about two misfits trying to find a place to belong. My Full Review

 

7.   Wreck It Ralph
This movie felt fresh, something new. It was funny in an inside joke kind of way paying homage to old video games that adults could appreciate, but with fun and exciting story kids could relate to. Also I was pleasantly surprised by a lovely performance from Sarah Silverman as Vanellope. My Full Review

 

6.   Ruby Sparks
Paul Zano and girlfriend Zoe Kazan managed to star in and write a great character piece. The characters felt real and relatable and the fantasy element made it all the more compelling. This story is what I talk about when I talk about a movie needing a good plot and characters you care about. My Full Review

 

5.   Django Unchained
People who are not a fan of stylistic pieces may not like this film, but I found it clever, interesting, and pretty damn funny. It was also fantastically acted with standout performances from Samuel L. Jackson, Christoph Waltz, and Leonardo Dicaprio. This movie was just a lot of fun and no one can deny that Quentin Tarantino knows how to put on a good show. My Full Review

 

4.   The Avengers
Watching this movie for the first time in a special screening with my co-workers was probably the most fun experience I’ve ever had watching a movie. I totally geeked out while watching it and I’m not even a comic bit nerd. Watching Thor and Iron beat each up was exhilarating. Joss Whedon was a welcome addition to the Marvel Universe providing both a funny and exciting, if somewhat conventional story. My Full Review

 

3.   The Perks Of Being A Wallflower
I didn’t think this movie would affect me so much, but it did. It was like I was watching my life flash before my eyes. Okay, well not quite, but it brought up memories, both good and bad and made me well, bawl like a baby in the movie theater. Luckily, just quietly and to myself. Its movies like these that come out of the blue, that you remember forever. My Full Review

 

2.   Argo
Dare I say this is the best directed film of Ben Affleck. He’s really growing into the director role. Though acting-wise he was the weakest of an otherwise strong cast, Ben really knows how to keep an audience’s attention. I was on the edge of my seat this entire movie. My Full Review

 

 

And the number one Best Movie of 2012 is….*drumroll please*….

1.   The Impossible
If you’ve been reading my blog, you know how fond of this movie I am. It was brutal, and gritty, and real, and all the actors were captivating. It was emotional and tiring, and beautiful and that ending, whew! Naomi Watts, Ewan McGregor, and Tom Holland were fantastic in this unconventional disaster movie. My Full Review

What were your Top 10 Movies this year?

 

Comments
  1. Do you have an email address? Wanted to contact you about something. 🙂

Riddle me this...

