My 10 Worst Movies of 2012

Posted: January 3, 2013 in movie reviews, movies

This year has brought us some great movies, but with any great movies comes equally bad movies. Sometimes it was the movie effects that did it, other times it’s the acting. However,  most of the times the movies aren’t great due to story and chemistry between the actors. Here are my worst 10 movies.

Honorable Mention goes to: Butter


10.   Battleship

There were parts of Battleship I liked, I’ll admit it. And Tadanobu Asano was a please to watch, but this movie tried to be clever. Peg-like torpedoes that sink the ship, good one. (That was sarcasm, in case you can’t tell.) Not to mention Taylor Kitsch’s character was completely unlikeable. Try again Hasbro, maybe Hungry Hungry Hippos? My Full Review

9.   John Carter
Again, with Taylor Kitsch, I liked him in Friday Night Lights, but I didn’t like him in John Carter either. The special effects were not great and I just don’t believe him as a leading man. It could have been better with a different actor and if the production company spent a longer time (or more money) in the VFX department.

8.   Red Dawn
If the plot had been more thought out and had Josh Peck been re-casted, this movie could have been more successful. But you know the way NOT to make a movie? Making Chinese cast members Korean by digitally changing the flag in the background. My Full Review

7.   Gone
It was just ridiculous, and not believable despite an intriguing (but not really original) performance. It seemed like many of the actors were just “phoning it in” and that ending…what?

6.   The Words
The movie had 3 levels, one of which was pointless except for the fact it helped stretched the content of the movie into 90 minutes.  It’s the perfect example that sometimes not all stories weave together seamlessly. If there’s not enough substance to make into a long enough movie, maybe you have some re-thinking to do. My Full Review

5.    21 Jump Street
Can someone explain to me why people liked this movie so much? Maybe I should have rewatched the original in order to get it. It just wasn’t funny. Channing Tatum needs to work on his comedy and Jonah Hill will always be annoying. My Full Review

4.    A Thousand Words
It’s an Eddie Murphy. Though the premise is unique and interesting, the movie failed in its execution. This movie was just another way for Eddie to make strange noises and weird facial expressions.

3.    The Watch
The Watch was a mess, but I knew what I was getting into when I decided to buy a ticket. Though with better writing this movie could be funnier, but I would still find Vince Vaughn babbling frustratingly annoying. Put him in a movie with Owen Wilson and my head will explode! My Full Review

2.   The Lucky One
This movie just didn’t feel authentic to me. It was as if it was trying too hard to be an epic romance. My Full Review

 

And the number one….*drumroll please*…

1.   The Paperboy
Despite a great performance from Nicole Kidman, this movie was just a downer. It was sad, and depressing, and well, I didn’t really see the point of it all. It was also brutal and disturbing and not for the sake of filmmaking, if you know what I mean. Sorry Zac Efron, you didn’t have a very good year in my book. My Full Review

Riddle me this...

