Movie Review: This Is 40

Posted: December 25, 2012 in movie reviews, movies
Tags: , , , , , , ,

This is 40

Starring: Paul Rudd, Leslie Mann, John Lithgow, Megan Fox, Chris Dowd, Albert Brooks, Melissa McCarthy.

Premise: This is 40, is what happens after you get “Knocked Up.” It’s the story about Pete and Debbie (Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann) and their trials and tribulations as a married couple. It’s also proof that no matter how old you get, you can still have growing pains.

My Review: Let me just tell you this right now. I’m not a big Judd Apatow fan. I did not like Knocked Up and I’m still waiting for my $12 refund from Apatow for the monstrosity that was Funny People. The biggest thing that annoys me about him is the fact that his movies are marketed as comedies, when a lot of them not. Had I know Funny People wasn’t going to be funny, I would not have watched it. Had I known Five Year Engagement wasn’t going to be a comedy, I would haveprobably enjoyed it a lot more. The only thing of his, I absolutely adore is Anchorman, and thank goodness he didn’t direct that. But all that being said, I actually enjoyed This is 40 a lot more than I thought I would. Probably because, I was prepared to hate it.

I’m not that big of a Leslie Mann family. Honestly, I think her husband writes her characters as whiney and neurotic which comes off, well, annoying. Is that maybe because that’s just how she is in real life and he’s writing what he knows? Yes, Debbie is 40, but she still looks AMAZING. Those scenes where she’s lamenting over Desi’s (Megan Fox) body come off a bit unrealistic. Yes, Megan Fox has an amazing body, but I am pretty sure she is an alien (who gains only 10 pounds of baby weight?). However, I would KILL for a body like Debbie’s. I would love to look like her when I’m forty, but it would take a lot of work. For starter’s I’m Asian. But Mann has great chemistry with Rudd, who can always find a way to be charming, even when his character is dead wrong. Rudd is one of those guys who can dance like no one’s watching even though everyone is watching.

What I liked best about This is 40, was the fact that it was brutally honest, showing not just the happy shiny perks of being married with kids, but also the cold, harsh, reality of holding everything together even when you think you can’t. It shows the truth about loving someone so much sometimes you just want to kill them…loud and painfully. But most of all, it showed me that despite how scary it all seems. I can’t wait to have that.

 

Rating: 3 ½ stars.

 

PS: Stay for a hilarious blooper at the end!

PPS: Why does Leslie Mann look like Kate Beckinsdale in all the posters? Is it just me?

 

 

 

 

Riddle me this...

