While epic and grandeur with a compelling story and great visuals, I felt that the Lord of The Rings movies were much more captivating than The Hobbit. There was something missing. Also, I wish, wish, wish, I did not see it in 48fps.

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

Starring: Ian McKellen, Martin Freeman, Richard Armitage, Ken Stott, Graham McTavish, James Nesbitt, Elijah Wood, Hugo Weaving, Cate Blanchet, Stephen Fry…and many many more.

Premise: Bilbo Baggins finds himself on an “unexpected journey” when Gandalf unwillingly volunteers Baggins to join him on an “epic quest to reclaim the lost Dwarf Kingdom of Erebor”. The journey isn’t going to be easy or predictable. Is the Hobbit really up for an adventure or will he find himself in over his head?

My Review: Peter Jackson has an uncanny way of adapting the book into a seamless movie. It contained everything you want in a film: epic battle scenes, humor, stunning VFX, strong characters, and imaginative storytelling. However, I found it lacking. I felt like I’ve been here before.

One of my biggest problems with the movie, which probably had to do with why I didn’t enjoy it as much, was the HFR (High Frame Rate). Seeing The Hobbit in 48fps was completely distracting. I felt like I was watching a British Soap Opera or a cheesy Sci Fi flick. The HFR caused a lot of the film to be distorted. When panning through huge landscapes the details became blurred, and when going in close to CGI effects or human interaction the look of the movie became dumbed down. Don’t get me wrong there were certain scenes where the HFR looked fantastic. Those were mostly battle or high action scenes. I really wish I had seen the movie in the regular format. Give me that beautiful Hobbit glow of The Shire over realism anytime. If I wanted realism, I’d just look outside my window.

I also don’t know how I feel about Bilbo Baggins. I don’t know if I like him, or dislike him or what. But maybe that’s a good thing. He’s a very complicated character there’s nothing simple about him like the others. But he was also just a bit…cold. Like I don’t feel like I know him. I don’t think about him fondly like I do Frodo or Samwise. Does that make sense? Or is it just creepy? While the other characters were captivating and alive, Baggins felt….off…

And finally, the movie was much too long. There was no reason for it to be almost 3 hours. It could have been cut down by 30 minutes. But that’s Peter Jackson for you. Look at the last installation of LOTR. It had multiple endings, for crying out loud.

I didn’t dislike this movie. No, not at all. In fact, there was a fantastic scene between Baggins and Gollum (YAY) that may be one of my favorites of the whole franchise, but there wasn’t anything “unexpected” about the movie. Well, except maybe how surprised I was at how much I hated the HFR.  It’s a good movie, it’s just…it could have been great. Hopefully 2 and 3 are better movies.

What did you think? Do you like the HFR?

 

Rating: 3 Stars.

 

 

Comments
  1. Not sure about the HFR, but I liked The Hobbit more than the first LOTR, even though it suffers from being released out of order. That battle of wits between Gollum and Bilbo was …delicious!

Riddle me this...

