My Review: Rise of the Guardians

Posted: November 29, 2012 in movie reviews, movies
Tags: , , , , ,

Rise of the Guardians
Starring: Chris Pine, Alec Baldwin, Isla Fisher, Jude Law, Hugh Jackman, Dakota Goyo

I remember when I was little staying up at night with my sister whispering at her from across the hallway about what Santa was going to give us for Christmas. I remember absolutely hearing those sleigh bells ring from that massive sled of his and running to my window to look out for Rudolph’s red nose. One night I forced myself to stay up to catch Santa in the act, maybe share a cookie or two with him, but suffice it to say, I caught someone else in the act.

At some point in our lives we stop believing in certain things. Sometimes it’s a person that spoils it, and sometimes it’s just the fact that we’ve grown up. Rise of the Guardians manages to teach us to never stop believing (I guess Journey tried to tell us that as well).

Premise: As long as children keep believing, Santa Claus, The Easter Bunny, The Tooth Fairy, and other similar beings will still exist. Children will still maintain their innocence and all will be right with the world. Protecting that innocence are the Guardians, chosen Man In The Moon. Sensing the rise of Pitch, a villian hell-bent on instilling fear and darkness into the hearts of children everywhere, the Man in the Moon chooses another Guardian to help Santa, Bunny, Tooth, and the Sandman. He chooses Jack Frost, an outcast in more ways than one (he’s invisible to children because they don’t believe in him). Jack is defiant, reckless, desperate to find out what his purpose is and desperate to be noticed. The Rise of the Guardian is Jack’s adventure at finding a place to belong and something to believe in.

My Review: I liked Rise of The Guardians, and I say it like that because I’m surprised at the amount of reviews saying how contrived it seemed while at the same time being more serious and less fun. I thought this movie was actually quite creative and beautiful with themes both relevant to kids and adults. For me, it reminded me how great it was to be a child and experiencing wonder all the time. Now, those moments are hard to come by. There are things I believed in as a child that I don’t so much now, but I do believe in other things as well. I do believe in that fairy tale ending, happily ever after life for me, and as long as I keep believing it, it still exists. That’s what the movie taught me. Don’t give up on your dreams, and don’t let fear stop you.

Jack was relatable, the movie scene by scene was creative and gorgeous, and the fantasy of it all felt very human. Rise of the Guardians is definitely not your typical animated film, but that fact makes it all that more magical.

Rating: 3 ½ stars.

 

 

 

Riddle me this...

