The Red Box Files:

Since I’ve had some extra time on my hands…and by extra time I mean, I’m unemployed at the moment, I’ve been renting some movies at Red Box. Check out my thoughts on some of the movies I’ve rented.

 

The Lucky Ones
Starring: Zac Effron, Taylor Schilling, Blythe Danner, Jay R. Ferguson, Riley Thomas Stewart

Premise: U.S. Marine Sgt. Logan Thibault is finding it hard to adjust to life after returning home from his third tour in Iraq. Haunted by a picture he found that saved him from a bomb, Logan sets out to find the girl that “rescued” him.

My Review When watching a movie based on a Nicholas Sparks book, you have to expect a certain amount of melodramatic themes. I liked the idea of Logan moving somewhere away from his concerned and overbearing family and finding peace in busy work.  But I’m not sure I believed everything that was happening. While I appreciated they let the romance between Logan and Beth gradually build, Taylor Schilling (who is a 28 and gorgeous) unfortunately looked 10 years older making her hook-up with the young looking Zac Efron less believable and more creepy uncomfortable. I also didn’t like what they did with the ex-husband character. He was just too much of a jerk for me to feel any compassion for him even when I was supposed to. All of these details distracted me from the story which was actually an interesting concept.

That being said, it could have been worse. It could have been Dear John.

Rating: 2 Stars

 

People Like Us
Starring: Chris Pine, Elizabeth Banks, Olivia Wilde, Michelle Pfeiffer, Mark Duplass, Michael Hall D’Addario

Premise: When Sam’s estranged father dies, the fast-talking, stubborn salesman, must return home to settle his father’s estate. As a stipulation of the will, Sam’s father asks his son to deliver $150,000 to a sister and her son that Sam never knew of. While Sam struggles with the decision to tell Frankie, his half-sister, about the money, he feels an unexpected connection with her.

My Premise: I liked this movie a lot more than I thought I would. The trailers were severely misleading, setting the movie up like a romantic comedy…which it is not, *wipes brow*, because that would just weird…and gross. Instead, People Like Us smartly weaves a web of complicated feelings. Written by Alex Kurtzman, Roberto Orci, & Jody Lambert, Chris Pine and Elizabeth Banks brought the script to life playing unknown siblings struggling to come to terms with their father’s death and complicated relationship with him. Their performances are subtle and genuine making this film likeable instead or schmaltzy.

Rating: 3 Stars

 

 

 

 

Riddle me this...

