Movie Review: The Paperboy

Posted: October 11, 2012 in movie reviews, movies
Tags: , , , , , ,

The Paperboy did three things for me:

  1. It made me feel extremely uncomfortable and well….gloomy.
  2. It made me feel like throwing up.
  3. Made me wonder where I can get Nicole Kidman’s lipstick.

The Paperboy

Starring: Nicole Kidman, Matthew McConaughey, Zac Efron, John Cusack, Macy Gray, David Oyelowo, Ned Bellamy

Premise: Reporter Ward Jansen (Matthew McConaughey) and his partner Yardley Acheman investigate the murderer involving a death-row inmate, Hillary Van Wetter (a creepy John Cusack), who they believe was framed. They recruit sultry, but trashy, Charlotte (Nicole Kidman), who is Hillary’s devoted fan, and fiancé  and Jansen’s younger brother Jack (Zac Efron) who unwittingly falls in love with her. Based on the novel Push by Pete Dexter, this movie takes the audience on a trippy journey of sex, first love, murder, and obsession. It reveals the gritty, sweaty, brutal underbelly of the dirty south bayou in the 1960s.

 

My Review: The only thing I knew about this movie before going into it was that Nicole Kidman and Zac Efron were in it. Oh, and that Zac Efron spent majority of the movie in his tidy whities. And it’s probably better I knew nothing about it because I don’t know if I would have spent $13 to watch this movie otherwise. The movie was disturbing and the situations made me uncomfortable. That’s not always a bad thing, but nothing good happened in this movie. Nothing. (Unless you count Zac Efron shirtless, which I do!) Also none of the characters were likeable. Don’t get me wrong, the acting was incredible, most notably Nicole Kidman who was incredible as a frisky, white-trash, lady looking for sex and attention. And near the end of the movie the brotherly bond between Jack and Ward was nice, but it wasn’t consistent throughout the movie. It took too long to get there, which basically is the theme for this movie.

I know not all characters and stories are perfect. I didn’t need things wrapped up in a neat bow. But I needed something to root for. I needed a reason to keep watching. But instead, I got a slow, melodramatic movie that left me with disconcerting images that I won’t be forgetting anytime soon.

 

Rating: 1 Star (for Nicole Kidman’s performance and lipstick, and the cinematography)

 

 

Riddle me this...

