There’s something about Pitch Perfect that is unforgettable. It plays out like a budding relationship. First it’s awkward and uncomfortable, but slowly as you get to know them endearing qualities emerge, until finally there’s nothing you can do but succumb to their charm and fall in love. This movie is exactly what it says it is, Pitch Perfect.

Pitch Perfect

Starring: Anna Kendrick, Brittany Snow, Rebel Wilson, Skylar Astin, Anna Camp, Adam Devine, Christopher Mintz-Passe, Alexis Knapp, Freddy Stroma

Premise: Beca (Anna Kendrick), a wannabe music producer slash reluctant college student, becomes a member of an acapella group called the Bellas after being accosted in the shower by one of their more aggressive members, Chloe (Brittany Snow). Finding the group a mix of sugary sweet, yet slightly creepy blondes, and a rag tag, mish-mash of misfits, Beca has no choice but to go along with their awkward music choices. Despite finding the world of acapella nerdy, she finds herself getting caught up in the unique competition while at the same time slowly falling for one of the group’s rivals (Skylar Astin). Desperate to stay independent, Beca must decide whether or not she wants to be a part of the world, and the group, or close herself off to everything entirely.

My Review: After hearing rave reviews from people who saw the movie before I did, I went into Pitch Perfect with high expectations. While it had a shaky and awkward start, the key to watching this just giving in. Give in to the craziness, give in to the wackiness, give into the cutthroat world of acapella where announcers uses phrases like, “Nothing makes a woman feel like a girl, more than a man who sings like a boy.” Just give in.

And sure enough 20 minutes into the movie my inner-nerd kicked in and I found myself having a great time. And what really pushed it over the top was the riff off. I’m a big fan of the Glee type mash-ups and also this Axis of Awesome video, so adding acapella to the mix made it that much more fun. Everyone in this movie looked like they were having a blast so it was hard for me not to have a blast as well. I mean, come on, they made “No Diggity” cool again.

All of this was thanks in part to Anna Kendrick, who is awesome. In most of her movies, Kendrick plays a girl who I’m convinced I’d be best friends with, (see 50/50, Up In The Air). She just has this air of cool-ness surrounding her. Kendrick plays Beca as one of those surly, bitter, sarcastic and snarky types. But instead of it coming off as annoying, or exhausting, or agitating it comes off as genuine. And to top it all off, her voice is incredible. But while Kendrick was fabulous, this movie would not be complete without the other weird misfits of the Bellas. To me, the funniest parts of comedies are those throwaway lines. You know those lines you barely catch before the camera cuts away so your laughter lingers long into the next scene? The best one liners came from Elizabeth Banks, Hana Mae Lee, the speaks-at-a-barely-audible-Asian-girl), and Rebel Wilson, who also stole pretty much every scene she was in as Fat Amy.

Sure this movie may be predictable (outcasts going for the gold, a romeo and juliet type love story, college students) and reminiscent of Bring It On, but that doesn’t make it any less enjoyable. This movie is charming and whenever there is singing it’s hard not to groove to the beat. Also the ending finale does not disappoint. It gets you moving in your seat while giving you a feeling of nostalgia at the same time. My only complaint, there wasn’t a major jam performance during the credits. Come on, that’s the perfect time to have more riff off, or at least some bloopers. There is one blooper that’s pretty damn funny so be sure to stay after the credits, but frankly it’s so short it leaves you wanting more.

For a good time, watch Pitch Perfect. I dare you not to love it.

Rating: 4 Stars (out of 5)

 

If you need more convincing…

Five Things Pitch Perfect Did For Me

  1. It made me like a Miley Cyrus song. Their rendition of Party in the U.S.A was a lot of fun.
  2. It convinced me to use “I’m gonna finish him like a cheesecake” in my everyday use.
  3. It almost made me embarrass myself at the end finale by spontaneously lifting my fist in the air. You’ll know what I mean when you see it.
  4. It made me laugh out loud more than once. Like one of those guttural, loud embarrassing laughs. Those are rare.
  5. It made me immediately download the soundtrack when I got home. So worth the $9.

 

 

Riddle me this...

