10 Years wasn’t a bad movie, persay. It had some sweet moments but that’s all they ever were. One thing this movie did was it made me glad I did not attend my 10 Year High School Reunion.

10 Years

Starring: Channing Tatum, Jenna Dewan-Tatum, Justin Long, Max Minghella, Oscar Isaac, Chris Pratt, Ari Graynor, Scott Porter, Brian Geraghty, Aubrey Plaza, Rosario Dawson, Ron Livingston, Anthony Mackie, Kate Mara

Premise: High School friends attend their 10 Year high school reunion remembering the good and bad times. They see how people have changed and not changed all at the same time. Things are learned, things are not learned, and there’s karaoke. Also, you should know, Channing Tatum keeps his shirt on this time.

My Review:  Movies with big ensemble casts can often suffer from spreading themselves too thin from too many plot lines. Some movies tackle this issue well (see Love Actually), while others can suffer from muddy, uninteresting plots that are not well developed (see What To Expect When You’re Expecting). This movie had a total of 9 to 10 subplots and was 90 minutes long. And…surprisingly, it felt longer. That should tell you something.

I do have to say there was one storyline I enjoyed and that was the storyline between Oscar Isaac, who I was convinced was a younger/better looking David Krumholtz for the first half of the movie, and Kate Mara. They’re chemistry was out of this world! And the storyline was intriguing and surprising and sweet. Also sweet, Channing Tatum and his wife, Jenna. They are just so damn adorable in this movie using their coupledom to their benefit. If this is how they are all the time…I truly hate them. I love them, but I hate them.

10 Years seemed to encapsulate what I imagine my high school reunion to be like: Nostalgic, uncomfortable, annoying, and very, very….VERY awkward.  Lucky for me I passed on my reunion, and honestly, save this movie for a Redbox.

 

Rating: 2 Stars

 

 

 

Comments
  1. Loraine says:

    You’re right, the movie was too much that it was ugh. Oscar and Kate’s characters should have a movie for just about them. Here’s my movie review if you don’t mind: http://lorxiemoviereviews.blogspot.com/2013/01/10-years.html

    Thanks and have a nice day! I’m a new follower!

Riddle me this...

