We are just one week from the finale. Seems like just yesterday we were meeting the Top 20. I can’t believe we are going to find out who the finale 4 are. Tonight!

 

So You Think You Can Dance
Season 9
Top 6 Perform / Top 4 Revealed

The Top 6 Routine has Travis Wall written all over it, that is, until I see a move involving flat feet and now feel like it’s all Sonya. The song doesn’t work for how everyone is dressed. (The girls are in coture ballerina costumes), and it’s not the best routine. Dancing to the song, “Scream” by Kellis, the routine feels very reminiscent of Lady Gaga.

While I love Cat’s hair and shoes, I’m not so sure about the dress. She she could come out in a paper bag and still look great, but the dress feels very Holly Hobby. However, the more I look at it, the more it’s growing on me. And Cat tells me I’m indeed RIGHT and Sonya did choreograph that routine. I’ll forgive her for this dress then.

Guest Judge this week is: Christina Applegate. Dear Nigel, if we’re going to have a repeat offender can it please be Jesse Tyler Ferguson? Nigel tries to make up for the fact that they kicked off Will last week by blaming it all on the choreographers, but I don’t believe it. He should have been in the final 6. I’m jus saying…

 

The Routines

Routine #1
Who: Tiffany and Benji (Season 2 Winner)
Style and Choreographer: Jive with Jean Marc Genereux
Rehearsal: First of all, I have to say, my two favorite people are back! I’ve missed them. I like goofy Benji, and I’ve missed the little French Man Jean Marc. The couple demonstrates how to do a 2 person cartwheel (Benji’s signature) and I love the look on Tiffany’s face as she prepares to take on Benji’s weight.
Song: “What I Like About You” – by Lillix
Performance:  I have to say. Tiffany is adorable. You know, Benji pulls his face a lot, which I guess is a common thing in ballroom dancing, but when Tiffany does it, it’s so believable and genuine. And it’s subtle. Subtle, people. Tiffany talked about how Benji and Jean Marc have a lot of energy, well so does she! She dances the hell out of pieces and this jive was no different. Honestly, I think it was the fastest I’ve ever seen performed on this show. It looked so technical and there was a lot more footwork involved then other jives I’ve seen that are riddled with tricks to avoided the complicated dancing. Tiffany was a sexy little rockstar. I will remember her today. It was a great first routine. Rating: 9/10
The Judging: Nigel says they had unbelievable energy. Tiffany kept up with Benji really well. Mary calls it amazing and she loves everything about her. Christina was worry about Benji overshadowing, but they were equals out there. It was beautiful.

 

Routine #2
Who: Cole and Melanie Moore
Style and Choreographer: Jazz with Sonya
Rehearsal: This week Sonya wants to show a softer side of Cole since his previous roles have been so dark. In this piece, he wants freedom from a relationship that’s holding him back. Melanie calls Cole goofy and light and funny. It will be nice to see something else from him.
Song: “Too Close” by Alex Clare
Performance:  You know, Cole absolutely belongs in this bottom 6. I know last week, I was bummed about Will going home. And I still totally feel Will should be in the Top 6, but despite all this, that does not mean I feel that Cole should NOT be in the Top 6. He deserves to be here. He is a great performer and he showcases technique and acting ability in this piece. Sonya choreographed some great lines with this routine. Melanie and Cole were hitting some good formations, especially when she jumped up on his back year the beginning, or did the forward somersault over him. That move was definitely WOW moment. I feel like they could have had a bit more chemistry, but overall a satisfying routine. Rating: 7.5/10
The Judging: Mary calls the piece gorgeous and says it was very different. Cole commands attention on the stage and he carried the number off well. For Christina, Melanie gives her hope and Cole is masterful and powerful. Nigel loved that Melanie lifted Cole throughout the routine he loved seeing Cole’s vulnerable side.

 

Routine #3
Who: Eliana and Twitch
Style and Choreographer: Hip Hop with Christopher Scott
Rehearsal: According to Christopher Scott (who gets more and more adorable every time I see him) this routine is about a super hot ballet dancer, who has a crush on a super hot postal worker, and she writes him a letter but he can’t read it….until they dance. Yes, Christopher Scott, your concept is “very true to life” indeed.
Song: “Please Mr. Postman (District 78 Remix)” by The Marvelettes
Performance:  When this routine starts I can’t help thinking…man…I want Eliana’s shoes. Then I think, this song is so not hip hop. It was a little too sugary sweet for my tastes (I like it when Christopher Scott is a little dirtier…mmm….sorry I got distracted there) and for a good 30 seconds Eliana was sitting on the mailbox as Twitch walked around here. Really kids, this is hip hop? But after that it really started to pick up and I liked this routine more and more. Eliana is such a great dancer, she has amazing musicality, and she didn’t really look like a ballet dancer at all out there. True she could have been a bit funkier, but she danced the piece really well and I found myself focusing on her more than Twitch. Her side, handless cartwheel, was hot. The ending was also super cute. At first I thought she hit her nose on Twitch, but it was her coming to the reality that she’s hitting on him and backs off. I love that look she gives when she notices her shirts come undone. Super cute. Rating: 7/10
The Judging: Christina says Eliana is so good, she can do anything. Nigel felt the routine relied too much on character and wished she could have danced more. He felt there was very little meat to it (I agree). Mary thought the number was fun and entertaining and that Eliana is memorable no matter what the routine is like.

 

Routine #4
Who: Chehon and Kathryn
Style and Choreographer: Contemporary with Tyce
Rehearsal: Tyce’s routine is about how people deal with losing everything. Chehon knows he always has a wall up and he hopes that he can be emotional.
Song: “Eli, Eli (A Walk To Caesarea)” by Sophie Milman
Performance:  You know, we give Tyce a hard time a lot, but man he does have a flair for the dramatics. And this piece was just that, dramatic. I thought Chehon and Kathyrn did a fantastic job. There were some really incredible moments in this piece: Kathryn standing on his back, Chehon lifting Kathryn up then dropping her down quickly, Chehon standing at the edge of the stage and Kathryn jumping onto his shoulders (dangerous, people), Chehon lifting her and she grabs the suitcases with her legs. There were just too many moments to name. Good work Tyce, and fantastic work dancers. Chehon definitely has my vote. Rating: 9/10
The Judging: Nigel calls the routine really emotional. He says strength-wise, technical wise, and emotional wise it was all incredible. Then he thanks FOX. What? Mary can tell Chehon is touched by the piece (frankly he looks traumatized by it). Christina and Mary talk about Chehon’s leap to the suitcase which was indeed amazing and looks even more fantastic in slow motion. She compliments Chehon’s growth through the show and his growth emotionally.
  

Routine #5
Who: Witney and Marko
Style and Choreographer: Lyrical Jazz with Ray Leeper
Rehearsal: Oh Marko, I missed you. You look pretty good with a shaved head. The concept is about a couple getting married, but Witney wants out. She’s got cold feet.
Song: “No Nothing” by Curtis and Reinhard
Performance:  This is the first time we’ve seen Witney really act serious. And dude, that last pull of her arm and walk away? Totally harsh. But it was believable. I believed they were a struggling couple and that Marko was in love with her. Though this wasn’t so much lyrical jazz as it was just contemporary, it was a really well choreographed piece. I thought it was well danced and though with other dancers it could have completely blown me away, Witney did have some great moments. Rating: 8/10
The Judging: Witney had such attack and control, but you can tell Mary is in love with Marko. Aren’t we all? Marko was a great partner. Christina thought it was really beautiful. She also thinks she created the word hairography, but she obviously doesn’t watch Glee. Nigel is all business with saving and what not. Just tell her she’s a star Nigel and have that be that. Nigel thought she was committed.

 

Routine #6
Who: Cyrus and Comfort
Style and Choreographer: Dub Step with Christopher Scott
Rehearsal: Okay, seriously, has Cyrus done any ballroom at all? I’d like to see him do Bollywood please. He really lucks out here. He is totally in his element. Yes to be fair the contemporary folks are always in their element, but still…I’ll be quiet now and just stare at Christopher Scott’s blue eyes.
Song: “Cinema” by Benny Benassi
Performance:  I’ve never been a big fan of Comfort and I don’t understand what she’s wearing. The routine is okay….The tutting section is unreal! It was so intricate. It’s pretty amazing, but the actual dub step feels a little juvenile, even though I’d never be able to do it myself. I’m going to go get me some popcorn now. Rating: 6.5/10
The Judging: Of course the SYTYCD love child gets a standing O. You gave him the golden ticket, but I’m still bitter he took the place of my real favorite dancer. However, the way the crowd loves him is unbelievable. Christina thought it was fantastic. Nigel thought it was incredible and loved Christopher’s choreography. Mary says Cyrus is special and America loves him.

 

Routine #7
Who: Chehon and Witney
Style and Choreographer: Cha Cha with Jean Marc
Rehearsal: Jean Marc says Cha Cha is about hips and feet. Witney is in her element, but the Cha Cha is kicking his butt. He’s struggling with the lifts.
Song:  “Where Have You Been” by Rhianna
Performance:  Chehon is definitely working for it. I can see him thinking about it. Especially with that complicated lift section. But he kinda of lets lose when it breaks apart from partnering. Witney is of course perfect and there’s not as much face pulling from her which I am thankful for. The whole thing was just okay. Rating: 4/10
The Judging: Mary can tell Chehon is uncomfortable and he agrees in an adorable way. He struggled tonight, but Witney disappeared too because Chehon struggled. Christina didn’t notice anything bad. (Love her). Nigel wished he could have seen Witney’s hips more, but this routine was disappointing.

 

Routine #8
Who: Cole and Eliana
Style and Choreographer: Contemporary with Mia Michaels
Rehearsal: The piece is about hatred and Mia was inspired by rams? Cole calls the routine very physical. Honestly this is the holy trinity of dance. I’m excited.
Song: “Adagio for Strings” by Brno Philharmonic Orchestra
Performance:  Oh. My. God. This is probably my favorite performance of the season. And may rank on my Top 10 of all time (most of which are Mia pieces). Even above “Bang Bang” (which was also danced by Eliana). Mia Michaels is a genius. Say what you want about her that woman can choreograph. This routine kept building and building and I felt like my whole body was getting tenser and tenser until they screamed at each other at the end. It was so powerful. I can’t even tell you the amazing moments in this piece because it was all one big amazing moment. I have to point out two things though, when Eliana was stretched to her limit as Cole held on to her arm, then she started to twist her body. And also the spin that went crazy out of control. Just amazing. I wish the camera had pulled out just a bit on a couple of moves, but moving in close for the scream was killer. Cole’s face will haunt me. Rating: 10/10
The Judging: Nigel thought it was brilliant. He thought Cole got the emotion and Eliana got the dancing. Mary had so many moments she liked. Christina calls Eliana the perfect dancer and finishes all her moves. She loved the both of them.

 

Routine #9
Who: Tiffany and Cyrus       
Style and Choreographer: Broadway with Spencer Liff
Rehearsal: It’s about a teenage daughter and her boyfriend who are left home alone. Apparently there’s a lot of touching, so says Tiffany.
Song: “Treat Me Rough (Crazy Girl)” by Debbie Gravitte
Performance: You know, it was cute. Tiffany is a good little actress. Honestly she had my attention the whole time. It was fun, and cute, and it had a lot of personality. Rating: 7/10
The Judging: Christina thought it was a lot of fun. Nigel thanks god he has two sons because he’d never let his daughter come on the show. Tiffany is the girl next door and Cyrus is inspirational. Mary’s voice reaches that high pitch. You know what I’m talking about.

 

 

The Solos

Solo #1
Who: Witney
Song: “Malguena” by Brian Setzer
Performance:  Whoever picked Witney’s outfit got it just right, but unfortunately, there was something a bit off about the solo. I see what she was trying to do with it, but it had no crescendo and it seemed like it ended a bit incomplete. There were like 5 seconds left when she ended, it was a little strange.
Grade: C+

Solo #2
Who: Chehon
Song: “Way Back Home”, by District 78
Performance: So…I may be a bit biased for Chehon after seeing that package with his mother telling him, “You are the most wonderful child there is.” Her words were just so sweet and delicate. As for his solo, he wasted a few precious seconds in the beginning there, but this solo was much more dramatic and hard hitting. He leaps higher than any contestant on the show right now and he had some great tricks. I still think last week’s solo was the best I’ve ever seen.
Grade: B+

Solo #3
Who: Tiffany
Song: “Just the Way You Are” by Carmen Reece
Performance:  I really liked this solo, it was really beautiful and not at all your typical contemporary routine. Less reaching more dancing. And honestly I feel like Tiffany is one Jeanine Mason Dark Horse moment away from winning this whole competition.
Grade: A-

Solo #4
Who: Cole
Song: “Night Of The Wolf”, by Nox Arcana
Performance: Interesting. Dramatic. Captivating. Like usual.
Grade: B

 

Solo #5
Who: Eliana
Song: “I Will Follow You Into The Dark” by Death Cab For Cutie
Performance: I love when she does ballet things without wearing the actual shoes, like dancing on her tipey toes. That front flip was amazing. My favorite solo of the night. (It helps I love that song)
Grade: A

Solo #6
Who: Cyrus
Song: “Harem” by Sarah Brightman
Performance:  I love the way Cyrus uses every beat and facet to the song he dances to. He really is like no one else. Everything is so clean and intricate, I just wish he could have brought that to the other genres.
Grade: B+

 

Eliminations
I’m pretty sure Cyrus and Eliana are safe. They are America favorites. I predict it will be Chehon and Witney going home. But I hope hope hope not Chehon. My Wish for the Top 4 are Eliana, Tiffany, Chehon and Cole. However, the top 4 are revealed to be: Tiffany, Eliana, Chehon and Cyrus which means the eliminated two are Witney and Cole. I knew there was no way Cyrus was going to be voted off but I’m sad to see Cole go. Witney was in the bottom so many times and the judges saved her a lot so it was obvious she was going home, but Cole had an incredible night tonight.

 

Top 3 Routines

  1. Eliana and Cole – Contemporary
  2. Chehon and Kathryn – Contemporary
  3. Tiffany and Benji – Jive

 

Random Thoughts

  • The costumers on this show are amazing. They are so good at distressing dresses. Allison’s wedding dress last week and Witney’s dress this week? Gorgeous.
  • Mary calls Witney Lindsey – whoops.
  • I saw a bunch of camera marks on stage during Cole and Eliana’s performance. Never noticed them before.
  • Love Eliana jumping up and down for Chehon. Chehon was genuinely surprised.

 

Quotes

“Put her down Benji, you’re going to hurt her.” – Cat to Benji about Tiffany

“Those cartwheels, how the hell did you hang on there?” Cat to Tiffany

“What do they say on Idol, ‘You could sing the phonebook’? What would be the equivalent to that? You could dance YMCA in front of me for hours and I’d be okay with that.” Christina Applegate to Eliana.

Witney: “My Dad is waiting in Utah with a shotgun and a bat.”

Marko: “Did you say shotgun and a bat? Um…”

“I want to play a game where I just throw pens through your ears.” I love you Christina. We should be best friends.

“Cyrus is definitely in his ‘comfort’ zone.” There’s something dirty in there. I know it.

“It’s so fast and you’re so adorable and we want this so much for you.” Mary to Chehon

 

Final Thoughts
Well America got it mostly right, I’m so glad my favorites Eliana and Chehon made it to the final four. I have a feeling Eliana will take home the gold. Fingers crossed. She had an amazing night and I’ve already watched Mia Michael’s piece 4 times. I’m going to go watch it again, in the meantime, did your favorite make it to the final four? What were your favorites routine?

 

 

Comments
  1. We’ve contributed your internet site inside my net websites!

Riddle me this...

