Movie Reviews in a Hurry: I’ve been seeing a lot of movies lately and doing a full review is taxing. Here are my “cliff notes versions” of: Snow White and the Huntsman, Brave, and Magic Mike.

 

Snow White and the Huntsman

My Review: The movie in itself was visually stunning. The visuals, set design, costumes, and overall theme where beautiful, and the story was for the most part cohesive and captivating. Who doesn’t want to see a twisted take on one of the most classic fairytales of our time? Where the movie lacked was in its heroine, Snow (Kristin Stewart). She’s not a bad actress, persay, though I think Catherine Hardwick and Twilight did nothing to improve her acting ability. Though Stewart looked the part, she didn’t bring enough strength to Snow White and there was no chemistry between her and the Huntsman (Chris Hemsworth), or her and her best friend (Sam Claflin). However the dynamic between her and the evil Queen was great, but I feel that was mainly in part to Charlize Theron’s fantastic work. She immersed herself completely in the role and she was quite captivating to watch. She far overshadowed Kristin Stewart.  Rating: 3 Stars (out of 5)

Brave

My Review: Pixar managed to surprise me. This movie was not like anything I expected. Chalk it up to clever marketing or maybe even poor marketing. I was gearing myself for a different movie than I watched. This movie is about tough girl Merida, who defies everything in order to follow her own path. However, she finds out there’s a fine line between being independent and rebellious, with being destructive and selfish. This movie is about finding yourself without losing everyone you love around you. It was sweet, funny, and emotional – everything you expect from a Pixar movie. The movie looked beautiful. It seems with every movie the Pixar artists find a way to add more color, more depth and highlights. Pixar doesn’t need 3D; it creates its own rich world without it. Brave was unexpected and I liked it a lot more than I thought I would. Though it wasn’t Pixar’s strongest showing (that movie arguably belongs to “The Incredibles”), it’s worth a watch! Rating: 3 Stars (out of 5)

Magic Mike

My Review: I don’t want to disappoint you, but Magic Mike is about much more male strippers…and that’s where it falters. When it gets all serious and in its head, the movie struggles to find a direction, but when it’s about extremely hot guys taking their clothes off, that’s where the movie is the strongest. There is no denying that Channing Tatum has amazing star quality. When he dances you can’t take your eyes off him. He does this side worm-like dance move that pretty much makes me forget my name, and I don’t even find Channing all that good looking. He has an oddly shaped head and big ears, but I’ve never found him as attractive as I do in this movie (and it’s not just because of his abs!). When he dances, it’s as if nothing else matters  in the world to him but his performance. And when Matt Bomer, Alex Pettyfer, Alex Rodriguez, Joe Manganiello get on stage with him, there’s no stopping them. The guys look like they’re having so much fun and there’s nothing wrong with seeing a lot of skin! The extrememly minor blossoming between Channing’s character, Mike and Cody Horn’s, Brook was charming to watch, but not really necessary. Channing is an amazing flirt and watching the two flirt together was quite adorable, but honestly, you don’t see a movie like Magic Mike for the costumes…or acting…or plot….Rating: 3 ½ Stars (out of 5)

 

 

Riddle me this...

