I’ll be honest, it’s probably been a long while since I’ve seen Alien (the first of the franchise made in 1979) and I haven’t seen any of the many incarnations of since. So my review is from a fresh, new to the genre perspective. So what did I think?

It was pretty good.

Prometheus

Starring: Noomi Rapace, Logan Marshall Green, Guy Pierce, Charlize Theron, Michael Fassbender, Idris Elba.

Premise: Elizabeth Shaw (Noomi Rapace) and her boyfriend Charlie Holloway (Logan Marshall Green) have discovered patterns in ancient history that they believe to be a map that marks the planet where earth and humans were “conceived.” And possibly it contains the answers to who created them and why. (What? Exactly). They couple boards the Prometheus on a mission funded by Peter Weylund (an unrecognizable Guy Pierce), who wanted to help the couple find what they were looking for. With a crew of 17, headed by Meredith Vickers (Charlize Theron) and a robot named David (Michael Fassbender), they venture to this foreign planet and find themselves in a life and death situation.

My review: First off, let me just say this movie contains disturbing imagery that I will never forget and can honestly say I never really wanted to see.

Aside from that there was something about Prometheus that kept me enthralled the entire time. There was this slow, subtle burn that you were waiting for to explode into something amazing. But it never really came, not really. Is this because it was a prequel? Or an orgin story? Or is it because the movie was too concerned about “mythology” to really flesh out the bad guys (or anyone for that matter)? Other than Shaw and Halloway, and perhaps the Captain (Idris Elba), the rest of the characters were one dimensional, cliché, and forgettable.

And then there was David. He just didn’t make sense in the movie at all. Was he good? Was he bad? Can a robot be good or bad? He has no feelings but he clearly despised Holloway. What was his deal? Yes, Fassbender was pretty to look at, there’s no argument there, but his presence just didn’t seem to fit anywhere in the story. I know he was a throwback to the original series, but it actually led to some corny, unnecessary moments. Same with Charlize Theron. Her character was NOT essential to the story until (*minor spoiler alert*) “the twist we all saw coming” occurred near the end.

I’m not saying this movie was awful, there are many many many worse things I’ve seen this year. And visually this movie is top notch, with the 3D and IMAX actually enhancing rather than distracting (yes, I’m looking at you MIB:3). The creatures look realistic and not man-made, and there are definitely some cover-your-eyes moments, only not from being scared but from being grossed out (that’s the best kind). And the movie did give us someone to invest in. Elizabeth Shaw (Noomi Rapace) was the glue that kept this movie from falling apart. She was incredible to watch and she her “fight to live” made her someone to root for.

Also, having an awesome ending (even if it was only the last 30 seconds) makes me feel like I like this movie more than I actually did. The last 30 seconds are amazing, leading into the equally awesome music choice for the credits. I actually said, “That’s awesome”, when the first few notes of the credit music began playing. That, folks, is the way to end a movie.

 

Rating: 3 ½, almost 4 stars (out of 5)

 

Note: Check out the little easter egg at the end of the credits.

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
  1. peroration says:

    Reblogged this on Peroration's Blog and commented:
    I saw “Prometheus” in 3D last weekend. This review does a good job of summing up the way I feel about this movie.

Riddle me this...

