I wasn’t so sure about This Means War. Tom Hardy and Chris Pine fighting over Reese Witherspoon in a wannabe action, spy flick/romance combo? This had all the makings to be a disaster. Well I was pleasantly surprised it wasn’t. It actually really funny, sweet, and cute, with a little action in between.

This Means War

Starring: Reese Witherspoon, Chris Pine, Tom Hardy, Chelsea Handler, Angela Bassett

Premise: Tuck (Tom Hardy) and FDR (Chris Pine) are best friends first and CIA Operative partners second. They find have fallen for the same woman (Reese Witherspoon) and decide to compete in a “may the best man win” competition over her. The only difference between this and other rom-coms? Tuck and FDR have the backings of the entire CIA resources behind them, flashy spy toys ARE included.

My Review: Let’s just get this out of the way…Chris Pine’s eyes are an shade of blue, and that dude is tall! My friend and I were arguing who we’d pick, Chris Pine or Tom Hardy. I voted for Chris while my friend chose Tom, but honestly I wouldn’t turn either of them down. The slight edge went to Chris only because there’s this amazing shot of him backlight, with a leather jacket looking all James Dean and my heart melts for the blue-eyed hottie. But enough of that, now onto my review…

This movie was adorable. Really. And it comes close to being a classic. (I said close. Maybe not While You Were Sleeping Quality, but along the lines of Sweet Home Alabama and Wedding Planner.) It was a smart movie and really fun to watching making me forget the real vs. not real. Usually I tend to get distracted by things that seem unbelievable or implausible. But I just had fun and went along for the crazy, insane ride it took me on.

Tuck and FDR — unfortunate character names aside — hold this movie together with their weird bond. In fairness, Tuck finds Lauren first, from a dating site. The two get along right away. Tuck is sweet and kind and charming and it’s all just very easy. But when Lauren meets FDR they don’t hit it off. She can see right through him, but there are undeniable sparks immediately. Lauren, a seemingly normal girl, decides to give both guys a chance, turning their friendship into a rivalry…involving guns…and explosions…and fast cars.

Though the whole spy thing could be seen as a gimmick, Tuck and FDR’s friendship, brotherly rivalry, and fierce chemistry are what make this movie good. And adding Reese Witherspoon to the mix is just extra icing on the already delicious cake. Who doesn’t want to see a girl decide between two unbelievably hot men? (We all wish for it and if we can’t have it at least we can watch it – but if I’m wishing for things I’ll just wish for the ONE man, thank you.)

I saw this movie at a sneak preview on Valentine’s Day and it was the perfect movie to see. It wasn’t overly romantic or cheesy or “boo-hoo, how come I’m single on Valentine’s Day?”. It was light, and breezy and had it all. Chris Pine has the devilishly good looks, Tom Hardy has the sweet, British charm, and Reese Witherspoon rounds it out as the neurotic but sparky beauty bringing out something different in each of these men. See it for a laugh. See it for a good time. It’s safe to bring a guy, a best friend, a stranger across the street. And one thing you can take away from it, “just because he’s the best guy, doesn’t mean he’s the right guy.” We learn something new every day.

 

Rating: 3 ½ (possibly 4 stars).

 

 

 

 

Comments
  1. JustMeMike says:

    I got a good dense of how much you enjoyed this film – you rated it 3.5 out of 4. I gave it 3.75 out of five. I guess I was not so enamored of Pine’s FDR as you, and I wasn’t expecting Reese, who gets top billing to play 2nd fiddle to the guys. Go figure.

    Thanks for the good read.

    jmm

Riddle me this...

