Well the Golden Globes has come and gone. There were some surprises most definitely, but it’s usually the SAG Awards that are closest to the Oscars so there’s still hope for some of my favorite actors this year to win that golden man. For the complete list of winners click here.

Otherwise check out my thoughts below…enjoy!

 

BEST TELEVISION SERIES – DRAMA

Nominees: American Horror Story, Boardwalk Empire, Boss, Game of Thrones, Homeland

Who I Thought Would Win:  Boardwalk Empire

Who I Wanted To Win:  Homeland

 

WINNER: Homeland

Seriously one of the best shows on TV right now. The acting is phenomenal and the show deserved this win, definitely.


BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A TELEVISION SERIES – DRAMA

Nominees: Claire Danes,  Mireille Enos, Julianna Margulies, Madeleline Stowe, Callie Thorne

Who I Thought Would Win:  Claire Danes

Who I Wanted To Win:  Claire Danes

 

WINNER: Claire Danes

I am so psyched she won. She’s amazing in Homeland and that dress she’s wearing is gorgeous.


BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A TELEVISION SERIES – DRAMA

Nominees: Steve Buschemi, Bryan Cranston, Kelsey Grammer, Jeremy Irons, Damian Lewis

Who I Thought Would Win:  Steve Buschemi or Bryan Cranston

Who I Wanted To Win:  Damian Lewis

 

WINNER: Kelsey Grammar 

I did not see that coming. Honestly, I’ve never even heard of Boss. I’m shocked the winner wasn’t from a more well-known TV show.


BEST TELEVISION SERIES – COMEDY OR MUSICAL

Nominees: Enlightened, Episodes, Glee, Modern Family, New Girl

Who I Thought Would Win:  Modern Family

Who I Wanted To Win:  New Girl

 

WINNER: Modern Family


BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A TELEVISION SERIES –COMEDY OR MUSICAL

Nominees: Laura Dern, Zooey Deschanel, Tina Fey, Laura Linney, Amy Poehler

Who I Thought Would Win:  Laura Dern or Laura Linney

Who I Wanted To Win:  Laura Linney

WINNER: Laura Dern


BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A TELEVISION SERIES – COMEDY OR MUSICAL

Nominees: Alec Baldwin, David Duchovny, Johnny Galecki, Thomas Jane, Matt LeBlanc

Who I Thought Would Win:  Alec Baldwin

Who I Wanted To Win:  Johnny Galecki 

WINNER: Matt LeBlanc

This was a big surprise to me because Episodes is just okay. LeBlanc does a good job, but he’s also playing a version of himself. However, what surprised me more, was the comments after they announced his win that he was previously nominated for his TV show Joey. Really? Really?


BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE IN A SERIES, MINI-SERIES OR MOTION PICTURE MADE FOR TELEVISION

Nominees: Jessica Lange, Kelly MacDonald, Maggie Smith, Sofia Vergara,  Evan Rachel Wood

Who I Think Will Win:  Kelly MacDonald

Who I Want To Win:  Jessica Lange

 

WINNER: Jessica Lange

Jessica Lange is great in American Horror Story. Her win was no surprise and a surprise at the same time.


BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE IN A SERIES, MINI-SERIES OR MOTION PICTURE MADE FOR TELEVISION

Nominees: Peter Dinklage, Paul Giamatti, Guy Pearce, Tim Robbins, Eric Stonestreet

Who I Think Will Win:  Paul Giamatti

Who I Want To Win:  Peter Dinklage

WINNER: Peter Dinklage   (YAY!)


BEST MOTION PICTURE – COMEDY OR MUSICAL

Nominees: 50/50, The Artist, Bridesmaids, Midnight In Paris, My Week With Marilyn

Who I Thought Would Win: The Artist

Who I Wanted To Win:  The Artist

WINNER: The Artist

The Artist felt old school and fresh at the same time. It definitely deserved this win.


BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A MOTION PICTURE – COMEDY OR MUSICAL

Nominees: Jodi Foster, Charlize Theron, Kristen Wiig, Michelle Williams, Kate Winslet

Who I Thought Would Win:  Michelle Williams 

Who I Wanted To Win:  Michelle Williams

 

WINNER: Michelle Williams


BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A MOTION PICTURE – COMEDY OR MUSICAL

Nominees: Jean Dujardin, Brendan Gleeson, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Ryan Gosling, Owen Wilson

Who I Thought Would Win:  Jean Dujardin

Who I Wanted To Win:  Joseph Gordon-Levitt

WINNER: Jean Dujardin

His speech was totally classy and just seeing his face makes me smile. I knew JGL was a long shot, so I’m happy Dujardin won.


BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE IN A MOTION PICTURE

Nominees: Bernice Bejo, Jessica Chastain,  Janet McTeer, Octavia Spencer, Shailene Woodley

Who I Thought Would Win:  Octavia Spencer

Who I Wanted To Win:  Jessica Chastain or Octavia Spencer

 

WINNER: Octavia Spencer

Anyone notice Octavia Spencer mouthing “he’s cute” when Channing Tatum took the stage? Cute! I also love Melissa McCarthy crying during Octavia’s speech. So sweet.

Golden Globe awards: Octavia Spencer wins best supporting actress, Idris Elba wins for 'Luther'


BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE IN A MOTION PICTURE

Nominees: Kenneth Branagh,  Albert Brooks, Johan Hill, Viggo Mortensen,  Christopher Plummer

Who I Thought Would Win:  Christopher Plummer

Who I Wanted To Win:  Christopher Plummer

 

WINNER: Christopher Plummer (YAY!)

He deserves an Oscar. He better get it.


BEST DIRECTOR – MOTION PICTURE

Nominees: Woody Allen, George Clooney, Michel Hazanavicius, Alexander Payne, Martin Scorsese

Who I Thought Would Win:  Michel Hazanavicius

Who I Wanted To Win:  Michel Hazanavicius

 

WINNER: Martin Scorcese

This was actually a shocker. Hugo was good, and Scorcese is a legend, but I think Michel Hazanavicius should have won.

Lucy Nicholson / Reuters



BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A MOTION PICTURE – DRAMA

Nominees: Glenn Close, Viola Davis, Rooney Mara, Meryl Streep, Tilda Swinton

Who I Thought Would Win: Viola Davis

Who I Wanted To Win: Viola Davis

WINNER: Meryl Streep

I mean, the world loves Meryl Streep, I love Meryl Streep and honestly I haven’t seen Iron Lady, but I think/hope Viola Davis will win the Oscar.


BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A MOTION PICTURE – DRAMA

Nominees: George Clooney, Leonardo Dicaprio, Michael Fassbender, Ryan Gosling, Brad Pitt

Who I Thought Would Win:  George Clooney

Who I Wanted To Win:  Leonardo Dicaprio

WINNER: George Clooney

I’m happy he won. But Leonardo Dicaprio deserves the award as well. George played a version of himself, Dicaprio played someone else entirely.



BEST MOTION PICTURE – DRAMA

Nominees: The Descendants, The Help, Hugo, The Ides of March, Moneyball, War Horse

Who I Thought would Win:   The Help

Who I Wanted To Win:  The Help or The Descendants

WINNER: The Descendants

Thought this was indeed an excellent movie. I think The Help should have won.


Well guys, what did you think of the Golden Globe Awards? Were you as surprised by Matt LeBlanc’s win as I was? Or even more so the fact that he was nominated for JOEY for a Golden Globe Award? 

 

 

 

Riddle me this...

