Golden Globes 2012: My Predictions

Posted: January 14, 2012 in award season, movies, TV
Tags:

Award Season is upon us once again. It’s time to watch all our favorite stars dress up in fancy clothes and pick our winners for the year’s favorite movies, actors, actresses. Below, find MOST of nominations for for the 2012 Golden Globes. For the complete list click here.

Also see my predictions for who will win, versus who I want to win. Check back Monday (Globes are Sunday Night) too see if I was right! And the nominees are…

BEST MOTION PICTURE – DRAMA

  • The Descendants
  • The Help
  • Hugo
  • The Ides of March
  • Moneyball
  • War Horse

Who I Think Will Win:   The Help
Who I Want To Win:  The Help or The Descendants


BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A MOTION PICTURE – DRAMA

  • Glenn Close,   “Albert Nobbs”
  • Viola Davis,   “The Help”
  • Rooney Mara,    “The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo”
  • Meryl Streep,   “The Iron Lady”
  • Tilda Swinton,   “We Need To Talk About Kevin”
Who I Think Will Win: Viola Davis
Who I Want To Win: Viola Davis

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A MOTION PICTURE – DRAMA
  • George Clooney, “The Descendants”
  • Leonardo Dicaprio,   “J. Edgar”
  • Michael Fassbender,   “Shame”
  • Ryan Gosling,   “The Ides of March”
  • Brad Pitt,   “Moneyball”
Who I Think Will Win:  George Clooney
Who I Want To Win:  Leonardo Dicaprio, but I’ll be okay if Clooney wins…

BEST MOTION PICTURE – COMEDY OR MUSICAL
  • 50/50
  • The Artist
  • Bridesmaids
  • Midnight In Paris
  • My Week With Marilyn
Who I Think Will Win: The Artist
Who I Want To Win:  The Artist

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A MOTION PICTURE – COMEDY OR MUSICAL
  • Jodi Foster,   “Carnage”
  • Charlize Theron,   “Young Adult”
  • Kristen Wiig,   “Bridesmaids”
  • Michelle Williams,   “My Week With Marilyn”
  • Kate Winslet,   “Carnage”
Who I Think Will Win:  Michelle Williams 
Who I Want To Win:  Michelle Williams

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A MOTION PICTURE – COMEDY OR MUSICAL
  • Jean Djardin,  “The Artist”
  • Brendan Gleeson,  “The Guard”
  • Joseph Gordon-Levitt,  “50/50”
  • Ryan Gosling,   “Crazy Stupid Love”
  • Owen Wilson,   “Midnight In Paris”
Who I Think Will Win:  Jean Djardin
Who I Want To Win:  Joseph Gordon-Levitt(I KNOW this is a long-shot, but his performace was fantastic in this movie)

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE IN A MOTION PICTURE
  • Bernice Bejo,   “The Artist”
  • Jessica Chastain,   “The Help”
  • Janet McTeer,   “Albert Nobbs”
  • Octavia Spencer,   “The Help”
  • Shailene Woodley,   “The Descendants”
Who I Think Will Win:  Octavia Spencer
Who I Want To Win:  Jessica Chastain, I’ll be okay if Octavia Spencer wins, but Jessica Chastain won me over with her performance.

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE IN A MOTION PICTURE
  • Kenneth Branagh,   “My Week With Marilyn”
  • Albert Brooks,   “Drive”
  • Johan Hill,   “Moneyball”
  • Viggo Mortensen,   “A Dangerous Mind”
  • Christopher Plummer,   “Beginners”
Who I Think Will Win:  Christopher Plummer
Who I Want To Win:  Christopher Plummer

BEST DIRECTOR – MOTION PICTURE
  • Woody Allen,   “Midnight In Paris”
  • George Clooney,   “The Ides of March”
  • Michel Hazanavicius,   “The Artist”
  • Alexander Payne,   “The Descendants”
  • Martin Scorsese,   “Hugo”
Who I Think Will Win:  Michel Hazanavicius
Who I Want To Win:  Michel Hazanavicius

BEST TELEVISION SERIES – DRAMA
  •  American Horror Story
  • Boardwalk Empire
  • Boss
  • Game of Thrones
  • Homeland
Who I Think Will Win:  Boardwalk Empire
Who I Want To Win:  Homeland

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A TELEVISION SERIES – DRAMA
  • Claire Danes,   “Homeland”
  • Mireille Enos,   “The Killing”
  • Julianna Margulies,   “The Good Wife”
  • Madeleline Stowe,   “Revenge”
  • Callie Thorne,   “Necessary Roughness”
Who I Think Will Win:  Claire Danes
Who I Want To Win:  Claire Danes (if anyone else but her wins, it’d be a travesty)

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A TELEVISION SERIES – DRAMA
  • Steve Buschemi,   “Boardwalk Empire”
  • Bryan Cranston,   “Breaking Bad”
  • Kelsey Grammer,   “Boss”
  • Jeremy Irons,   “The Borgais”
  • Damian Lewis,   “Homeland”
Who I Think Will Win:  Steve Buschemi or Bryan Cranston
Who I Want To Win:  Damian Lewis

BEST TELEVISION SERIES – COMEDY OR MUSICAL
  • Enlightened
  • Episodes
  • Glee
  • Modern Family
  • New Girl
Who I Think Will Win:  Modern Family
Who I Want To Win:  New Girl

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A TELEVISION SERIES –COMEDY OR MUSICAL
  • Laura Dern,   “Enlightened”
  • Zooey Deschanel,   “New Girl”
  • Tina Fey,   “30 Rock”
  • Laura Linney,   “The Big C”
  • Amy Poehler,   “Parks And Recreation”
Who I Think Will Win:  Laura Dern or Laura Linney
Who I Want To Win:  Laura Linney

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A TELEVISION SERIES – COMEDY OR MUSICAL
  • Alec Baldwin,   “30 Rock”
  • David Duchovny,   “Californication”
  • Johnny Galecki,  “Big Bang Theory”
  • Thomas Jane,   “Hung”
  • Matt LeBlanc,   “Episodes”
Who I Think Will Win:  Alec Baldwin
Who I Want To Win:  Johnny Galecki (Although how was Jim Parsons not nominated)

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE IN A SERIES, MINI-SERIES OR MOTION PICTURE MADE FOR TELEVISION
  • Jessica Lange,   “American Horror Story”
  • Kelly MacDonald,   “Boardwalk Empire”
  • Maggie Smith,   “Downtown Abbey (Mastepiece)”
  • Sofia Vergara,   “Modern Family”
  • Evan Rachel Wood,   “Mildred Pierce”
Who I Think Will Win:  Kelly MacDonald
Who I Want To Win:  Jessica Lange

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE IN A SERIES, MINI-SERIES OR MOTION PICTURE MADE FOR TELEVISION
  • Peter Dinklage,   “Game Of Thrones”
  • Paul Giamatti,   “Too Big To Fail”
  • Guy Pearce,   “Mildred Pierce”
  • Tim Robbins,   “Cinema Verite”
  • Eric Stonestreet,   “Modern Family”
Who I Think Will Win:  Paul Giamatti
Who I Want To Win:  Peter Dinklage

~ ~ ~ ~
Well those are my predictions for the 2012 Golden Globes. Do you agree disagree? Who do you want to win? Watch the Golden Globes Sunday Jan 15th, or come back Monday to find out how my predictions held up!
Happy Award Season everyone!!!
Comments
  1. bookcellarnh says:

    I’m rooting for Octavia Spencer to win Best Support Actress. She read the part of Minnie on the audiobook of The Help, and was just perfect. She was equally perfect in the movie. Jessica Chastain was great too, and really brought humanity to what could easily have been a cartoonish role.

Riddle me this...

