Okay, here it is. The list you’ve been waiting for! There were many good movies this year, and I went back and forth as to what should be on my Top 10. What makes a good movie for me is story, characters, cast, interesting camerawork, and acting. If any one of these pieces are missing, the movie falls short. These movies below have all those things, sure they’re not perfect, but they are pretty darn close.

 

Of the movies I have seen…

The Runners Up for Top Movies are:

Win Win (my review) (Paul Giamatti is fantastic in this), Super 8 (my review) (brought back the nostalgia of E.T. and Close Encounters of the Third Kind), Attack The Block (my review) (the perfect little alien invasion movie set in the ghetto. Hardcore. Creepy. Love it.)

 

And My Top 10 Movies of 2011 are:


10. The Muppets

Muppets was silly, and cheesy and brought back a lot of nostalgia. It’s one of those movies that made me feel like it a kid again. Everyone looked like they were having so much fun and how could you not when Kermit and Miss Piggy around. But not only that, there was a story with heart, wrap that up in a neat little bow and you have the perfect movie for everyone.

 


9.    J. Edgar   

(my review)

J. Edgar was a dark thriller biopic on J. Edgar Hoover, but it was more than that. There was a story of love and partnership in there that was really affecting.

 


8.    The Rise of The Planet Of The Apes  

(my review)

I was not a fan of the franchise or even Franco, but this movie was great. Even if the monkey CGI needed a little help, Caesar had personality and his feelings were relatable. Just please, no more sign-language with subtitles between the monkeys. I mean really?

 


7. Mission Impossible 4: Ghost Protocol

(my review)

Action! Action! Action! Unrelenting action, that (for the most part) fits the story. It’s the ultimate popcorn action movie, just like Transformers, only this movie was actually really good. The characters were likeable, there was a plot (minimal, but it was there) and the actors were committed 100%.

 


6. Captain America

(my review)

This is the first movie about a true superhero. Steve Rogers was good from the beginning, through and through. He had courage, he had bravery, he had guts. All he needed was the hot bod to get him there. Everyone loves and underdog story.

 


5. Thor

(my review)

 I may be a bit biased. But Thor had a lot of glitz. Asgard and Jotenheim were well thought out and the special effects made it look fantastic (unlike Green Lantern’s other world which just looked CGI’d.) I always like movies where someone is plucked out of their natural habitat and forced to exist under unfamiliar circumstances

 


4. The Beginners

Maybe it’s the sweet, sweet sound of Ewan McGregors voice (that man could read to me every night), or maybe it was the way he talk to his cute dog – something about this movie was so adorable. The subject matter was pretty serious, but the superb acting talents of McGregor made this movie light, sweet, smart, and also powerful.

 


3. The Descendants

(my review)

I always thought Clooney leaving ER would be his biggest mistake, especially since he started his movie career with the likes of Three Kings (I don’t know I never saw the movie, but I assumed it was awful.) But after Up In The Air, the man started growing on me and after The Descendants, I think I’m a fan. Almost. Also Shailene Woodley’s performance put this movie over the top for me. I never thought I’d say that about a girl who stars in The Secret Life Of The American Teenager.

 


2. The Help

(my review)

Great story, excellent acting, scenes that brought tears to my eyes. This movie is definitely one of the best of the year. Plus it put Jessica Chastain on my radar with her fantastic performance as the ditzy Celia. This movie would have been #1 if I didn’t have such a soft spot for…

 


1. Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows, Part 2

(my review)

Yes, it’s part of a rocky movie franchise. Yes it had some cons in relation to the final book. But there’s no denying that Harry Potter isn’t visually stunning. The series managed to create an entire world that will never be forgotten. And let’s not forget the (in my opinion) Oscar Nomination worthy performance from Alan Rickman. I will never forget Harry Potter (Please say that name in a scary old lady British accent for full effect)

 

What do you think of my list? What do you think? Am I crazy? Probably but who cares! This is my list and in all fair due warning, I did tell you I was a crazy person!

Happy New Year everyone!!

Riddle me this...

