Glee Review: Pot O’ Gold

Posted: November 2, 2011 in glee, TV
Tags: , , , , ,

Though this episode furthered the plot in a lot of ways. It just didn’t do it for me. The song choices were off and none of the characters (minus Damien McGinty, and Burt Hummel) were likeable. Glee, where did you go? You were on a role for a while!

Glee

Pot O’ Gold

We start the show being introduced to none other than Damian McGinty. And first thoughts…adorable, but his eyebrows move too much. However, his interactions with Brittany are great, thanks all to Heather Morris. Brittany really can’t understand Rory (Damian McGinty), I’m pretty sure he’s making his accent thicker because sometimes I barely can.

Meanwhile, Sue is still bent on getting rid of the arts. She convinces the city to call McKinley High outraged that the school production of West Side Story costs $2,004 (a math teachers salary, dontcha know?). And it works, Figgins is intimidated into getting rid of the musical despite the fact that Sue’s pom-pom budget is $4,000 a month. This means Will has to find a way to get the money on his own.

Now that Mercedes has joined Shelby’s new Glee Club. She decides to recruit some of the other members of New Directions. The thing that doesn’t make sense is that okay, Mercedes the alternative club so she can get more solo’s but then she tries to recruit Santana and Brittany into the group so they can get solo’s as well. Isn’t that counterproductive? Anyway, Finn eavesdrops on her in the act and he doesn’t like it, but it seems like she convinced Santana to go over to the dark side.

As for the Glee Club, they all start turning on each other, and it’s annoying. Especially with Quinn acting like a bitch, and Rachel being so neurotic. Sometimes I wish Glee didn’t make their characters so grating, but I wouldn’t really know how to fix it. Blaine had the best point, when they lose one member they should replace him or her with another. No use keeping someone around who doesn’t want to be there – no matter how they sing.

Finn runs into Rory, who is separating all the marshmallows from the Lucky Charms (Brittany’s first wish). He finds out Rory somewhat idolizes him, is a virgin, and wants to hook up with Brittany S. Pierce. Rory is living with Britt as an exchange student but other than that, he finds it hard to make friends. Finn agrees to be Rory’s friend if he spies on Brittany and Santana for him. But I don’t know if I really believe this because upon witnessing Rory being bullied, Finn just looks the other way. However, Rory agrees and gives him the cutest smile.

Back to the Quinn getting her baby back story, Puck and her somehow manage to convince Shelby to let them babysit Beth. Once Shelby leaves, Quinn starts with the sabotage. She places items around the house that make Shelby seem like an unfit mother then vows to call child protective services. This way she’ll get Beth back, only her reasonings are selfish. Beth is just a thing to her. Something to make her feel better about herself. She’s not thinking of the child. Puck, however, isn’t so into Quinn’s idea. He thinks Shelby is doing great with their kid. Shelby even helps Puck out with a steady job as an indoor pool manager.

Brittany and Santana become “official” but I don’t know if Brittany really understands what being official with Santana means, and it seems as if Santana doesn’t think so either. She’s still skeptical, and she’s still hiding the relationship at all. Santana tries to convince Brittany to join Shelby’s Glee Club, but Brittany isn’t so sure.

As for the whiteboard word (or words) of the day: The Magic is back. But no Brittany, Schue does know about your Leprechaun. The school musical is BACK ON thanks to the hard work of Burt Hummel, Best Dad on TV now, who attempted to knock Sue off her pedestal. And it was awesome. Blaine, trying to lift the spirits of Glee sings “This Friday Night.” It’s in true Darren Criss’ corny fashion, but I can’t help thinking it’d be better with the back-up of the Warblers. I miss them. While ALMOST everyone looks to be having fun, Santana is still Ms. Sour Puss. And Santana still wants out of Glee. Out? In? Out? In? Just pick a place Santana. And if its Shelby’s Club can you take Quinn with you?

Schue, seeing Burt stand up to Sue, wants Burt to run against Sue and he’s in. “Your Glee Club saved my kids life.” I’m kind of excited for this story line and glad Burt has more to do than being Kurt’s cheerleader, though I wasn’t complaining about that. Burt goes onto Sue’s talk show standing up for the arts. He speaks so eloquently, I kinda want to go “yeah!” and pump my fist when he’s done. God, I love that man.

Puck visits Shelby to thank her for helping him out and undoes all of Quinn’s evilness. Beth is sobbing up a storm so Puck Serenades her. Surprisingly, Puck would make a great dad. And I love his acoustic version of “Waiting For A Girl” it was so simple and sweet. Shelby, overwhelmed, unloads on Puck with everything she’s dealing with. Puck says he’ll help Shelby out however he can, and takes her hand. Uh oh. Though I took it more as a sweet offering for a teenage father, I hope it doesn’t go down the road of Shelby and Puck having an affair. But this is a Ryan Murphy Comedic Soap afterall… (Spoiler alert, 15 minutes later, I find out the answer).

After Rory tells Finn that Santana convinced Brittany to quit Glee, Finn confronts them. He says that the club needs her. But when Brittany tells him she had to leave because of the leprechaun wish Finn goes off and calls her an idiot. Hasn’t he learned anything from what happened with Artie. Don’t call Brittany stupid. Something switches in Brittany and she’s lost forever. Gone to the all girls Glee Club. NO, NOT BRITTANY!

The first performance by Shelby’s new Glee Club The Trouble Tones, is “Candyman” complete with period garb. I’m not that impressed, but Finn and Schue think its trouble.

You know for a girl who thinks being called an “idiot” is bullying, Brittany is totally blind to the fact that her girlfriend bullies other people around, including her. After Brittany tells, Rory there isn’t such things as leprechauns, she basically turns her back on him and Santana tells him to disappear. Now Rory has no friends. However, Finn, mans up, as he always seems to do, and keeps his end of the bargain. He not only befriends Rory, but sticks up for him and introduces him to the Glee Club. To prove he’s worthy, Rory sings “Take Care of Yourself” and I like it much better than “Bein’ Green.” Sure it was mellow, but his falsetto was pretty great. I think he’s a great addition to the Glee Club.

Overall this episode had its ups and downs. I’m not too keen on the song choices or where the plots are heading with this two Glee Club ordeal or with Shelby and Puck kissing, but I love the idea of Burt running against Sue. I also love the new character Rory, but I think Damien needs another episode of acting under his belt to really let go.

Quotes: (There were a lot of them!)

“First of all you look magical and amazing, but I don’t understand what you’re saying so if you want to make it in this land you need to learn to speak English.” – Brittany

“Wait other people can see you?” – Brittany to Rory. It was her delivery.

“Will, I’m stuck between a hard rock and a different, but equally as hard rock.” – Principal Figgins.

“No you can’t cancel the musical, I was considering changing my name to Maria.” – Rachel

“Someone’s gotta look out for Brittany. I mean, that special place where she lives? Sure, it’s beautiful but someone’s got to help her across the street.” – Santana about Brit-Brit.

“I like everything about America including NASCAR, your half-black president, and Victoria Secret catalogs.” – Rory.

“I really want to snog her” – Rory

“I thought America was all different many people coming together and accepting each other.” – Rory
“That’s an old brochure dude.” – Finn

Finn regarding Brittany: “She’s kind of like Rain Man with boobs.”

Brittany to Santana: “What? That Sour Patch Kids are just Gummy Bears that turned to drugs?” (AWESOME QUOTE)

“Here’s the deal pixie boy. You’ve got a crush on my girl Brittany. I understand, she’s beautiful, she’s innocent. She’s everything that’s good in this miserable stinking world. Do you agree? Nod. Good. Also she thinks you’re a spritely green mythical creature, but I know you’re a potato eating poser. But since Brittany likes having a pet Irish, I’m not going to explode you.” Santana to Rory.

“That’s right, double stuffed, fatty, gassy, McGravy pants. We’re just one big happy happy family. You are such a bacon-wrapped bug-eyed hypocrite. It’s friggin’ hilarious how jealous of Blaine you are. Every time he opens his dreamboat a cappella mouth, you’re just itching to kick him right in the Warblers.” – Santana to Finn

“You know what I did not just leave one diva driven club to join another. So let me write you a reality check Richie Bitch. I’ve seen what you can do and what you can do is stand in the back, sway, and sing very, very quietly.” – Santana to Sugar Motta.

 

Random Thoughts

  • Damien’s accent is so thick it makes it hard to quote him.
  • Brittany’s smile when Santana said. “I wish you’d hold my hand, like under the napkin…” was so adorable.
  • I’m pretty sure every with every shot of Damien McGinty, his hair gets higher and higher.
  • Kitty poo cookie – gross!
  • Glad to see Santana’s fantastic crazy rantings are back.

Songs

“Bein’ Green” – Damien’s voice is nice, but this song didn’t show it off. I wish they jazzed it up or changed it up somehow and didn’t’ stick so close to the original. His voice reminds me of Michael Buble. Extra points for the Kermit The Frog Song. Grade: B-

“Last Friday Night” – They looked like they were having fun. But I hate this song to death! And I think it would have been better if it was performed by the Warblers. The harmony would have been fuller. Grade: C

“Waiting For A Girl Like You” – Sweet in context and I love Mark Salling’s voice. I also love how simple it was. Grade: B-

“Candy Man” – Didn’t do it for me. But the costumes and dancing were great. Grade: C+

“Take Care of Yourself” – I thought Damien McGinty did a great job with this song. It was sweet and his baby face is adorable. Plus he showed great range, and I loved his falsetto voice. Grade: B+

 

 

Comments
  1. Paige says:

    If you need help quoting Damian, I’d be glad to offer it!! I’ve been a fan of his for years and words fail me to describe how much I adore his voice xD.

    And Michael Buble is one of his favorite singers! He hasn’t recorded any of his songs yet, though 😦 (except a duet of “Haven’t Met You Yet”) Really hope he does “Hold On” very soon.

  2. Paige says:

    You’re probably right about that. Though, if you look up some interviews from several years ago, he was almost worse than he was on Glee! Still adorable, though =D.

  3. MaCL says:

    I understand Damian just fine, had absolutely no trouble with this episode. However, Brittany’s comment about the gummi bears I didn’t understand at all. I even replayed the scene and still couldn’t figure out what she said. If you hadn’t quoted it I still wouldn’t know what she said. And that isn’t the only example. I rarely understand her.

  4. Bethal says:

    Another Quote: (although this is from memory fo forgive me if I “misquote”)

    (Rory) Finn Hudson, that’s Irish right?
    (Finn) No…my mom’s from Toledo

    As always I enjoyed the show… very glad Puck took away Quinn’s incriminating crap from Shelby’s condo but not glad about the teacher/student romance and the makeup dept needs to switch Brittany’s and Rory’s lipstick! (Hers is too light and his was too girly!)

    Vote for Burt Hummel!!!

  5. Cheryl says:

    I think Damian’s interpretation of “Green” was awesome. I have always loved that song and the fact that it could be interpreted so many ways. I had never seen it as being green as in the new kid, but he really did a great job showing that. I also loved his voice on “Take Care of Yourself” what an amazing falseto. I can’t wait to see more of him.

  6. I seldom drop responses, but I read some of the remarks here Glee Review: Pot O Gold | Rants Of A Crazy Person.
    I actually do have a couple of questions for you if it’s okay. Could it be just me or does it give the impression like some of these remarks look like they are coming from brain dead people? 😛 And, if you are posting at other online sites, I would like to keep up with you. Would you list of all of all your social community sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

    • Haha yes! It does seem like it sometimes, but it’s the internet so I expect it! The sites I visit and sometimes post at are: Entertainment Weekly, Pop Sugar/Buzz Sugar, Zap2it, and EOnline. I’m currently thinking about creating a Facebook page for this site so I will keep you posted on that. Thanks so much for stopping by, reading, and commenting!

Riddle me this...

