My friends say I’m always too critical when I watch movies. I’m the first to point out when something doesn’t make sense or is completely ridiculous. They say I need to just sit back and enjoy the movie. But you know what? The problem isn’t me. It’s the movie. If I’m focusing on what’s wrong with the movie then it’s doing something wrong.

With 50/50 there was nothing to complain about. Except for the fact that I didn’t bring tissues. That was big mistake.

50/50

Starring: Joseph Gordon Levitt, Seth Rogan, Anna Kendrick, Angelica Houston, Bryce Dallas Howard

Premise: Adam visits the doctor after feeling a pain in his back. That pain turns out to be a fast growing tumor giving him the survival odds of 50/50. This movie follows Adam as he copes with the disease through therapy and how it affects his relationships between his friends and family.

My review: Let me just get right to the point. This movie is good. Really, really good.

I’ve never known anyone that has had cancer or been through an illness, but this movie affected me in a way that had me crying through most of the last half of the movie. I found my eyes welling up at subtle moments, at sweet moments and I think that’s what I loved most about this movie. The movie didn’t purposefully tug at the heartstrings or try and manipulate the viewer into crying, you cried because you got attached to Adam. Adam’s response and coping mechanisms were so realistic, I just couldn’t help but feel for the dude.

There’s nothing unlikeable about Adam. He is not perfect. He is definitely flawed, but there was something about the way Joseph Gordon Levitt played him that made him utterly relatable. That being said, Joseph Gordon Levitt is pretty damn amazing. I liked him Inception, I really liked him in 500 Days Of Summer…I LOVED him in 50/50. His performance was genuine and believable, and subtle. He managed to balance out the larger personalities of the movie: his loud and obnoxiously goofy best friend, his spoiled girlfriend, and his neurotic, newbie therapist who wanted so much to do and say the right thing. And each of their respective actors, Seth Rogan, Bryce Dallas Howard, and the lovely Anna Kendrick, managed to make those characters three dimensional adding layers of personality instead of making them cartoon stereotypes.

Warning: See this with a lot of tissues. Don’t try and brave it out like I did, because you will end up with snot everywhere. Too much information? Probably, yes, but you will thank me! Joseph Gordon Levitt has one line in particular nearing the end of the movie that killed me. It’s probably exactly what I would say and do if I were in that situation and it made me bawl like a baby.

Overall, this movie was really fantastic. Thanks to Joseph Gordon Levitt. In the hands of any other actor this movie could have become too Lifetime Movie Of The Week. Watch it. And bring tissues…or at least bring a napkin from the concession stand!

 

Rating: 4 Stars

 

 

 

Comments
  1. yaykisspurr says:

    This review really made me want to see this movie! Thanks 🙂

Riddle me this...

