Movie Review: One Day

Posted: August 21, 2011 in movie reviews, movies
Tags: , , ,

Because of lackluster reviews, I wasn’t expecting much from One Day. However, I was pleasantly surprised as to how invested I was in the story and the characters. I think a lot of that has to do with the likability of Jim Sturgess and Anne Hathaway.

 

One Day

Starring: Anne Hathaway, Jim Sturgess, Patricia Clarkson

Premise: Emma and Dexter are two college students who hooked up one day and became friends. This movie, based on a book by David Niccolls, visits that couple on one day, the same day, every year of their friendship, relationship, and love, letting us see how they change and grow and learn from each other together and apart.

My Review: This movie had one thing a lot of movie lacks, and that’s character development. We spent a lot of time getting to know Emma (Anne Hathaway) and Dexter (Jim Sturgess) and watching their relationship change. We loved them, we hated them, and we felt for them. Ultimately, they were two people that came across people we know. In a way, their characters were almost like looking into a mirror. Rather than watching two beautiful people act, I felt like I was watching my life on screen.

I’m a big fan of Anne Hathaway. In fact, except for Havoc and Becoming Jane, I’ve seen all of her movies. There’s just something about her that’s appealing. And I think her performance and personality in this movie is a big part to why I liked it so much. Awful British accent aside, Anne’s, Emma, was completely relatable.  I think we can all relate to the unsuccessful ugly duckling, pining after someone you’ll never have. And in part, being able to relate to that fact, and understand it, is what gets you so invested into the story. Emma is the girl you are, you want to be, and you hope to someday become all in one.

My biggest qualm about this movie is that we spent so much time rooting for Dex and Emma as individuals and as a couple, that by the time they became a couple, that part of the story felt short and rushed. Yes the story of how they get there is exciting and interesting, but when they finally get there – to the place they’ve been fighting for – the audience needs payoff. I’m not saying the ending has to be puppies and rainbows and glitter, but I think seeing the couple together and happy is just as important as the journey to get there.

Overall, this movie is not the wreck people have been making it out to be. I didn’t read the book, so I can’t compare. But I felt like this movie took me on a journey and I enjoyed it. If you’re a sucker for romantic comedies and Anne Hathaway, you’ll enjoy it too. Here’s a tip though, it’s also a heart breaker so bring tissues! Or just rub your snot on your jeans so no one notices, like I do.

Rating: 3 ½ stars. 

 

 

Riddle me this...

