Crazy, Stupid, Love started off slow, but then about 30-40 minutes in, it got good. Like hilarious, fun, cute, crazy, stupid, makes-up-for-the-shaky beginning good.

 

Crazy, Stupid, Love
Starring: Steve Carrell, Ryan Gosling, Emma Stone, Julianne Moore, Kevin Bacon, Marisa Tomei.

Premise: Cal (Steve Carrell) has just been alerted by his wife that she wants a divorce. As Steve mourns for his marriage at a local bar, he’s intercepted by Jacob (Ryan Gosling) who’s a ladies man. Jacob takes Cal under his wing transforming him into someone women would want. Meanwhile, Jacob is surprised to find himself falling for only girl who turns him down at the bar. And he deals with the repercussions of potentially falling in love.

My Review: I’ll be honest the first half of this movie (and it’s only an hour and a half long) were REALLY slow – like the movie was trying to figure itself out. However, once Jacob gets together with Hannah (Emma Stone) the entire movie changes and I like it a lot. In fact, it redeems itself for the beginning half of the movie. That’s how good it gets. Some of that has to do with Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone’s chemistry, but MOST of it is because of Emma Stone. She just has this quality about her that makes you think, “I really like her.” She really knows how to take control of a movie. That entire scene with Hannah and Jacob at his house was pretty much just perfect. In fact, you can pretty much add her to my growing list of people who could be reading a grocery list on a movie screen with a paper bag over her head and I’d still watch. Also on that list, Stanley Tucci, Leonardo Dicaprio, and Sandra Bullock (Hey, I liked All About Steve!)

As for Ryan Gosling I’ve never been that big of a fan of him. I grew up watching him on Breaker High and Young Hercules (Man watching those clips bring me back to the 90’s), I liked his work on Murder By Numbers and Remember the Titans, and Lars and the Real Girl, but I’ve always been sort of neutral about him and never saw him as a heartthrob. Ryan’s work in this movie was a step in that direction. He showed romantic chops and comedic chops with smart and witty dialogue that wasn’t laced with *much* clichés or melodrama (I’m looking at you The Notebook!).

Unfortunately for Steve Carrell, though he did a formidable job with the more serious parts, Cal felt like a mixture of some of the other characters Steve has played before. Not to say that I didn’t enjoy his performance, it just didn’t feel like anything special or original. He didn’t bring anything new to the character.

Things I liked about this film:

  • Emma Stone
  • Ryan Gosling’s Abs
  • Ryan Gosling and Steve Carell’s Chemistry
  • Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone’s Chemistry
  • The twist I didn’t see coming. It was pretty good and I’m glad it wasn’t spoiled for me, so I won’t spoil it for you.
  • That fact that Hannah said exactly what everyone was thinking upon seeing Cal’s abs…and NO not the “photoshop” comment.
  • That the movie didn’t end all clean and tidy.
  • The phone call scene between Steve Carrell and Julianne Moore is picture perfect.

Things That Were Distracting (or not believable)

  • Analeigh Tipton aka “that girl from America’s Next Top Model”, playing a 17 year old. NOT BELIEVABLE.
  • *spoiler alert* A 17-year-old giving a 13-year-old a naked picture of herself, then leaving it around for her parents to find.. Really?
  • It’s not believable that a guy like Josh Groban wouldn’t want to hang onto a girl like Emma Stone.
  • Kevin Bacon and Marisa Tomei could have been played by anyone, but it was nice to see them.

Things I Didn’t Like About This Film

  • The seemingly 180 turn Cal did with Jacob – in almost a mean way.
  • The whole 17-year old falling for an older man didn’t really work for me.
  • How Cal was turned into the bad guy in the divorce, even though it was his wife’s fault.
  • The whole confrontation with the teacher. Really?


Overall, while there are certain things I’d change about this movie and certain situations I just didn’t quite believe, I did enjoy this movie. And most of that has to do with Emma Stone. So stick with it, it gets really good.

Stars: 3

Riddle me this...

