So You Think You Can Dance: 2 of 8 Eliminated

Posted: July 28, 2011 in So You Think You Can Dance, TV
Tags: , , , , , ,

It’s elimination again. Did your favorites make it? I think mine did. Let’s hope the judges and America make the right choice and vote Jordan and Ricky off. Well I’d love to keep Ricky, but I think it’s his time to go…

 

So You Think You Can Dance

2 of 8 Eliminated

Group Performance
Song: “The Circus Sets Up” Water For Elephants Soundtrack
Style: Contemporary
Performance: At first I wasn’t sure if I liked it, I didn’t think the music fit with the costumes and the ambiance, but in the end it won me over. I believe this routine was choreographed by Tyce and I have to say he did some great work here. I found myself mesmerized by Tadd’s zebra onesie and I loved the image of one of the girls riding on the back of Tadd like he was indeed that zebra. I also think Jess did some great work here and I love the idea of dancing like mimes (even though I hate them). They use their hands to create images and pictures and that’s what these dancers did. It had a very magic quality to it.
Rating: 8/10

Cat’s dress is a little too (to use a Project Runway word) “doubty” on top, but adorable on the bottom. Cat’s shoes are super high and I wonder how she doesn’t trip and fall down the stairs every time she walks in those things. She’s a pro! That’s why.  Gaga is not on the judges panel tonight, but that’s because she’s performing. This should be interesting. Especially since SYTYCD Alumni, Mark Kanemura, is one of her background dancers.

Bottom Four

  • Jordan
  • Caitlynn
  • Jess
  • Tadd

Whoa, whoa, whoa! Ricky is safe? What the butt? I mean I LOVE that kid but WHAT? Who’s going to go home now?? I don’t know. I’m so confused. I love Tadd, he has such great personality, and he’s a good dancer even if he has escaped without having an emotionally challenging performance. He’s just always been great. Jess, on the other hand, has had more of a journey. He’s grown and gotten better, and changed for the better I think. So the question is, who would I be more heart broken over losing? I guess…I’d have to say….Je…..Ta…..jessadd? Yeah that doesn’t help at all. I. Don’t. Know. As for the girls, called it! I think going home will be Caitlynn, only because the judges LOVE Jordan. But I do hope Jordan is the one to go home. Please say it’s so…

 

The LXD (Legion of Extraordinary Dancers) Dancers perform and it feels pretty epic. I think it has to do with the amazing song, “Bernini’s Angels” by Kerry Muzzey. There are some great tricks and contortions and isolations in there, but all I can think about is that girl’s white and blue dress with the black belt. It’s adorable! And that Asian girl doing the tutting…Bad Ass! And those two guys simultaneously tumbling and leaping to the side? So cool. I don’t know what I like the best. Cat is amazed…is she really amazed or is she just acting? Just kidding. Christopher Scott you choreographed a great routine. Even better, you performed in it too!

Solo’s

Who: Jordan
Song: “S&M by Rihanna
Performance:   I liked this solo out of all her other previous solos. It felt more complete, less frantic, less “trying to be sexy.” It actually felt like a thought out routine with a beginning, middle, and end.
Grade: 7/10

Who: Jess
Song: “Mack The Knife” by Kevin Spacey
Performance:  This Broadway solo routine was the least pretentious he’s ever done one of his solos and I’m actually able to focus on his spinning, spinning, spinning as it gets faster, faster, faster. I love that slide into a hop then collapse. That was cute. But okay, what’s with the “okay” gang sign flashing…there’s the pretentiousness. Still I’ll give his solo a…
Grade: 8/10

Who: Caitlynn
Song: “What Turns You On” by Katie Thompson
Performance:   While Jordan danced with more control this time around, I think Caitlynn danced with more abandon. She definitely tossed everything she could in there, but I still dug it. It was cute.
Grade: 7.5/10

Who: Tadd
Song: “Jump in Line” by Harry Bellafonte
Performance:   This song will always be the song from Beetlejuice for me. But moving on, Tadd’s solo goes like this: Air guitar. Dancing on hands. climbing on sets, flip, “okay, I believe you!”, hand spinny thing, spinning on the floor, pleading with judges, backwards flip almost right into the judges table. And Cat has her hands up in the air in disbelief.
Grade: 9.5/10 (almost perfect)

Lady Gaga’s performance, “The Edge of Glory” and “You and I”: I’m so glad that Mark’s sharing the spotlight with her, briefly. Even if he’s dressed as a dominatrix. Is there a male word for dominatrix? Her “You and I” single sounds a bit country? Or is this part of “The Edge of Glory”? It feels like a mash-up. It definitely sounds sound like typical Gaga. And her performance ends with me asking, “What’s going on here?” There’s a guy lying on the ground and she bends over and kisses him. Huh?

Elimination Time

The judges had a difficult time figuring out who to go home. And he explains they have to go through a process when deciding. This instance, they go with America’s vote, meaning I guess whoever got the least amount of votes. He scolds them for not dancing their best and sends Jordan home. Wow. I didn’t think he’d do it. But he did it. And I’m good with that. Caitlynn is shocked because I’m sure she thought it was her.

Now for the boys. I’m scared guys. Who is Nigel going to pick. I’m scared because either decision sucks. He praises them both and then saves Tadd. Jess is going home. I gotta say. I’m kinda bummed. Has Jess been in the bottom 3 ever? Maybe in the beginning…I’m bummed, not heart broken, but yeah bummed. Oh Jess…

Well we’re down to 6. I’m pretty sure the final four is going to be Sasha, Melanie, Tadd, and Marko. And I think Melanie is going to take the crown. Who do you think the All-Stars will be next week? Are you sad to see Jordan and Jess go? Did the judges make the wrong decision?

 

Random Thoughts

  • All the girls dressed alike for their solos. They’re all wearing black. Cute.
  • Sasha’s clip ended with her catching Gaga’s boot, and Cat sequewed out of that with, “Will Sasha be getting the boot tonight?” Get it? Genius, Cat.
  • Anyone think Caitlynn and Ivan make a cute couple? I do!
  • The boys come out arms linked, but then let go as if someone told them not to do that. Weird.
  • Cat keeps apologizing for the fact that 4 of the kids are going to get voted off tonight. It’s kind of adorable.
  • Nigel should NEVER use the word “nasty”.
  • That clip of Marko’s Mom running into her son’s arms sobbing?? SO SWEET. And I’m tearing up kids? I’m tearing up!
  • LOVE: Cat screaming (lovingly) at the contestants as we go to commercial break.
  • I like Anya better as a brunette.
  • When Nigel calls Ricky into the bottom two, I didn’t notice the fact that Marko has his hands on Ricky’s shoulder and shakes his head like he’s saying, “Don’t listen to that mean, mean man,” until now.
  • Love the “Tadd is Radd” sign.
  • Tadd runs a lap around the studio after his solo and he’s gone. AMAZING.
  • Did Cat really just ask Jordan, “How are you?” after she was just eliminated? How do you think she is Cat?

Comments
  1. Bethal says:

    I had to giggle a little to myself when I read you random thought about Tadd doing his lap around the studio audience…so cute! I was shocked when Ricky was deemed safe…bit also a wee bit happy although I still contend that my votes are for Melanie and Marko for the final 2 with Melanie taking the win! Love your recaps and I LOVE this season!

Riddle me this...

