So, I came into this movie with LOW expectations, and I was all set to despise it. However, what saved this movie for me (or rather who) was Mila Kunis. The girl is just so damn likeable that she makes up for the faults of her costars *cough* JT *cough*.

 

Friends With Benefits

Starring: Mila Kunis, Justin Timberlake, Jenna Elfman, Woody Haralson, Patricia Clarkson, Bryan Greenberg

Premise: Boy Meets Girl. Boy Befriends Girl. Girl is Emotionally Damaged. Boy is Done With Relationships. Boy and Girl Decide to Have Sex Without The Complications or Emotions. Things go well…until, they don’t.

My Review: The plot is very been there, done that. But I think the relationships the two characters have with their parents, help make this story slightly unique. They also serve the purpose of explaining why the characters, Jamie and Dylan are how they are.

First Mila’s character, Jamie: She’s just so damn likeable. I want a boyfriend just like her, if that makes sense. She’s just cool and sarcastic, and funny and she doesn’t seem like she’s high maintenance. Tip ladies, if a guy takes longer than you to get ready, dump him! Mila’s huge eyes are so expressive we could just tell how she was feeling from her eyes, no explanation necessary. Some actors can’t even pull that off. Speaking of which…

Justin Timberlake. Love his music. Love him as a singer. His “Sexyback” CD is probably one of my favorite CD’s of all time. And his skits on SNL are always hilarious, though nothing can compare to the first time I saw “D*** In A Box.” It just seems like he’s trying too hard. He’s acting. And I can tell he’s acting. But when you watch an actor, you don’t want to know that they’re acting. He’s trying really, really, really hard, I’ll give you that, but I just don’t want to see it. Some actors can be naturally funny and some actors it feels like they have to pull out all the stops in order to get a laugh. I feel like Justin as an “actor” falls into the latter category. (See Bad Teacher for example). Plus sometimes he brings a cockiness/arrogance to his characters that make them unlikeable in my eyes. It’s like he’s trying to be a nerdy dork because that’s cool and people think it’s cool, because he’s cool… “Yo”. Does any of this make sense or am I just crazy? And yes, the answer can be both. However, I will say, when he did the subtle scenes, like the ones where he interacts with Jenna Elfman, his sister, or Richard Jenkins, who plays his Dad, he was restrained and believable as his character. I bought it.

Justin and Mila did have some nice chemistry during certain parts. It wasn’t electrifying, but they bantered off of each other pretty well. Woody Haralson and Patricia Clarkson kept the comedy going in their small, but funny parts which was also appreciated.

I also felt like this movie was trying so hard to stray from, or make fun of the cliché, it ended up being exactly that. I mean meeting the family? That’s in almost every romantic comedy. I did enjoy, however, the awesome use of cliché’s in the beginning with Emma Stone and Andy Samberg stealing the show. That was classic.

Overall, I didn’t hate it. I mean I wouldn’t rank it up there with my favorite romantic comedies (While You Were Sleeping, Sleepless in Seattle, Sweet Home Alabama). But I liked it a lot better than I thought I would. There’s some good eye candy in here for everybody, some genuinely funny lines, and a flash mob. Two actually. Who doesn’t like those things?

 

Rating: 3 Stars

Random Thoughts:

  • I didn’t realize by lover (not really) Bryan Greenberg was in this movie. That boy is so damn adorable!
  • Mila used a butt double for some scenes, think that girl is gonna want her 15 minutes of fame like Natalie Portman’s dance double? Being naked with Justin should be payment enough…
  • I want that Malibu house “Dylan’s” father lived in.
  • I may slightly prefer No Strings Attached ending to the ending for this movie. It was less perfect (if you know what I mean).
Comments
  1. CMrok93 says:

    Nice Review! Friends With Benefits is a dumb, by-the-numbers romantic comedy. Yet I kept finding small things to enjoy in it, mainly because of the two hard-to-hate leads. Check out my review when you can.

  2. Hey thanks for the comment, I’ll check out your review!

Riddle me this...

