Movie Review: Captain America: The First Avenger

Posted: July 25, 2011 in movie reviews, movies
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

I was one of those skeptics about Captain America especially about Chris Evans, I mean he’s part of the Fantastic Four (Flame On!). But I gotta tell you, Marvel has done it again. Captain America had everything you could ask for in a movie, a like-able well developed main character, comedy, action, romance, and characters you care about. That’s a great feat for any movie.

 

Captain America: The First Avenger
Starring: Chris Evans, Tommy Lee Jones, Sebastian Stan, Hugo Weaving, Hayley Atwell

Premise: The movie takes place in the early 1940’s when eligible young men are drafted into the war to fight the Nazi’s. Steve Rogers (Chris Evans) wants to be one of those soldiers only he doesn’t have the size or the strength to be one. He does, however, have to heart to be one. And that’s exactly what Dr. Abraham Erskine (Stanley Tucci), recruiter Peggy Carter (Hayley Atwell), are looking for when creating their super soldier with the help of Mr. Stark aka Iron Man’s Dad (Dominic Cooper). The formula and procedure is now successful and Steve Rogers is now Captain America, who is hell bent on taking down his evil counterpart Red Skull, (Hugo Weaving) who’s leader of the evil HYDRA organization.

My Review: This movie surprised me. It’s not that I thought it was going to be horrible – Marvel does an incredible job on their movies — I just didn’t expect to like it so much. The plot, though nothing special, was well thought out. The action was good, but without over doing it or blowing things out of proportion. And it was funny, like really funny, turning possible cliché moments into amusing scenarios. I also appreciated how much time director Joe Johnston put into developing Steve Rogers. I think that was Thor’s biggest problem, we didn’t get a true sense of who he was. I feel like I got to know Steve Rogers and I liked him. I cared about him. And it’s those things that make you invest in the movie. It was nice to see Chris Evans play a different character for a change. He wasn’t your typical superhero. He wasn’t cocky or selfish, he was just a nice guy who happened to be really strong and have incredible abs (that’s always a plus).

As for that ending, I didn’t see it coming. It wasn’t a typical ending and I was surprised by my tears. It also makes me wonder how they would make a sequel because I love where this story was going. None the less, it did set us up nicely for the Avengers movie.

 

Random Thoughts (without spoilers):

  • Tommy Lee Jones was his usual bad-ass self, but it fit and it brought a lightness to the movie.
  • I appreciated that the movie wasn’t heavy handed.
  • Bucky (Sebastian Stan) was distractingly good-looking in this movie, when usually he does not look good.
  • Chris Evans and Hayley Atwell had some really good chemistry. I’m glad that she was also a strong character.
  • Stanley Tucci does a crazy good German accent.
  • I’m thankful that this movie also helped answer that lingering question at the end of THOR.

Rating:  4 Stars.

Riddle me this...

