Over the last two weeks the casting news for Hunger Games has come in huge and frequent waves. I’m jazzed that are now casting unknowns. Something I had wished for in the first place. Here is my reaction to the recent castings.

First the cast that have been confirmed:


     Paula Malcomson as Katniss’ mother: This is excellent casting. Paula looks like she could be fragile, but strong when she needs to be (for the later books).

"   Willow Shields as Prim: I’m glad for a fresh face though I imagined Prim looking a bit younger and a bit fair skinned. Maybe more like Elle Fanning. But Willow could be good. She looks like she has fight in her, which Prim will need later on.

  Amandla Stenberg as Rue: This is perfect casting for Rue. This girl looks so sweet and innocent, it’ll be absolutely heartbreaking to watch her fate play out on the big screen. Am I the only one who is glad that Willow Smith didn’t get this part? Casting an unknown…way better! Added bonus: She looks 12!

   Dayo Okeniyi as Thresh: He has a nice face and I can only imagine how haunting he’ll be as Thresh. My only nitpick is that he doesn’t look like a teenage. He definitely looks like he’s in his 20’s. I just hope he’s tall!

   Jack Quaid as Marvel: Dennis Quaid’s son as the District 1 tribute. Not much is known about the kid in the book so I can’t say how I really pictured the kid. He will have to get a bit bigger, but he looks young and those eyebrows are pretty scary!

Levin Ramblin as Glimmer: I think this is perfect casting choice. Levin is beautiful and a fantastic actress. I’ve loved her work on Grey’s Anatomy and Wizards of Waverly Place, but I know her best from Terminator: Sarah Conner Chronicles. She’ll be a great Glimmer.

But now lets get to those pesky rumors. And the legit rumors that make are sweeping the news, not the fake rumors of people we want, hope, wish would get the parts.

Elizabeth Banks as Effie is pretty much a sure thing. Even if most of the articles out there aren’t fully committing to saying it is. However, usually when casting rumors spark a big enough name, more often then not they are true.

I know a lot of people were hoping for Kristin Chenoweth to play Effie, but I always felt like the part should go to Banks. Even though Banks has been in so many things, she has this fresh quality about her. She hasn’t been over played, over hyped in the media and you don’t know much about her to distract you from her. Chenoweth, though a fantastic actor and would do great with the part, she’s too well known. Maybe it’s from her time on Glee. Plus, Banks can play the Stepford Wife real well, (just look at her performance in The Uninvited) which is how I imagine Effie to be. Perfect on the outside, even though she’s probably unraveling on the inside. Banks is, once again, a great choice.

The last three characters, essential to Hunger Games, in my opinion are Haymitch, Cinna, and Snow. Though there’s been no real speculation about the casting of Cinna. My vote is for either Ewan McGregor or Cillian Murphy.

And possibly Malcom McDowell or Alan Dale as Snow, though I really picture snow too look like Voldemort.

And lastly, and probably most importantly, Haymitch. The rumor is John C. Reilly is up for the part of Haymitch.

I’ve seen Reilly in so many comedy movies it’s hard to see him being able to do something dramatic. Not to say he wouldn’t be able to handle the material, he just doesn’t fit my view of Haymitch. I imagine Haymitch to be once good looking, but aged by experiences and alcohol, and not taking care of himself. He might have funny humorous moments, but not because he’s trying to be funny. Reilly does not fit this image as all. Some names that had been tossed around Robert Downey Jr, Brad Pitt, Hugh Laurie would have been FAR better picks. Maybe not Brad Pitt, but I’d choose him over Reilly. I kind of imagined Haymitch like a drunk, dirty, loud, scruffy Santa Claus, if that makes sense. Rumor has it Reilly is debating between this and OZ, I hope he picks OZ. (Sorry, I’m sure John’s a great guy).

That’s my two cents. Do you agree? Disagree? Who did you picture as Haymitch, Cinna, and Snow. Are you as excited as am I to see who they will cast?


Riddle me this...

