Glee Recap: “Original Song”

Posted: March 16, 2011 in glee, TV
Tags: , , , ,

This week’s Glee, I gotta say, was one of the best, in a while. It might not have been as funny as previous episodes, or as quote-worthy, but there was something about it. It had the “magic” like it did season 1. And I think part of that had to do with the “fresh” regionals songs, and okay, the fact that finally Kurt got his guy!

Glee

“Original Song”

During the Warbler’s “rehearsal” (and I say that with quotations because do any of these choirs REALLY rehearse?) of Maroon 5’s “Misery”, Kurt confronted Blaine that he doesn’t really feel like the Warblers are a choir, if feels more like “Blaine and the Pips.” I agree with Kurt here, I’ve been feeling like that too, which I why I was so shocked Kurt got a duet with Blaine last episode with the sexy song. Blaine, however, doesn’t look offended. In fact, he looks a little impressed that Kurt stood up to him and we can see his brain working.

Later Kurt’s canary, Pavariti suddenly dies at the ripe age of 1 (2010-2011, according to the headstone). Not to go on a tangent or anything, but when canaries stop singing, doesn’t that mean the air is bad? Or is that only in mines. Anyway, Kurt is so overcome he sings “Blackbird” originally by the Beatles. This is one of my favorite songs of the Beatles, remade so many times, and I think this version did the song justice, especially when the rest of the group backed it up. It was so powerful, sweet, and emotional. And then Blaine made the face – the face that we all want someone to make at us someday. The face that means, “Whoa, I’m falling for this person,” and it was really sweet, and satisfying.

He uses his power, to convince his the Warblers to let him do a duet with Kurt.

Darren Criss really had a great episode this week didn’t he? He makes Blaine seem like a real genuine guy. And with lines like: “Kurt there is a moment when you say to yourself ‘oh, there you are, I’ve been looking for you forever.’ Watching you do Blackbird this week, that was a moment for me, about you.” How can you not swoon for the guy?

And then…that kiss… Kurt finally got his man. ‘Nuff said.

In the Glee World, the club was trying to find ways to really shine at Regionals. Sue was doing everything in her power to take the club down. From forging “rights to songs” letters, to putting dirt in her former cheerios’ locker – she really was a terror. That’s when the Glee Club, or rather Rachel, brought back the idea of original songs. Quinn, surprisingly backed up Rachel’s request, only it came with her own personal strings. Quinn would befriend Rachel in order to keep Finn away from her, thus making Finn available to get her to the top – of the social chain that was. However, Quinn’s evil little plan backfires when she rips into Rachel, giving Rachel the fuel to sing a powerful and emotional song. One of her best – almost. (I’m still partial to Don’t Rain on My Parade)

Let’s talk about Regionals now, shall we. Spoiler alert, the Glee Club wins. And rightfully so, I think. Their original songs were pretty great. “Loser Like Me” made me smile and laugh, and I love that look on Sue’s face when they were singing about “dirt.” It was classic. I heard a sneak peak of these songs earlier and thought, meh, but in context, they were pretty fantastic. I may even download them.

And it definitely looks like Finn is still in love with Rachel. Quinn did a great job at making her (Rachel) look more sympathetic. You couldn’t help but feel for the girl. And her sweet little speech at the end when she won MVP. I admit it, one silent tear fell down my cheek. She was sweet, and sincere, and she didn’t feel so much like a loser. That’s all she really wanted. Hell, that’s all we ALL really want.

Random Thoughts:

I loved how the Warblers and New Directions were so supportive of each other. I loved Rachel jumping up and singing during their second song.

Where did those foam fingers come from? And how did EVERYONE get them?

Loved during “Loser Like Me” Rachel putting the L on Artie’s head singing “Loser Like Me” and Artie points to her (instead of himself).

Quotes:

“You did win, so did I. We got each other out of all of this. That beats a lousy trophy out of this, don’t you think?” Blaine to Kurt after losing. Enter swoon here.

Santana: This is a song I wrote for Sam. It’s called Trouty Mouth.

Sam: Wait, what’s it called?

“Whoa, scary Quinn.” Finn to Quinn.

Schue: What’s your favorite song of all time?
Brittany: “My Headband.”

“The competition season is over, but we’ll still get to perform. We do nursing-home shows all the time, and do you know how many Gaps there are in Ohio? Tons.” — Blaine

“This song is called, Big Ass…Heart.” – Puck.

Song Performances

“Misery” – Love Maroon 5. This rendition. Just ok. B

“Blackbird” – You know how I feel about this song! A-

“Trouty Mouth”Hilarious. Loving Santana’s voice. Lyrics. WEIRD. B-

“Big Ass Heart” – Awesome lyrics. Love Pucks performance, and the look on Lauren’s face. Definitely download-able. B+

“Hell to the No” – Catchy. But I dunno, the lyrics left a lot to be desired. B

“Jesus Is My Friend” – Funny dance moves, but I’m judging on singing. I miss vocal adrenaline. C-

“Candles” – I really wish their duet was more upbeat. B

“Raise Your Glass” – Perfect. Love it. Downloading now.. A

“Get It Right” – Rachel did a fantastic job. Or really Lea Michele. Heartfelt, soulfoul A-

“Loser Like Me” – You know how I feel about this one. I’m a sucker for a song that makes me smile. And yeah, I’ve felt like a loser. A-


Overall episode grade: A-

Thoughts? Like? Dislike? Agree? Disagree?

I will leave you, with the lyrics to Santana’s “Trouty Mouth”:

Guppy Face
Trouty Mouth
Is that how people’s lips look
where you come from in the south?

Grouper Mouth
Froggy Lips
I love sucking on those Salamander Lips.
Wanna put a fish hooks in those lips so cherry red
If you tried hard enough, you could suck a baby’s head

End Scene.

Riddle me this...

