Oscars 2011: And the Nominee’s are…

Posted: January 25, 2011 in award season

Helloooo! It’s award season and the nominations for the Oscars are here. There are no real surprises out there, and I’m happy to see that Toy Story got nominated for Best Picture and Best Animated Picture.

Here are the nominee’s I really care about for the Oscar race. For the complete set of nominations go here.

 

BEST PICTURE
127 Hours
Black Swan
The Fighter
Inception
The Kids Are All Right
The King’s Speech
The Social Network
Toy Story 3
True Grit
Winter’s Bone

My Thoughts: I would be happy if either Inception, Toy Story, or Social Network won. However, from the Golden Globes I think Social Network is going to win.

 

BEST ACTOR
Javier Bardem, Biutiful
Jeff Bridges, True Grit
Jesse Eisenberg, The Social Network
Colin Firth, The King’s Speech
James Franco, 127 Hours

My Thoughts: I think Colin Firth might take it. But I really think it belongs to Jesse Eisenberg. His character was completely out of the box from the normal characters he plays. Granted I haven’t seen the other 4 nominee’s movies, I want Jesse to win. But he’s the dark horse of this race. I don’t think he has a chance…

 

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR
Christian Bale, The Fighter
John Hawkes, Winter’s Bone
Jeremy Renner, The Town
Mark Ruffalo, The Kids Are All Right
Geoffrey Rush, The King’s Speech

Thoughts: Hands down Christian Bale. He should and WILL win. Jeremy Renner and Mark Ruffalo’s performance cannot compare to Christian Bale’s performance in the Fighter. And even though I may not like C.B. as a person, he deserves to win.

 

BEST ACTRESS
Annette Bening, The Kids Are All Right
Nicole Kidman, Rabbit Hole
Jennifer Lawrence, Winter’s Bone
Natalie Portman, Black Swan
Michelle Williams, Blue Valentine

Thoughts: Again, no contest, Natalie Portman. She should and WILL win, and if she doesn’t, then seriously there is something wrong with people out there.

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS
Amy Adams, The Fighter
Helena Bonham Carter, The King’s Speech
Melissa Leo, The Fighter
Hailee Steinfeld, True Grit
Jacki Weaver, Animal Kingdom

Thoughts: I would be happy if Amy Adams, Melissa Leo, or Hailee Steinfeld won. But I think it’ll either be Melissa Leo or Hailee Steinfeld. I’d love to see a young one take it, even if I haven’t seen True Grit. However, Melissa Leo was FANTASTIC in The Fighter.

 

BEST ANIMATED FILM
How to Train Your Dragon
The Illusionist
Toy Story 3

Thoughts: Toy Story should and will Win.

 

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY
Black Swan, Matthew Libatique
Inception, Wally Pfister
The King’s Speech, Danny Cohen
The Social Network, Jeff Cronenweth
True Grit, Roger Deakins

Thoughts: So, I may be a bit biased, just because I work with the dude, but I hope Roger Deakins wins. However, I think Jeff Cronenweth will will. The Social Network was beautifully shot.

 

BEST DIRECTOR
Darren Aronofsky, Black Swan
Joel & Ethan Coen, True Grit
David Fincher, The Social Network
Tom Hooper, The King’s Speech
David O. Russell, The Fighter

Thoughts: David Fincher or David O’Russell. In different hands, I think the Fighter could have been a very cheesy movie same with Social Network, but these movies came out compelling, fantastic, with excellent dialogue. I’d be happy if either of these two guys win, though I think David Fincher has the slight edge over DOR.

I really hope the Oscars does the same thing they did last years with featuring each actor and actress nominee, by having one of their actor friends talk about them for a bit. I thought that was really special. Hopefully they do that again. The Oscars premiere Feb 27!

What are your thoughts? Do you agree or disagree?

 

Riddle me this...

