2011 People Choice Awards Winners vs My Predictions

Posted: January 6, 2011 in award season
Tags:

Last night was the People’s Choice awards. Since I worked like 19 hours yesterday, the telecast is still sitting in my DVR. However, I did scope out the winners. So check out how RIGHT and how WRONG I was. I was disappointed by some of the winners I gotta say.

 

Favorite MOVIE

What I Wanted to Win: Toy Story 3
What I Thought Would Win: Twilight Saga Eclipse.

And the winner was….Twilight Saga Eclipse (Of Course)

 

Favorite MOVIE ACTOR

Who I Wanted to Win: Leonardo Dicaprio
Who I Thought Would Win: Robert Pattinson

And the winner was…Johnny Depp (I can dig that!)

Favorite MOVIE ACTRESS

Who I Wanted to Win: Reese Witherspoon
Who I Thought Would Win: Kristen Stewart or Angelina Jolie

And the winner was…Kristen Stewart (Called it!)

Favorite ACTION MOVIE

What I Wanted to Win: Kick Ass
What I Thought Would Win: Iron Man.

And the winner was: Iron Man 2

 

Favorite ACTION STAR

Who I Wanted to Win: Robert Downey Jr.
Who I Thought Win: Angelina Jolie

And the winner was…Jackie Chan (HUH?)

 

Favorite DRAMA MOVIE – VOTE

What I Wanted to Win: Either the Social Network or Inception, with the edge a little more to Inception.
What I Thought Would Win: Twilight.

And the winner is…Twilight (Yeah, I saw that coming)

 

Favorite FAMILY MOVIE

What I Wanted to Win: Toy Story 3
What I Thought Would Win: Toy Story 3

And the winner is…Toy Story 3 (Nailed it!)

 

Favorite COMEDY MOVIE

What I Wanted to Win: Easy A
What I Thought Would Win: Easy A

And the winner was…Grown-Ups. (Huh? I don’t get it. Really? Was it because Adam Sandler was there? It’s not Emma Stone’s fault she’s filming Spiderman!)

 

Favorite COMEDIC STAR

Who I Wanted To Win: Tina Fey
Who I Thought Would Win: Tina Fey.

And the winner was: Sandler.

Favorite ON SCREEN TEAM

What I Wanted to Win: If you haven’t already guessed it. Inception.
What I Thought Would Win: Yes, Twilight

And the Winner was…Twilight Gang.

 

Favorite TV DRAMA

What I Wanted to Win: Grey’s Anatomy
What I Thought Would Win: The Vampire Diaries

And the Winner was…House. Interesting…

 

Favorite TV DRAMA ACTOR

Who I Wanted to Win: Ian Somerhalder
Who I Thought Would Win: Ian Somerhalder

And the Winner is…Hugh Laurie (I guess Vampire Diaries isn’t as popular as I thought…)

 

Favorite TV DRAMA ACTRESS

Who I Wanted To Win: Sandra Oh
Who I Thought Would Win: No. Freakin. Clue.

And the Winner was…CUDDY! Lisa Edelstein (Another one wrong.)

 

Favorite TV COMEDY

What I Wanted to Win: Big Bang Theory
What I Thought Would Win: Glee


And the Winner Was…GLEE (It’s a bit overrated – even thought I LOVE IT! – But I’m good with it winning.)

 

Favorite TV COMEDY ACTOR

Who I Wanted to Win: Jim Parsons or Neil Patrick Harris
Who I Thought Would Win: Neil Patrick Harris

And the Winner Was…Neil Patrick Harris (HELL YEAH!)

 

Favorite TV COMEDY ACTRESS

Who I wanted to Win: Alyson Hannigan
Who I Thought Would Win: Jane Lynch

And the Winner Was…Jane Lynch

 

Favorite COMPETITION SHOW

What I Wanted to Win: So You Think You Can Dance
What I Thought Would Win: American Idol, or Dancing with the Stars.

And the winner was…American Idol. (Aren’t people sick of this show yet?)

 

Favorite TV CRIME DRAMA

What I Wanted to Win: Bones
What I Thought Would Win: I have no freakin clue.

And the winner was: Lie to Me…(Hmm…interesting. Hate that show)

 

Favorite TV OBSESSION

What I Wanted to Win: Dexter
What I Thought Would Win: Pretty Little Liars

And the winner was: Dexter (Yeah buddy, too bad this pretty little tidbit didn’t get televised)

 

Favorite NEW TV DRAMA

What I Wanted Win: Hawaii Five-O
What I Thought Win: Hawaii Five-O

And the winner was…Hawaii Five-O (Called it!)

 

Favorite NEW TV COMEDY

What I Wanted to Win: Raising Hope
What I Thought would Win: Raising Hope

And the winner was….$#*& My Dad Says (This show isn’t bad….but it’s definitely disappeared off my Tivo.)

 

All in all, I was wrong a lot, or my predictions won. Not very many times did the people/shows I wanted to win, win. But, oh well. It kinda felt like a show where if you show up, you’ll get an award – kind of deal. Hopefully the Golden Globes will be better. Stay Tuned!

Did your favorites win?

 

For a full listing of all the winners click here.

 

Riddle me this...

