Below is what you’ve been waiting for: My top 10 movies of 2010.

There are a few movies out there that I have heard were pretty good, and if I had seen them, there is a chance they could have breached the top 10. These movies include: 127 Hours, Blue Valentine, Rabbit Hole, and Winter’s Bone. However, since I have yet to see these movies, even though I hear they ARE fantastic….what you see below is what you get.

But first, Honorable Mention goes to… Black Swan and Letters to Juliet..

.


Black Swan

This movie was bumped out of the top 10 after I saw The Fighter. It was a psychological, horror-drama-thriller. It was massivly intense and I held my breath during the last 10 minutes. Prediction: Natalie Portman will win an Oscar.


Letters to Juliet

Amanda Seyfried is sweet in this romcom movie. While she is the main character, the real story lies in Vanessa Redgrave’s character, a woman in search of her first and true love she was forced to abandoned, but never forgot. Ms. Redgrave played this character so delicately and her friendship with Amanda’s character was sweet, and motherly. This and also the beautiful Italy where what made this movie sweetly satisfying.

 


 

And now, ladies and gentlemen, here they are…My top 10.

 

#10
Scott Pilgrim vs. The World


This movie could have been MORE. But it was super creative. I loved the Universal Theme Song set to nintendo music. I loved the comic book cheesyness of it including the BAM! and WOW! I can’t wait for Michael Cera to start playing more serious roles, but his nerdy roles like this are what make him so darn adorable. And I liked the characters, they were memorable.

 


#9
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 1

 

I think it helps that I love this last book so much. The characters of Harry Potter are so richly formed in my mind, I can’t help but love the movies. However this movie was, I believe the best movie to date. Check out my review of it here.



#8
Easy A

This movie felt FRESH, even if it wasn’t necessarily the most original plot. It takes a great character/actress to make a movie fresh and original and Emma Stone did just that. I also like movies with my similar sense of humor. I am a very sarcastic person and this movie used dialogue to express humor, not just pratfalls and fart jokes. In fact, except for the stereotypical evil Christians, this movie was almost perfect.



#7

Alice and Wonderland


 

I know a lot of people didn’t like this movie, but I did. It was sweet and a little off. But damn creative and I don’t think anyone could have remade this better than Tim Burton. Mia Wasikowska was the perfect choice for to play Alice.

And I loved this exchange in the movie:
The Mad Hatter: Have I gone mad?
Alice: I’m afraid so. You’re entirely bonkers. But I’ll tell you a secret, all the best people are.

 


#6
The Town

Ben Affleck killed it in this one. I mean directing wise. Acting wise, he still use a little help, but he was pretty good in this movie. The plot kept me engrossed and on my toes, and who doesn’t love a good bank robbery turned love-story? I had my reseverations about Blake Lively, but she was pretty good in this movie as well. Let’s hope she keeps it up for Green Lantern.

 


#5
How to Train Your Dragon


Who would have thought a dragon could be a man’s best friend. Even though cartoon animals usually end up behaving like dogs, this story was cute. Who doesn’t love an underdog story? “Thanks for nothing, you useless reptile.”

 


#4
The Social Network


If I had to sum up this movie in 6 words, those words would be: Aaron Sorkin has a way with words. This movie was smart. It made me feel smart just watching it, I don’t know why. Aaron Sorkin, director David Fincher, and Jesse Eisenberg managed to make a movie about completely unlikeable characters interesting, exciting, and engrossing. Usually when every single character in the movie have no redeeming qualities, the movie falls flat. If you don’t care about the characters, there’s no real reason to keep watching. But it was superbly acted and smartly crafted. Andrew Garfield’s teary confrontation was powerful Jesse Eisenberg deserves to be nominated for an Oscar.

 


#3
The Fighter


You’ve read my review. So I’ll just repeat these facts. The Fighter has a lot of heart. Christian Bale should win an Oscar.  Top 3 movie, well deserved.



#2
Inception


Christopher Nolan is a genuis, crafting a tricky and complicated plot into something the general public can understand. Combine that with the talented Leonardo Dicaprio, a dashing Joseph Gordon Levitt, and the tragic Marion Cotillard, and you have one fantastic movie. The wide-eyed look on Leonardo’s face at the end on the plane was extremely powerful, And the ending genius. The ending can and will be debated for a long time. Is he in the dream world? Or isn’t he. I know what I think, but I also think it doesn’t matter. I wouldn’t want the ending to be any other way. The little laugh/groan the audience made when the screen cut to black was the PERFECT want to end that movie.

 


But my #1 movie of 2010, undisputed, is….

#1

Toy Story 3



Disney/Pixar got this movie right, giving this trilogy a satisfying ending. All the toys wanted in their plastic lives was for Andy to play with them. They spent the entire that movie attempting to get back to their owner, to attain just a hint of the love he once showed them. And in their journey, they stuck together, never abandoning each other even if they felt like their owner abandoned them. SPOILER ALERT! In the end, Andy realized he didn’t need the toys anymore, that they should go to someone who will love them as much as he did. And so he gave his childhood away to a very deserving little girl. But first, he had to show her just how much fun his toys were. And so he took them out, one by one, introducing his toys to her, and unwittingly giving the toys what they had worked the entire movie towards. One last play. Cue the subtle, well deserved tears.

Cue the title, Best Movie of 2010.

 

Happy New Year Everyone!

Thanks for reading.

 

Riddle me this...

