Movie Review: The Fighter

Posted: December 19, 2010 in movie reviews
Tags: , , , , , ,

I went into this movie, with high high high expectations, and at times that can be a movie’s worst downfall. Sometimes the hype is so big that when you get to the movie your brain leaves little margin for error. However, this is not the case with The Fighter. Everything you HEAR, SEE, READ about The Fighter is true, and also so much more.

 

 

Title: The Fighter

Cast: Christian Bale, Mark Wahlberg, Amy Adams, Melissa Leo.

 

My Review: All you really need to know about this movie can be summed up in six simple words: THE FIGHTER HAS A LOT OF HEART. Okay, maybe that’s seven letters. Mark Walberg plays Micky Ward, a boxer who’s forever been living in the shadow of his once-famous-now-crackhead brother, Dickie Ecklund, Christian Bale, who may, or may not have knocked out Sugar Ray Leonard. He’s not only living in that shadow in the public, but also in his family. Micky’s mother, Melissa Leo, seems to have rose colored glasses on when it comes to Dickie, also known as denial. But who really wants to believe that their children need help?

This movie, pulls you in with out you knowing it. I love movies that get you so involved you want to yell out all the things that come to your mind in that moment. And some people in my packed theater did, though I held back. The under-dog story, though predicable, was mesmerizing. Just because something is predictable, doesn’t mean the story is good. If the story is good, if the characters are good, if the movie gives you something to fiercely fight for, then screw the fact that it’s predictable.

Christian Bale. I have a love-hate relationship with Christian Bale, though I find his Batman voice ridiculous, I’ve always loved the guy’s amazing ability to act. I’ve loved him ever since Newsies. (And he does get to show off his singing chops in this movie as well). But I have to admit, I have an tendency to dislike actors who do something that in my mind is unforgivable. I dislike Angelina Jolie for breaking up Brad and Jen’s marriage, I dislike Jennifer Garner for breaking up with Scott Foley because she was getting to famous, etc, etc. (I know, petty) And I disliked Christian Bale, after hearing his now infamous Terminator 3 rant. But he was SO GOOD in this movie, he was so committed, so METHOD, that it’s hard not to like the guy. It’s hard not to root for the guy. I think Christian Bale deserves an Oscar for the role. I, will, however, continue to dislike Angelina Jolie.

Mark Walberg, was great as well, but he always is. But this was definitely Christian Bale’s movie, as well as Melissa Leo, and Amy Adams, and all the other supporting cast. Amy Adams was totally likeable and I loved seeing her in a tough girl character not taking any s*** from anyone. I’d want to be that characters friend, because no one would ever mess with me again if I were hanging out with her.

In summary: GO SEE THIS MOVIE. It’ll make you laugh, it’ll make you angry, it’ll make you frustrated, it’ll make you cry, and it’ll make you cheer. Everything a good movie should be. This movie has definitely breached the top 5.

 

Rating: 4 1/2 stars out of 5.


Comments
  1. CMrok93 says:

    Never since the good old days has a film felt, look, and sounded so much like real life. Loved it basically from start to finish. Great Review!!

Riddle me this...

