Glee Recap: Two for the price of one

Posted: December 8, 2010 in TV
Tags: , , , , ,

So I have my Glee Merry Christmakuahpocaplyse episode all ready to go. But I felt like I owed you at least a quick rundown of the last two episodes I missed: “Furt” and “Special Education.” So here I go. It’s going to be quick.

 

“Furt”

The run down. Finn’s Mom and Kurt’s dad are getting hitched. While Kurt is ecstatic, Finn is not quite so happy. And because he’s unhappy about the situation, he doesn’t stand up for Kurt when he’s being bullied. I like how the whole Glee club (minus Finn) stands up for Kurt, even if the writers of this show sometimes show Kurt off to be the martyr. At the wedding, the Glee club dances down the aisle, “To Marry You,” and I’m really digging it. I think that’s how I’m going to have my wedding be. Only mine will be outdoors, in the spring…okay coming back to reality.

The wedding is sweet and the vows are so adorable. They both praise Kurt, but I can’t help wondering, Finn was the one having the problem with the wedding, shouldn’t they be praising him? Shouldn’t they be letting him know they’re a family, and they have his back and support him? But instead it all feels like it’s about Kurt. And that frustrates me a little. It’s nice that Finn finally shows Kurt that he has his back, but somehow I feel like Finn is the black sheep of the family. And I feel bad for the kid. He was skeptic of this whole situation in the beginning. Yeah he’s gaining a brother, and a mother, but I feel like he needs support too!

The bullying situation in the school gets too be too bad, so Will and Kurt go to Sue. I love how Sue sticks up for him. She seems to actually, genuinely care, even if in the end, there’s ultimately nothing she can do about this creepy creepy dude. If he can’t be expelled, can’t he AT LEAST be suspended for a few weeks? But no, creepy kid is back on the premises, thus Kurt decides to transfer. Dun, dun, dun….

“Special Education”

It’s sectional times people. Kurt’s in a new school, in a new choir, but he’s soon to realize this choir doesn’t like individuality. They like to be a team. Something that Kurt’s not too sure he can jive with. But he’s going to try because he’s madly in love with Blaine (Darren Criss).

Mr. Shuester decides to switch things up and not have Rachel and Finn be the fore-runners. And although I enjoy the voices of the other choir members, I find this a bit of a mistake. There’s just something about Rachel and Finn when they sing…I can’t put my finger on it. I just love it. And it has way more power then when Sam and Quinn sing. Their voices don’t jive as well.

I loved how close Kurt and Rachel got in this episode. I loved that she helped him pick out his audition song, “Don’t Cry for Me Argentina.” Good choice. And I like how she supported him, even if he was competition. It shows growth in her character, I think. It was sweet.

Kurt’s new school, however, I’m not such a big fan of anymore. Sure Kurt is more comfortable there, but he’s not growing, and he doesn’t seem to be making any friends. It’s not making him be a better person. It’s just stifling the person he was, which I think is worse then anything he was experiencing at the other school.

At Sectionals, Quinn and Sam sing, “I Had the Time Of My Life,” and all throughout it, I can’t help singing I wish Rachel and Finn were singing it. Maybe I just don’t like Sam’s voice. And Quinn is just TOO CUTESY. She needs her edge and bitchiness back. Anyone agree.

However this episode wins me back over with Mercecdes and Tina singing, “Dog’s Days Are Over.” Now maybe it’s because I love Florence and the Machine, maybe it’s because I love this song, or maybe it’s because I love TINA, but this performance reminded me of the old, “Somebody to Love,” “Keep Holding On,” days of Glee. They all looked like they were having a lot of fun. Real genuine fun, not I’m acting happy fun. And I wanted to get up and dance. And Tina’s voice was perfect for this song. I love she’s FINALLY getting more singing and face time.

Comments
  1. Emily says:

    what about santana’s Valerie

Riddle me this...

