Movie Review: Black Swan

Posted: December 5, 2010 in movie reviews
Tags: , , , ,

Movie: Black Swan

Starring: Natalie Portman and…well really she’s all that matters.

 

My Review: The movie faded to white and I realized I’d been holding my breath for most of the movie. The first thing I thought was –

Whoa. That was intense.

The theater was packed for a 545pm showing at the arclight. In fact when we bout our tickets off the archlight sight at around 11AM in the morning that showing only had 3 rows of seating free. And when we arrived to the theater they were making the announcement that all showings of Black Swan were SOLD OUT, except for the front row of the 1130PM showing. Craziness.

Anyway, about the movie: Natalie Portman was amazing. Everyone is raving about how this will get her another Oscar Nomination. And I think it will. She was completely believable as the beautiful, delicate, if slightly naive, Nina. She was beautiful, fragile, and timid. And her ballet skills were fantastic. Watching her slowly slip into craziness was fascinating. And creepy. Like the Black Swan the movie starts out beautiful, daintly, light, and slowly slips into something CRAZY as Nina begins to unravel. Darren Aronofsky, who it’s crazy how young he is, uses some horror elements that made me jump a few times. More than most horror movies I watch out there. And without giving too much away, the ending frankly left me breathless. Nina just let herself go, something everyone had been trying to get her to do the entire movie. And the dancing was REAL. It was nice to see a movie that showcased ballet, and was not just ABOUT it.

 

The only thing wrong in this movie was Mila Kunis. Maybe I’m watching too much America’s Next Top Model, but I felt like the movie was independent, and editorial, while Mila Kunis was…well for lack of a better term, commercial. She was the exact same, carefree, wild spirit she is in every movie. She was cookie cutter, while the rest of the movie was not. Even crazy stage Mom, Barbara Hershey. Who I will still always remember, from Beaches.

Anyway, check this movie out. It’s not easy to watch, but Natalie Portman is amazing. I sure hope she at least gets nominated for that Golden Man.

 

Rating: 3 1/2 out of 5 stars.

Riddle me this...

